Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian Barley-Vegetable Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Barley-Vegetable Soup

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 11, 2001

      I added sliced mushrooms and diced red pepper to this recipe (I can't have barley without mushrooms!). I also used fresh basil and added fresh oregano leaves. Excellent! I'm staying away from MSG and was skeptical about this coming out well without vegetable broth but it is delicious... and even better the second day! One change: I think I might add undrained canned tomatoes next time to give some more tomatoey-ness to it... the pound of fresh I used didn't seem to be quite enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

    • on December 02, 2009

      Excellent. Yummy, cheap, easy and I have tons of leftovers. Thanks for this, I'll make it again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Terrific recipe! I used canned tomatoes w/juice (1#12oz) and fresh green beans (allow more like 20 min. cook time) and loved it. Next time I will chop the canned tomatoes b4 thowing them in; they scoot around too much to catch with a spoon after adding. Really hearty vegetarian fare. Thank you Charishma!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      I really like the flavor of this soup, I did use one can of vegetable broth, and about 1 1/2 lbs. of tomatoes. the dill really makes it tasty,thanks charishma.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      Excellent recipe - I only used 1 tbsp butter and added chopped broccoli stems Thanks Char for a tasty recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2004

      I made this soup a day early for our New Year's Day Open House Dinner. Soup always thickens up when it sits in the fridge, so it was a sort of gumbo by the next day. I heated it up in the crockpot on High for about 2 hours. It was definitely a crowd pleaser.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2001

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Barley-Vegetable Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (414 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.2
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    31%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 664.4 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites