Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian BLT Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian BLT

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2010

      LOVED this! What a fun & simple sandwich. The cheese does get crispy and since it is salty it does taste like bacon (sort of)! At first the cheese just seems to melt and be an ooey gooey mess, but give it time and watch it carefully. Once it is hard on the bottom it is time to flip before it burns. I really liked this as a change of pace from regular BLTs and frying the cheese was no harder than frying up bacon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2012

      Okay, I love this fried cheese idea. And I love that I can eat my vegetarian BLT while the rest of my family has the "real thing." This was crispy and good. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2012

    • on February 15, 2012

      These are wonderful! Can't go wrong with fried cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      OMG! This is sooooooooo good. I wish I could give you more stars. I didn't get home until after 10 PM and just finished my very late supper at almost 11 PM, and I feel absolutely decadent, lol.
      I can't believe how crispy and good the cheese was. Yum! Thanks so much...I'll definitely make this again...and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      After my husband announced he would be eating 'less' meat(translation: none), I went looking for good vegetarian recipes our whole family might like. This was an interesting one we had to try since we LOVE BLT's in our house. Well, we just tried it and OMGoodness was this good! It really tasted like a BLT but you really have to get that cheese nice and crusty. The first batch we made was a little lighter brown than the second batch and it didn't have the same bacon-y quality. We made this exactly like the recipe stated, but now I can't wait to give it a try with smoked cheddar. My husband proclaimed this definitely fulfilled his BLT craving. We'll definitely make this again! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2010

      Wow, this was great. It tastes a little plastic-y, if I cook it too long or use wacky cheese (goat). But, seriously, great. You gotta get the pan super-hot, and it's hard to wait long enough, but worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      As a vegetarian, bacon is probably the one thing I miss the most (and vegetarian bacon just doesn't cut it). I was skeptical about this working, but the reviews let me to try it and I'm glad they did! It was wonderful and gave the perfect "crunch" you sometimes crave in a sandwich. I agree with others that even meat eaters will be frying their cheese after this one! Thanks so much for sharing. I'm glad I stumbled across this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Well geez, who knew something so simple and easy to make would taste so heavenly! This is incredible! I used some nice chewy flax bread and an aged cheddar, This was delicious! Glad you posted it and glad I stumbled upon it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      The cheese gives my sandwich that crunch I was missing. Thanks! I will have this again for sure. I'm going to use the crispy provolone in my fried egg sandwich too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      THANK YOU!! Sooooooo delicious, I cannot wait to try it with smoked cheddar as others have suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      can i just give you a hug for sharing this fab recipe? I loved it! as a one year vegetarian, i was starting to feel like i was missing out on things like BLTs. not anymore! these are perfect and hit the spot

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      Oh my gosh I am so in love with this recipe! Since going vegetarian a year ago BLT's are the one and only thing I really miss. I was a bit skeptical of cooking cheese like that, but it turned out perfect! I can't thank you enough for curing my BLT craving!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      OH MY GAWD!!!! This is SO good! I LOVE cheese (it's my favorite food) but I never thought about frying and putting it on a sandwich. I also used smoked cheddar and it was so yummy. I will definitely be making this again, it's become one of my staple go-to meals. Thanks for the great recipe! Yum!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      I have made these in the past and used smoked cheddar. You have to be patient with it letting it cook but it is well worth the wait and everyone loves them! This is a great replacement for the traditional BLT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      oh yea....we've been playing with the veggie blt for years, never thought about fried cheese - very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      I have been making this sandwich for quite awhile now. We call it a CLT. Really is a yummy sandwich. I was just thinking about posting this today when I found yours. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      My vegetarian daughter is going to love this just as much as her little sister and I did!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      I enjoyed the crispness of the cheese and the flavor was nice too! I used rye bread. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      i like this sandwich its good with avacado also

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian BLT

    Serving Size: 1 (180 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 303.0
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    42%
    Total Fat 14.1 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 5.8 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 23.1 mg
    7%
    Sodium 615.0 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes