61 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Inez, this hit the spot for my craving for a good vegetatian chili! I didn't have any pinto beans so I just used black beans. I did add a little celery since I had some. Delicious! Thanks for sharing.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 November 18, 2002

Delicious! I lost my jalapeno somewhere between the store and home, so I didn't add any. This is a great chili recipe. I didn't miss the meat, or fat, at all!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChipotleChick January 29, 2003

Excellent recipe! I didn't change a thing.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ant October 23, 2002

What a great meal! This is easy, all in one pot and very nutritious. The only thing I used less of was the chilli powder but that was just a personal taste. All the family enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela Sara July 14, 2002

This was very good, however next time I will add more beans. Red/Kidney beans would be much better than the pinto beans. It was a little to soupy with just 2 cans of beans. I think corn would be a good addition as well..

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LookinForCooking June 05, 2010

I made this chili for a vegetarian dish for an open house during the holidays. It turned out very good and all enjoyed it, but I did make some changes to spice it up some. I added 3 more jalapeno peppers, more chili powder and more garlic. Also added chopped celery and an extra can of "hot" stewed tomatoes and a can of kidney beans. I like that the recipe can be easily added to, making it go further. I will be making it again, it's a very good basic recipe. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf December 28, 2003

Very good! I made very few changes due to what I had on hand. I didn't have italian stewed tomatoes so I just used regular. No green pepper but I added chopped celery like another reviewer suggested and I used a small can of diced green chilis in place of the jalapeƱo. My husband (a recent reluctant convert to vegetarianism) went on about a veg. chili we'd had at a party recently that he really liked so I thought I'd try this one. He liked this one even better but we both felt it was a little sweet. That's the only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. Next time I'll cut the sugar in half, tone the chili powder down a little (it was a little warm for me), add a little more cumin, and serve with cornbread! Yumm!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brighid February 18, 2011

This was so good. I used kidney and northern beans. The northern beans really made the chili very thick. I also added 1 cup of baby carrots that I minced. This added a great texture and a few more vitamins for my family. Plus they never knew they were eating carrots. Next time I will decrease the sugar because the carrots really added a natural sweetness. This one will definatly replace my old chili recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannah lantzer January 12, 2004

This was so wonderful. I am trying to back away from meat and this was so satisfying, I didn't miss it at all. I used frozen yellow squash instead of zucchini and added 1/2 box of frozen corn. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Pebbles** November 03, 2003
Vegetarian Chili