Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian Chicken Sandwich Spread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Chicken Sandwich Spread

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on August 07, 2012

      Very good. I made this last night for dinner. I loved the meaty texture of the TVP - I used Bob's Red Mill brand. I did not have green onion on hand so used sweet white onion chopped fine. I added finely chopped cucumber but celery would be good too. After reading other reviews I also added a touch more curry powder than called for. My only advice to others is to start with half as much boullion and taste as you go. I found this to be very salty and even added more TVP and water to reduce the saltiness. Maybe it was the brand I used. I will keep that in mind for the next time and other than that I think this is great! Thank you for posting, Dragon Shoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2012

      I had to make lunch for 2 vegetarian friends and didn't know where to turn. This came out great. They loved it and so did I

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      Very good, I did up the curry powder to 1/2 tsp and used vindaloo.
      Makes one good sandwich

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      Delicious. I served as an appetizer on squares of rustic bread. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      This was very good a top rustic bread. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      Everyone loved this, even my non-vegetarian friends. We ate on top of corn chips and Wasa crisps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      I'm vegan and I can honestly say, this is delicious. So many of the faux chik'n recipes are terrible.
      Great lunchbag sammie for work.
      Thank u much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

    • on March 27, 2009

      My 2 1/2 year old loved this! He helped me make it, so I'm sure that helped. I had TVP chunks that I boiled for 4 minutes, then drained/squeezed them really well. I pulsed them in my food processor and then mixed with other ingredients. Thanks so much for sharing! :O) Oh, and I omitted the onions and nuts since I was making for my little one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      I teach at a Seventh Day Adventist school and since the food served is vegetarian we are always looking for easy new recipes. The children love this one. I was surprised butleave it to kids. They like it filled in pita bread celery stuffed with it. I don't have too much experience with TVP but this gave me great ideas for other meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      This seemed very mushy, even after being refrigerated overnight. The texture was grainy, but we're not used to TVP so maybe this is to be expected. The flavor was mainly the mayo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      YUM! I surprised myself on this one. I am a meat and potatoes person and i'm trying to expand to meatless dishes. This was very good. I followed recipe to a T except that I used regular mayo, sour cream, and chicken flavor boullion. It was pretty meaty too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      The only change I made was leave out the chopped nuts. It was excellent! I'm always looking for different things to make sandwiches with and this recipe has been added to my collection. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2006

      I didn't know what to do with the TVP I bought but I solved this problem with this delish recipe. THanks and I made just as posted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2005

      I made it with cubed tempeh (boiled in water for 12 minutes, drained and cooled). I didn't have any green onions, so, I left them out. We put it on whole wheat bread w/ lettuce. Very nice and different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Chicken Sandwich Spread

    Serving Size: 1 (31 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 51.8
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    74%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 2.7 mg
    0%
    Sodium 84.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    textured vegetable protein

    vegetarian chicken bouillon granules

    vegan sour cream

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites