17 Reviews

Well, the stuffing was good but there was not enough of it. I used 3 pepper, two large and one smaller. I needed more stuffing. I think 2 large peppers would be better (4 halves). Also agree that maybe some tomatoe sauce would be yummy with this. It was good.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenn.crain February 17, 2010

Made this for my daughter and she loved it. I dissolved a veggie bouillon cube in the rice cooking water for more flavor. Added two cooked diced carrots and some Braggs Aminos. This is a good recipe to mix in leftover cooked vegetables and use up what you have on hand. Almost any vegetable would be good.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kokeshi doll November 02, 2009

The hubby and I both felt that these were just "okay." For the time put in, I was definitely hoping for a lot more flavor. I used vegetable broth to cook the rice and followed the recipe exactly, besides adding mushrooms to my pepper. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meliska September 17, 2009

I was so excited to make this after reading the reviews. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except that I used brown rice and added a little garlic. My husband and I thought it was very bland. Sorry!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PilatesGirl June 08, 2009

These were so easy to put together and tasted wonderful! I used monterey jack for the cheese and some leftover sauce from Puerto Rican rice and beans (sofrito, achiote, tomato sauce) for the cooking liquid. Did end up baking at 375 for 35 minutes - just right.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saraghina March 21, 2009

I made these with red, yellow and orange peppers and they were all great. I used brown rice and left everything else the same.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrVanilla March 14, 2009

Very tasty recipe Strawberry Girl. I used whole grain brown rice and only 2 peppers because I like them really 'stuffed'. I omitted the sunflower seeds (I thought I had some on hand, but I didn't). I omitted the jalapeno pepper, but I did increase the black pepper to make up for it. My DH enjoyed the leftovers the next day and added some liquid curry on top when he reheated one. I like the idea one reviewer mentioned about using feta cheese. I may try that next time. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dojemi August 11, 2007

I added 1/2 cup diced mushrooms, topped with feta cheese and baked at 375 degrees for 35 minutes. Outstanding!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merymete July 08, 2007

Added a diced carrot and some mushrooms as well. I must've had really large peppers, this was just barely enough filling. The sunflower seeds were good - I think I like them a little spicier, though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaeger5432 June 01, 2007

Delicious recipe. I added 4 chopped mushrooms and because we like our veggies crisp I did not par boil the peppers. Stuffed them raw, then baked them at 375 for 35 minutes- they were perfect. The peppers would make a lovely presentation on a buffet table. This is a recipe that will be made again & again Thanks for introducing me to it Strawberry Girl

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy May 21, 2007
Vegetarian Baked Stuffed Red Bell Peppers