Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian Black Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Black Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2013

      I used only eight cups of liquid (4 cups of organic vegetable broth and 4 cups of water). The consistency was just right after I food processed it. I needed to add extra salt to flavor the soup more. I loved the soup and I also gave this soup to my friends who was undergoing cancer treatment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2012

      We found this slightly lacking in flavor, and needed to add some salt at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      Loved it! prepared everything the night before, soaked the beans, and threw it in the crockpot to cook all day. a wonderful healthy dinner that even my kids loved. served with brown rice. yummy. thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      I tried making it with canned black beans and found it rather bland. I added a vegetable bouillon cube to give it more of a broth and that helped a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      I'm not a vegetarian, but I gave this soup a try, it was delicious. I missed the meat flavor, so I added just a touch of beef bouillon (sorry). The second day I added some chipotle peppers, and the third day (yes, it is a lot of soup) I drained some of the juice and had the beans with scramble eggs for breakfast. All 3 dishes delicious. Thank you Parsley.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      FABULOUS VEGAN NUTRITIOUS DELICIOUS! I made a half recipe as stated but did a quick soak for the black beans by bringing them to a boil turning off the heat and soaking for 3 hours. This recipe was perfect and satisfying all it needed was a bit more salt at the end. Half a recipe was 3 large servings for us. Made for the Zaar Stars tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      I have made this recipe many times since finding it on recipezaar. It is great!!!I love the low fat. The taste. I never change anything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      I had this wonderful soup for dinner tonight. I used a combination of pinto and small red beans instead of black beans. I also used a 28 oz can of tomatoes and reduced the water by 2 cups to make up for the extra tomatoes. I added the diced red pepper 15 minutes before serving. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      Fabulous flavorful soup! I made this just as described except we topped it with a spoonful of sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      Wonderful, healthy, flavorful soup! I used canned black bean, red and yellow peppers, additional salt and pepper, only 8 cups of water and lots of carrots. My husband added cheese to his soup to make it even heartier. I love the fresh taste of all the veggies. Thanks, Parsley!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      Very good and hearty soup. Easy to put together. I used fresh cilantro and canned beans, using black and pinto beans. I served it with white rice and sour cream. Great recipe Parsley!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      This was a hearty soup. I used what was on hand so I had to leave out the celery leaves and peppers and did not add cumin as I do not like it. I also decided to add a handful of brown rice and barley. This was very filling soup and like most soups it was better the next day. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      This is a lovely soup that tastes wonderful! I made it because it was so low in calories....who knew it would taste so good!!! I actually made this in an olla! I used canned beans and I would make this again! Thanks Parsley!! *Zaar World Tour 3*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      Very good indeed. I took a short cut and used canned beans and no oil. I just put it all in the pot, brought it to boil and then simmered it very slowly on min heat for about 45 mins. Delicious, easy and perfect for another damp and rainy day. I topped it with a dollop of fat free sour cream and an olive. It has lots of good flavor and the fact that it's heart healthy doesn't hurt any. Thanks Parsley for a lovely soup that I'll make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      Loved this!! I halved the recipe since ther is only 3 of us and DD wouldn't eat much of it being a teenager! Even she ate it and her friend ate some of hers too...so we ended up with a very small lunch portion for 1 leftover! I used quite a bit more garlic than called for (minced) and a bit more cumin. Otherwise I made exactly as written. Next time( and there will be a next time -YUMMY) I may use half water and half Spicy V8 for even more flavor, but we like things spicy! ;) Great recipe - used canned beans to speed it up - total keeper!!! Thanks Parsley!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      This is good and hearty. I used canned black beans instead of dried beans, and I left out the celery leaves, because most of them didn't look so good. I'm going to definetely keep this recipe around, especially for winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Black Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (359 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 169.0
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    15%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 138.5 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites