9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this recipe fro mostly fresh veggies, and it was AWESOME! Can't wait to make it again! I used red pepper, which made it quite colorful! I chopped up a small piece of jalapeno pepper, added it to the squeezed lime juice in a small bowl, then drained the liquid into the cut-up vegs. So it was just a wee bit spicy, but not overpowering.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendy August 20, 2011

Like another reviewer, I added all of the optional ingredients. Since I wanted to keep the leftovers around for a few days I seeded the tomatoes and cucumber. My limes were pretty dry so I juiced 1/2 a lemon and tossed the chopped avocado with it before mixing so the avocado didn't go brown. I had an orange bell pepper so I used that instead of green; it added to the pretty colors of this dish. Absolutely LOVED this and will be making it weekly throughout the summer as a great low-cal side for grilled meats!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VenomousKate June 06, 2010

I made this dish for a New Year's Eve party and again for a New Year's Day party. It was a hit at both. The second time I made it without jalapenos because the hostess can't eat any spicy peppers. It was still good, but I did double the onion to compensate for the missing jalapenos. I served it with good quality tortilla chips. I added this recipe to my cookbook because I'll be making it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeanSgt January 02, 2010

This was a huge hit at my Christmas Eve Dinner Party. We forgot to add the avocado, but it was delicious just the same. I'm not a fan of cilantro, but it was perfect in this dish. I look forward to making this again soon. (with the avocado!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veggie_mama December 25, 2009

This was prety good. Next time I'll reduce the hearts of palm and add more avocado. Shrimp can be added to those not wanting it vegetarian. Good served with tortilla chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andtototoo! June 25, 2009

I love this recipe. I added all the ingredients, even the optional ones. The taste was very close to ceviche, and it was just so refreshing. I also added Arame seaweed because even though it's a vegan dish, I thought it would take the the look of imitation crab meat. It just added to the texture and took on the flavor of the sauce. I really really loved this recipe. So easy too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monicadstone.123 July 07, 2008

This looked so pretty in the glass and tasted equally good! I love hearts of palm, I halved the recipe and used less jalapenos. Thanks for a tasty lunch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 February 16, 2008

If you like ceviche, you'll love this zippy, lime-goodness! Very pretty to look at, and all the "optional" ingredients should be required because they make it better. We liked this with tortilla chips, too as a sort of salsa.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BerrySweet November 22, 2007

This is a very tasty, refreshing recipe. We made this with all of the optional items (avocado, cucumber,bell pepper) and now that I've had it that way, I don't know that I would make it without them. Thanks for a real winner, snickels!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
394mm493 July 19, 2007
Vegetarian Ceviche That Looks Not-So-Vegetarian