Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetable Ragout Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetable Ragout

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2005

      Picked this recipe as a great way to clear the vegetable bin at the end of the week. Odd reason but I am so pleased I did. This turned out to be one of those dishes that makes you wish one could share the smell of the dish, not just a picture. The wonderful smell of the simmering sauce permeated throughout the kitchen and left me eagerly anticipating the final result. It did not dissapoint. The careful inclusion of the vegeables left each one perfectly prepared and not overdone. I added my potatoes about 9 minutes before finishing so they could absorb the sauce. Caroline is right the sauce is the star. The suggested bread should be an ingredient as you won't want to miss a drop. Well worth a trip to the gym to later to enjoy and extra piece. The two small changes was that I cut the oil to 2 teaspoons and omitted the salt. Thanks Bunny Mom!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2014

      This is an outstanding recipe. The apartment smells like grandma's house when the veggies are simmering in the wine sauce-- warm and inviting. The wine sauce make this deliciously rich. The second time I made it I doubled the amount of wine and sauce, since I always have leftovers and the sauce tends to get absorbed by the veggies overnight. Also, I serve the ragout over cornbread and top with an asiago/parmesan blend and this dish becomes out of this world. The mild sweetness of the cornbread with the richness of the wine sauce--OMG!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      Excellent! Left out the oil and softened the veggies in a little bit of water. Left out the zucchini and had to make due with red cooking wine, and it was still very tasty! Ate over potatoes. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      Wonderful meal. But then, I never met a Moosewood recipe that I didn't like! Next time I think I will leave out the potatoes, as called for, and serve with garlic smashed potatoes. Either way it's a great dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      So very YUMMY! My hubby and I loved this, the kids - not so much. I omitted the mushrooms (blah), I didn't have molasses so I used honey. I served it over cauliflower milllet mash (instead of potatoes, try it!) with a salad and garlic bread. Just had some leftovers. SOOOOOO Good! Thanks for the keeper of a recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      I really wanted to love this but it just did not do much for me. My family did not like it at all. I thought it was just ok. I followed the directions exactly except left out the mushrooms as no one except me likes them. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      This makes a very good stew. My meat-loving husband even had seconds! I served this recipe over mashed potatoes, which was a good combination. It would also be good with cornbread or biscuits on the side. I will definitely be making this one again. The leftovers were delicious the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2006

      This was soooo delicious! I served it over oven-roasted potatoes in their skins, with ricotta cheese on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2006

      Like all the other reviewers, we loved this recipe! The sauce is delicious and the meal so healthy and easy. Thank you Bunny Mom for a 5 star recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

      After reading the reviews, I was SO looking forward to trying this. And I was absolutely delighted by just how wonderfully flavoursome it was. I served this at a casual family dinner and everyone totally l-o-v-e-d it. Even though there were potatoes in the ragout, I served it with Divinemom5’s Basil Mashed Potatoes Pumpkin Butter, which was great for mopping up the fabulous vegetable ragout sauce. I made this exactly to the recipe except for halving the oil, omitting the salt and doubling the garlic. Just sensational! Requests all around that I make this again, which I shall certainly be doing! Thank you so much, Bunny Mom, for sharing this sensational recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      This was wonderful! The sauce is to die for! I licked the bowl clean and then went back for seconds! I cut the oil in half and did not add salt. This is a truly wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2005

      I can only echo the other reviewers--delicious, with a wonderful sauce. Instead of bread, I opted for polenta (or, in African terms, Ugali) to sop up the wonderful sauce. Really a wonderful main dish, rich and satisfying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2005

      This is adult comfort food, with a vengence! Wonderful flavours and red wine too. I had to substitute aubergine for zucchini because unfortunately the slugs got to my plants before I did (I did manage to find one tiny courgette though)! However, the sauce is the real star of this recipe, so a combination of any Mediterranean vegetables would be great. We had it with French bread as suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetable Ragout

    Serving Size: 1 (402 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 345.6
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    20%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1113.1 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 8.3 g
    33%
    Sugars 14.5 g
    58%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites