13 Reviews

Picked this recipe as a great way to clear the vegetable bin at the end of the week. Odd reason but I am so pleased I did. This turned out to be one of those dishes that makes you wish one could share the smell of the dish, not just a picture. The wonderful smell of the simmering sauce permeated throughout the kitchen and left me eagerly anticipating the final result. It did not dissapoint. The careful inclusion of the vegeables left each one perfectly prepared and not overdone. I added my potatoes about 9 minutes before finishing so they could absorb the sauce. Caroline is right the sauce is the star. The suggested bread should be an ingredient as you won't want to miss a drop. Well worth a trip to the gym to later to enjoy and extra piece. The two small changes was that I cut the oil to 2 teaspoons and omitted the salt. Thanks Bunny Mom!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni September 10, 2005

This is an outstanding recipe. The apartment smells like grandma's house when the veggies are simmering in the wine sauce-- warm and inviting. The wine sauce make this deliciously rich. The second time I made it I doubled the amount of wine and sauce, since I always have leftovers and the sauce tends to get absorbed by the veggies overnight. Also, I serve the ragout over cornbread and top with an asiago/parmesan blend and this dish becomes out of this world. The mild sweetness of the cornbread with the richness of the wine sauce--OMG!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alexandra R. April 23, 2014

Excellent! Left out the oil and softened the veggies in a little bit of water. Left out the zucchini and had to make due with red cooking wine, and it was still very tasty! Ate over potatoes. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeganJen May 04, 2009

Wonderful meal. But then, I never met a Moosewood recipe that I didn't like! Next time I think I will leave out the potatoes, as called for, and serve with garlic smashed potatoes. Either way it's a great dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
northpointer2 February 04, 2009

So very YUMMY! My hubby and I loved this, the kids - not so much. I omitted the mushrooms (blah), I didn't have molasses so I used honey. I served it over cauliflower milllet mash (instead of potatoes, try it!) with a salad and garlic bread. Just had some leftovers. SOOOOOO Good! Thanks for the keeper of a recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zenmaria February 11, 2008

I really wanted to love this but it just did not do much for me. My family did not like it at all. I thought it was just ok. I followed the directions exactly except left out the mushrooms as no one except me likes them. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenofcamping January 04, 2007

This makes a very good stew. My meat-loving husband even had seconds! I served this recipe over mashed potatoes, which was a good combination. It would also be good with cornbread or biscuits on the side. I will definitely be making this one again. The leftovers were delicious the next day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
death_by_parsnip December 19, 2006

This was soooo delicious! I served it over oven-roasted potatoes in their skins, with ricotta cheese on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy's Kitchen October 18, 2006

Like all the other reviewers, we loved this recipe! The sauce is delicious and the meal so healthy and easy. Thank you Bunny Mom for a 5 star recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jean harvey May 16, 2006

After reading the reviews, I was SO looking forward to trying this. And I was absolutely delighted by just how wonderfully flavoursome it was. I served this at a casual family dinner and everyone totally l-o-v-e-d it. Even though there were potatoes in the ragout, I served it with Divinemom5’s Basil Mashed Potatoes Pumpkin Butter, which was great for mopping up the fabulous vegetable ragout sauce. I made this exactly to the recipe except for halving the oil, omitting the salt and doubling the garlic. Just sensational! Requests all around that I make this again, which I shall certainly be doing! Thank you so much, Bunny Mom, for sharing this sensational recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder December 23, 2005
Vegetable Ragout