Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian Burritos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Burritos

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2009

      We made this for dinner last night and will definitely be making it again! It was very tasty and extremely filling. We ate dinner early and this kept me satisfied all night. The only thing I did different was use peanut oil instead of veggie oil - only because I don't have any veg oil in the house, and I left out the black olives for my husband's preference. Taking another reviewer's suggestion, we also made the Chuy's Deluxe Tomatillo Sauce, and put it on top of the burritos before baking. Thanks for the tip because it was delicious!! (Although I don't know what the heck Chuy means.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

      Wow, this recipe was FANTASTIC. We eat a lot of Mexican food variations, and this was one of the best I've made. I think the only recipe that comes close to being as good is, appropriately, a recipe out of the original Moosewood Cookbook, eggplant and almond enchiladas. I used whole wheat tortillas, red peppers instead of green, fresh corn, and lots of Cabot sharp cheddar. YUMMMMM.<br/><br/>In our oven, these were done in 20 minutes at 400oF. I then put tinfoil on them loosely (not sealing in steam) and kept them warm at 220oF for nearly an hour, and they were still perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      I have made this at least a half dozen times and love it everytime. I think the flavoring is a bit bland so I add a lot more seasoning, including chili peppers, chili powder, and a lot more cumin. I have used the tomatillo sauce on it and it's great too! I also use a variety of peppers: red, yellow, jalepeno, etc. This recipe makes a lot of food. So I bake two smaller containers from one batch and put one in an aluminum baking sheet that I put in the freezer for later use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      I love this recipe! The baking method is the best part--my burritos kept their shape, but were still soft. The baked cheese on top was also a highlight. I made half tonight (6 burritos) and froze the rest of the filling. I plan to make a batch of this just for freezing when my baby is ready to be born so that I don't have to cook as much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      We really liked these! We especially liked the baking method which made them soft but not so much that they fell apart. Try this one! You will like it! Thanks Ms*Bindy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2007

      We made a half recipe using a combo of pinto and black beans and leaving out the black olives - this gave us 6 huge burritos that filled a 13x9 pan. I turned this into an enchilada recipe by making half of Chuy's Deluxe Tomatillo Sauce Chuy's Deluxe Tomatillo Sauce and pouring it over the top of the burritos before putting them into the oven. I HIGHLY recommend this combo - it's AWESOME. Maybe I'm biased because I'm from Austin and really love Chuy's deluxe tomatillo sauce? Either way, this was the perfect way to use the can of tomatillos I'd finally found after 2 years of living in Sydney! If you try this combo, be sure to cover all of the tortilla with the sauce...you don't want to see any dry bits poking out or your enchiladas will be dry in places. If you're using the sauce, there's no need to cover the burritos with a damp cloth. Just cover the dish with foil and bake them for about 45 minutes. Then remove the foil, sprinkle with cheese and bake for another 10 minutes. Sprinkle with fresh cilantro (coriander) and savour. AWESOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2007

      These were great! I used homemade whole wheat tortillas. I served them with salsa along with the sour cream. I thought that they were even better the next day! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2006

      Fantastic dish that happens to be good for you. Perfect seasoning mix. Cooking method yields a nice soft burrito, just the right texture. I halved the recipe, using part black beans cause I was short on pintos. For the half recipe, I used 8 regular-sized whole wheat tortillas, which made 8 generous portions, completely filling a 13x9 pan. As such, I'd revise the servings for the full recipe to 12-16. I served with Spanish rice, but brown rice would be great, too. Thanks, Bunny Mom, for a super dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

      This is wonderful. I even own this cookbook but never made this recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Burritos

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 412.5
     
    Calories from Fat 175
    42%
    Total Fat 19.5 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 33.0 mg
    11%
    Sodium 389.1 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 9.5 g
    38%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 16.3 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites