Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Game-Day Grub >

    Essential Tailgating Eats

    Essential Tailgating Eats

    Chili, Wings, Dogs & Beyond
    Jalapeno Poppers

    Jalapeno Poppers

    A Flavor Touchdown For Your Mouth
    10 Bubbly Beer Cocktails

    10 Bubbly Beer Cocktails

    Try One of These Sudsy Sippers
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Chili

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2002

      Inez, this hit the spot for my craving for a good vegetatian chili! I didn't have any pinto beans so I just used black beans. I did add a little celery since I had some. Delicious! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2003

      Delicious! I lost my jalapeno somewhere between the store and home, so I didn't add any. This is a great chili recipe. I didn't miss the meat, or fat, at all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2002

      Excellent recipe! I didn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      What a great meal! This is easy, all in one pot and very nutritious. The only thing I used less of was the chilli powder but that was just a personal taste. All the family enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      This was very good, however next time I will add more beans. Red/Kidney beans would be much better than the pinto beans. It was a little to soupy with just 2 cans of beans. I think corn would be a good addition as well..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2003

      I made this chili for a vegetarian dish for an open house during the holidays. It turned out very good and all enjoyed it, but I did make some changes to spice it up some. I added 3 more jalapeno peppers, more chili powder and more garlic. Also added chopped celery and an extra can of "hot" stewed tomatoes and a can of kidney beans. I like that the recipe can be easily added to, making it go further. I will be making it again, it's a very good basic recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2011

      Very good! I made very few changes due to what I had on hand. I didn't have italian stewed tomatoes so I just used regular. No green pepper but I added chopped celery like another reviewer suggested and I used a small can of diced green chilis in place of the jalapeƱo. My husband (a recent reluctant convert to vegetarianism) went on about a veg. chili we'd had at a party recently that he really liked so I thought I'd try this one. He liked this one even better but we both felt it was a little sweet. That's the only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. Next time I'll cut the sugar in half, tone the chili powder down a little (it was a little warm for me), add a little more cumin, and serve with cornbread! Yumm!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2004

      This was so good. I used kidney and northern beans. The northern beans really made the chili very thick. I also added 1 cup of baby carrots that I minced. This added a great texture and a few more vitamins for my family. Plus they never knew they were eating carrots. Next time I will decrease the sugar because the carrots really added a natural sweetness. This one will definatly replace my old chili recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      This was so wonderful. I am trying to back away from meat and this was so satisfying, I didn't miss it at all. I used frozen yellow squash instead of zucchini and added 1/2 box of frozen corn. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2014

    • on November 15, 2013

      I enjoyed this meatless chili; however my husband hated it, as it was way too tomatoey for him. I cut back a little bit on tomatoes using 1 28 oz. can and 1 14.5 oz. I used tomato paste instead of tomato sauce, an extra can of beans ( 2 kidney and 1 chili beans). Next time I would also add another zuchinni. I also used 4 T. of chili powder instead of 3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

    • on October 06, 2013

      Wildly hot for my taste. But medium salsa is hot for me. Hubby thought it was great, but I had already cut the spices quite a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      Another five-star vote! This is sooooo tasty and wholesome. I've got a pot of it stewing now, to serve with Mexican cornbread tonight. Perfect fall fare, and ultra-healthy. I had no zucchini, but did have two small eggplants (the last from my tiny patch) and used those. More for texture than taste, as they sort of disappear in to melange. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      Absolutely Wonderful!! When you taste chili this flavorful, it makes you wonder why we ever have to add meat to any chili!! I made this exactly as written, served with a sprinkling of shredded cheddar, sliced fresh cherry tomatoes and chopped fresh onion and freshly made cornbread. This recipe will definitely go into our permanent rotation!! Dan'l and I Thank you so much, MizzNezz!! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2012

      Delicious. Added a can of kidney beans, extra cup of bell peper, skipped the sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      This is a delicious chili! I made it just as posted and it turned out great - thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      Great vegetarian chili! I did not add sugar and cut the tomatoes in half. I was a little leery about adding zucchini, but it was a pleasant addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2011

      This chili was excellent! It wasn't too spicy at all and was delicious. Although, it WAS a little sweet, so I think next time I will cut the amount of sugar used in half. The only thing I did differently was add 1-2 cups of water because the resulting chili was really really thick and my family prefers it be a little more runny. I will definitely be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2011

      I really changed the recipe quite a bit, but it was still very delish. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (306 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 184.6
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    22%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 711.9 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 9.0 g
    36%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites