15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Simple, good & smart! I made the mistake of buying a large quantity of store brand frozen veggies on sale & after the wife & I tried them we were extremely disappointed, I got them at a great price but they were terrible...I was stuck with bags of them. I was going to throw them out but I searched out Veg stock & found this! Thank you! After cooling I measure out 1 cup & poor into ice cube trays & I am set anytime I need to make rice or my famous chili.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robert_L May 22, 2010

Thank you for posting this. I would have never thought to save what I call "veggie waste". I saved zucchini ends, carrot tops and peels, yellow onion skins and tops and bottoms, same with green onions, celery leaves and tops and bottoms. I even added veggies that were "sort of" starting to rot. I soaked everything in cold water, swishing it around to make sure it was all very well cleaned. Ran it through a coliander and then put it all in a huge stockpot, filled with water. Added 2 bayleaves and about 15 turns of my peppercorn grinder. Brought it all to a boil and then simmer it for 2 hours. Last 30 minutes I did about 3-4 turns of my sea salt grinder. I used it in place of chicken broth, adding a few cubes of chicken bouillon and it turned out fantastic. thank you!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MUFFYW January 16, 2010

It's going to be hard remembering to save up for this stock. After being used to throwing it away for so long it might take awhile to get the habit. I used celery root,carrot,onions and I even found a dried orange pepper in my fridge. So mine was a bit orange colored. I'll make this again and I can't wait for the summer and the big variety of veggies. Thanks for sharing. Taste even better the second day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia January 08, 2010

I saved up broccoli stalks, carrots, onions, mushroom stems, eggplant ends and pieces, corn cobs, etc and threw it in a pot with the peppercorns and bay leaves. After 2 hours, I tasted the broth, and it tasted very watered down. So I took the lid off and reduced it a little. This helped significantly. This will be nice to add to rice or soups. Made for Zaar Stars. *I continued to cook it, and after 4 hours, it is devine! Had to revise my rating!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom August 15, 2009

This is a great idea for using up veggie peel which would otherwise go in the bin. I used mainly parsnips so it had a nice, sweet taste. Thanks for a recipe I'll definitely make again and again. Made for Please Review My Recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shuzbud April 24, 2009

OMG can't believe how many times I have made this and not reviewed it - when I peel my vegetables I have a bowl lines with a freezer bag and then pop them in the freezer for use when ready to make stock. Once stock is made they go into the compost heap - twice recycled. The result is a great flavourisime stock to use in a myriad of recipes (even using it instead of chicken or beef, especially if you want to keep the dish vegetarian). Thank you bluemoon downunder for a fantastic recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat April 23, 2009

I ended up with an asparagus stock as I used asparagus tips for a number of recipes and kept all the unused pieces for this stock. No doubt there should be at least one onion and a couple of carrots to help balance the flavors. But I will keep this recipe on hand so I can serve dinner to vegetarian friends. Thanks for posting, bluemoon downunder. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL February 08, 2009

I LOVE this recipe because of its frugality and its flavor! I happened to have some fresh spices such as parsley and thyme and so added a bouquet garni with them wrapped in cheesecloth. Thanks, BlueMoonDownUnder! Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees November 09, 2008

Since seeing this recipe I've started freezing all the veggie goodies that I used to throw away, but in order to make the recipe this first time around, I actually used chopped up veggies, all the way from celery & onions, to carrots & broccoli! A REALLY GREAT RECIPE that makes a GREAT VEGGIE STOCK! Thanks so much for a keeper of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 09, 2008

Where has this recipe been and why have I only just found it! What a great money saving recipe, and so easy to make. I even used asparagus ends and tomatoes in my stock. I am going to use this tonight to make asparagus soup and freeze it. Thanks bluemoon downunder for a great new recipe, which I will be making a lot of from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme November 03, 2008
Vegetable Stock