Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetable Stock Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetable Stock

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2010

      Simple, good & smart! I made the mistake of buying a large quantity of store brand frozen veggies on sale & after the wife & I tried them we were extremely disappointed, I got them at a great price but they were terrible...I was stuck with bags of them. I was going to throw them out but I searched out Veg stock & found this! Thank you! After cooling I measure out 1 cup & poor into ice cube trays & I am set anytime I need to make rice or my famous chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      Thank you for posting this. I would have never thought to save what I call "veggie waste". I saved zucchini ends, carrot tops and peels, yellow onion skins and tops and bottoms, same with green onions, celery leaves and tops and bottoms. I even added veggies that were "sort of" starting to rot. I soaked everything in cold water, swishing it around to make sure it was all very well cleaned. Ran it through a coliander and then put it all in a huge stockpot, filled with water. Added 2 bayleaves and about 15 turns of my peppercorn grinder. Brought it all to a boil and then simmer it for 2 hours. Last 30 minutes I did about 3-4 turns of my sea salt grinder. I used it in place of chicken broth, adding a few cubes of chicken bouillon and it turned out fantastic. thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      It's going to be hard remembering to save up for this stock. After being used to throwing it away for so long it might take awhile to get the habit. I used celery root,carrot,onions and I even found a dried orange pepper in my fridge. So mine was a bit orange colored. I'll make this again and I can't wait for the summer and the big variety of veggies. Thanks for sharing. Taste even better the second day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      I saved up broccoli stalks, carrots, onions, mushroom stems, eggplant ends and pieces, corn cobs, etc and threw it in a pot with the peppercorns and bay leaves. After 2 hours, I tasted the broth, and it tasted very watered down. So I took the lid off and reduced it a little. This helped significantly. This will be nice to add to rice or soups. Made for Zaar Stars. *I continued to cook it, and after 4 hours, it is devine! Had to revise my rating!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      This is a great idea for using up veggie peel which would otherwise go in the bin. I used mainly parsnips so it had a nice, sweet taste. Thanks for a recipe I'll definitely make again and again. Made for Please Review My Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      OMG can't believe how many times I have made this and not reviewed it - when I peel my vegetables I have a bowl lines with a freezer bag and then pop them in the freezer for use when ready to make stock. Once stock is made they go into the compost heap - twice recycled. The result is a great flavourisime stock to use in a myriad of recipes (even using it instead of chicken or beef, especially if you want to keep the dish vegetarian). Thank you bluemoon downunder for a fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      I ended up with an asparagus stock as I used asparagus tips for a number of recipes and kept all the unused pieces for this stock. No doubt there should be at least one onion and a couple of carrots to help balance the flavors. But I will keep this recipe on hand so I can serve dinner to vegetarian friends. Thanks for posting, bluemoon downunder. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      I LOVE this recipe because of its frugality and its flavor! I happened to have some fresh spices such as parsley and thyme and so added a bouquet garni with them wrapped in cheesecloth. Thanks, BlueMoonDownUnder! Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      Since seeing this recipe I've started freezing all the veggie goodies that I used to throw away, but in order to make the recipe this first time around, I actually used chopped up veggies, all the way from celery & onions, to carrots & broccoli! A REALLY GREAT RECIPE that makes a GREAT VEGGIE STOCK! Thanks so much for a keeper of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Where has this recipe been and why have I only just found it! What a great money saving recipe, and so easy to make. I even used asparagus ends and tomatoes in my stock. I am going to use this tonight to make asparagus soup and freeze it. Thanks bluemoon downunder for a great new recipe, which I will be making a lot of from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      This is what I have been using for a long time-carrot and onion ends, potato peelings, broccoli stems, asparagus stalks, celery tips, etc. The addition of peppercorns is nice. I froze some in 1 cup freezer containers, and am keeping a quart in the fridge.Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Excellent vegetable stock. Had a bag of celery, carrot, and onion skins, etc. in the freezer. Great base for soups, sauces, gravies. Two other peelings or trimmings recipes are Potato Peel Stock and Homemade Stock. The potato peel recipe is best made the day of peeling the potatoes to prevent discoloration. I freeze some stock in ice cube trays and then bag them and use the cubes to deglaze frying pans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Used this wonderful stock for Saturday Lunch at the Farm~I tend to use a vegetable stock when making a good soup base for stew. This is exactly perfection plus as it: 1. Uses all the ends, peels, and extra vegetables that never make it to the table. 2. Very smooth taste, no fat whatsoever to "skim" and enjoy is like heaven in a cup. Normally, I use all the peels into our farm compost heap, but I saved this up from the last 2 days. I have large amount of extra's vegetable matter, since living on a farm, and utilizing every bit of the vegetable I can. There were a couple of corn cobs that even made it in the pot. I added 10 peppercorns, as my stock pot is very large, and plastic 1/4 pound containers to freeze all the stock I got from this. (I had 10 containers) I also put some in little ice cube trays top pop into cooking rice, vegetables, or and extra punch to some soup. Thank you bluemoon downunder for posting this unique and very economical recipe. Made for *Please Review My Recipe* Fall 2008

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      Fantstic way to use those vegetable peels. I have a bag full of peels in my freezer and cook this stock from time to time. I also add some black peppercorns and allspice. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2006

      This is a nice, rustic tasting vegetable broth. I did not peel my vegetables, also used the leafy part of the celery, green part of the leeks, dropped a whole unpeeled onion and did add extra seasonings. Froze the stock in double guard freezer bags, 2 cups broth in a bag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stocks Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetable Stock

    Serving Size: 1 (2004 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 19.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites