17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a very good soup. I enriched the flavor, because some people warned they found it bland: I added vegetable broth, some extra salt and pepper, a whole tsp of cumin, some thyme and a little extra garlic and three bay leaves. And I threw in a couple of small potatoes to balance the extra salt. Then when it was more or less cooked, I put a couple of ladles full of beans etc (with a little liquid) in a blender to make a thick sauce which I then poured back into the soup and let it cook a little longer. Very tasty and rich soup stock. I used: soaked black beans, fresh tomatoes, harvested thyme, recently harvested bay leaves, and in the summer I look forward to fresh oregano and fresh coriander. This will certainly enhance the flavors. The fresher the ingredients the brighter the flavor. Serve it with baked squash, fresh salad and some corn bread. Mmmm.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bebefreed April 23, 2015

I used only eight cups of liquid (4 cups of organic vegetable broth and 4 cups of water). The consistency was just right after I food processed it. I needed to add extra salt to flavor the soup more. I loved the soup and I also gave this soup to my friends who was undergoing cancer treatment.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saichoonchoo January 06, 2013

We found this slightly lacking in flavor, and needed to add some salt at the end.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berry271 June 25, 2012

Loved it! prepared everything the night before, soaked the beans, and threw it in the crockpot to cook all day. a wonderful healthy dinner that even my kids loved. served with brown rice. yummy. thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daphney April 20, 2010

I tried making it with canned black beans and found it rather bland. I added a vegetable bouillon cube to give it more of a broth and that helped a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
racehorse87 March 21, 2010

I'm not a vegetarian, but I gave this soup a try, it was delicious. I missed the meat flavor, so I added just a touch of beef bouillon (sorry). The second day I added some chipotle peppers, and the third day (yes, it is a lot of soup) I drained some of the juice and had the beans with scramble eggs for breakfast. All 3 dishes delicious. Thank you Parsley.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsPia May 13, 2009

FABULOUS VEGAN NUTRITIOUS DELICIOUS! I made a half recipe as stated but did a quick soak for the black beans by bringing them to a boil turning off the heat and soaking for 3 hours. This recipe was perfect and satisfying all it needed was a bit more salt at the end. Half a recipe was 3 large servings for us. Made for the Zaar Stars tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed May 20, 2008

I have made this recipe many times since finding it on recipezaar. It is great!!!I love the low fat. The taste. I never change anything.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muddyboots February 28, 2008

I had this wonderful soup for dinner tonight. I used a combination of pinto and small red beans instead of black beans. I also used a 28 oz can of tomatoes and reduced the water by 2 cups to make up for the extra tomatoes. I added the diced red pepper 15 minutes before serving. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario January 29, 2008

Fabulous flavorful soup! I made this just as described except we topped it with a spoonful of sour cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha Mazz January 18, 2008
Vegetarian Black Bean Soup