22 Reviews

LOVED this! What a fun & simple sandwich. The cheese does get crispy and since it is salty it does taste like bacon (sort of)! At first the cheese just seems to melt and be an ooey gooey mess, but give it time and watch it carefully. Once it is hard on the bottom it is time to flip before it burns. I really liked this as a change of pace from regular BLTs and frying the cheese was no harder than frying up bacon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BerrySweet December 03, 2010

Amazing! I've been a vegetarian for over 20 years. I wish I had known about this a long time ago. Love the crunch it adds. Who knew. Next time I'll try smoked provolone to see how that is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookie77 August 24, 2015

Delicious and fun! I followed the recipe and then at the end brushed a tiny bit of liquid smoke on the cheese. It was just like a blt. Thanks for sharing this total keeper recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview March 12, 2015

Okay, I love this fried cheese idea. And I love that I can eat my vegetarian BLT while the rest of my family has the "real thing." This was crispy and good. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mpage July 02, 2012

These are wonderful! Can't go wrong with fried cheese!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vestalis February 15, 2012

OMG! This is sooooooooo good. I wish I could give you more stars. I didn't get home until after 10 PM and just finished my very late supper at almost 11 PM, and I feel absolutely decadent, lol.
I can't believe how crispy and good the cheese was. Yum! Thanks so much...I'll definitely make this again...and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat'sUp May 03, 2011

After my husband announced he would be eating 'less' meat(translation: none), I went looking for good vegetarian recipes our whole family might like. This was an interesting one we had to try since we LOVE BLT's in our house. Well, we just tried it and OMGoodness was this good! It really tasted like a BLT but you really have to get that cheese nice and crusty. The first batch we made was a little lighter brown than the second batch and it didn't have the same bacon-y quality. We made this exactly like the recipe stated, but now I can't wait to give it a try with smoked cheddar. My husband proclaimed this definitely fulfilled his BLT craving. We'll definitely make this again! Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loricrenshaw October 28, 2010

Wow, this was great. It tastes a little plastic-y, if I cook it too long or use wacky cheese (goat). But, seriously, great. You gotta get the pan super-hot, and it's hard to wait long enough, but worth it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doc Mom October 13, 2010

As a vegetarian, bacon is probably the one thing I miss the most (and vegetarian bacon just doesn't cut it). I was skeptical about this working, but the reviews let me to try it and I'm glad they did! It was wonderful and gave the perfect "crunch" you sometimes crave in a sandwich. I agree with others that even meat eaters will be frying their cheese after this one! Thanks so much for sharing. I'm glad I stumbled across this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evan's Mommy October 02, 2010
Vegetarian BLT