15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good. I made this last night for dinner. I loved the meaty texture of the TVP - I used Bob's Red Mill brand. I did not have green onion on hand so used sweet white onion chopped fine. I added finely chopped cucumber but celery would be good too. After reading other reviews I also added a touch more curry powder than called for. My only advice to others is to start with half as much boullion and taste as you go. I found this to be very salty and even added more TVP and water to reduce the saltiness. Maybe it was the brand I used. I will keep that in mind for the next time and other than that I think this is great! Thank you for posting, Dragon Shoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Chick August 07, 2012

I had to make lunch for 2 vegetarian friends and didn't know where to turn. This came out great. They loved it and so did I

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VikingNorseman June 14, 2012

Very good, I did up the curry powder to 1/2 tsp and used vindaloo.
Makes one good sandwich

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JunkYardDays July 07, 2011

Delicious. I served as an appetizer on squares of rustic bread. It's a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chuck44545 July 07, 2011

This was very good a top rustic bread. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spaetzle343 June 26, 2011

Everyone loved this, even my non-vegetarian friends. We ate on top of corn chips and Wasa crisps.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marliewiggins June 26, 2011

I'm vegan and I can honestly say, this is delicious. So many of the faux chik'n recipes are terrible.
Great lunchbag sammie for work.
Thank u much

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Condarella October 20, 2010

My 2 1/2 year old loved this! He helped me make it, so I'm sure that helped. I had TVP chunks that I boiled for 4 minutes, then drained/squeezed them really well. I pulsed them in my food processor and then mixed with other ingredients. Thanks so much for sharing! :O) Oh, and I omitted the onions and nuts since I was making for my little one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins March 27, 2009

I teach at a Seventh Day Adventist school and since the food served is vegetarian we are always looking for easy new recipes. The children love this one. I was surprised butleave it to kids. They like it filled in pita bread celery stuffed with it. I don't have too much experience with TVP but this gave me great ideas for other meals.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
polishedcotton October 01, 2008
Vegetarian Chicken Sandwich Spread