Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetable Quiche Cups -SBD- Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetable Quiche Cups -SBD-

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2011

      I can't believe I haven't rated this yet! I've made this probably a dozen times because my family loves them so much. They're really great and lend themselves quite easily to modifications. I always include the frozen spinach but have also used caramelized onions, chopped mushrooms, Parmesan cheese and goat cheese. Even when I feel like I am way overdoing the cheese and other less healthy (compared to veggies) items, the calorie count still only comes out to about 70 or so which is awesome.

      We ate these stuffed inside of freshly baked popovers last weekend and they were a fantastic 150 calorie breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      One thing I will say about this recipe is to be sure and fill the muffin cups completely full. These quiches don't rise like a muffin or cupcake would. I only filled the cups half full and ended up with little quiche silver dollar pancakes. Still tasty though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      As written, it's an OK recipe. Here are my "modifications." First, I use an entire 15 oz container of Egg Beaters, saute the onions and peppers until softened and put in an 8x8 baking pan sprayed with nonstick spray. Instead of shredded cheddar cheese I put swiss cheese slices to cover the top and top with cracked black pepper. Bake at 350 degrees for approximately 20-30 minutes or until "egg" mixture is set. Cut into 6 slices. The amount of extra egg substitute is minimal extra calories and makes them sooooo much yummier. In the morning I nuke them in the microwave and put them on a whole wheat english muffin with a slice of tomato.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      Loved this as a make ahead, grab and go breakfast. I frozen chopped broccoli, thawed, instead of the spinach, and 1 full cup of egg substitute instead of 3/4. Also sauteed the peppers and onions until softened. I did get 12 small muffins. They are better fresh out of the oven, but were also very good reheated from frozen for 1 minute in the microwave. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      South Beach or not, I like these!. Keep them in the freezer, nuke for 1 1/2 minutes and voila! SB breakfast!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      These were good; though I thought they were missing something. I only got 6 regular size muffins out of mine, so I'm not sure how others got 12. I did use monterey jack cheese because I love it with egg dishes. If I were to make this again, I would definitely double the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      I love these! I made a smaller batch (4 quiche cups) using 1 egg and 3 whites, orange peppers, spinach, reduced fat shredded mexican cheese, garlic and onion powder, and Frank's redhot. 350 for 15 min in nonstick muffin pan sprayed with PAM. Perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      I really liked these. They were better warm, and I added a little extra egg white in each cup 'after' I had portioned them out. the tabasco was PERFECT in this, don't omit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      Delicious and a great way to use up left over fresh veggies and stretch them for another meal! I used mild cheddar cheese and a mix of whole eggs and egg whites as another reviewer did. I had left over veggies from another recipe...zucchini, onion, red bell pepper and I used the spinach too. I put about 2 tsps of Texas Pete Hot sauce in the mix. I did not use baking cups as I used my non-stick muffin pan and still sprayed it with cooking spray. They did not stick at all, came out beautifully! DH saw me mixing it all up and said, "Wow, I bet they are going to be delicious and pretty! You are going to take a photo, aren't you!?" LOL! True Zaar hubby! My intentions are to freeze some of these, but am not sure they will last that long! However, I will definitely be making more soon, so I can take some to work for breakfast! Thanks for a keeper Amber Dawn!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2012

      I found these while on the SB diet. I echo others in that it is important to fill the muffin cup up all the way as there will be some shrinkage as they cool. I have added a jalapeno pepper diced up to spice up the mixture, as well as pork sasuage. Have used a variety of cheeses and they always come out good. I make (6) at a time and have (2) at a time for breakfast and keep the others in the fridge. Makes a great lunch with a small side salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      These were good, but could use a little tweaking. I added some cooked ground pork sausage, which gave a better flavor but it still needed more seasoning of some kind. I froze the majority of them, and they become pretty watery once reheated. Good for a quick easy breakfast, though. Definitely make again, just with some changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      I love these.. I am not a spinach person so i ditch it and add a can (drained) of asparagus. I put it all in my food processor and pulse a few times and voila! put in the muffin tin and into the oven. I keep them in the freezer and microwave when i want one. these are great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      Great recipe, I've been making these for about 6 months now, sometimes I change things up a biy by adding roasted peppers and grated parmesean or locatelli instead of the peppers and cheddar... also good with some cubed smoked turkey or low fat ham in it. Thank you dale! for posting this

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

    • on June 29, 2008

      Though it was fully cooked, these somehow tasted like raw onion. I really did not like the flavor. It might have been better if I sauteed the onions and peppers first, until carmelized. It was easy to bring together, but we ended up throwing out the whole batch as inedible. The only modification I made to the recipe was to use 3 real eggs rather than 3/4 cup egg substitute.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      These are just alright. Very blah. I'm not on SBD, so that could be why.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      i followed the recipe, using 3 eggs and mozzarella, used all onion instead of some peppers, and added some salt but i definitely think i needed more. i think it needs flavor, it was too bland for me. maybe herb seasoning of some sort? and definitely a sharper cheese. they only made 8 muffin cups, however i baked them in a sprayed silicone cupcake pan so they didn't stick. i'm not on the south beach diet so next time, i might add some potatoes and mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      Absolutely delicious! I used fresh spinach, green peppers, and soy pepper jack cheese (cause that's all I had). Next time, I will probably use mushrooms instead of onions, just to switch things up a bit. The outside of the muffin cups stuck to the muffin tin, so I'll probably use nonstick spray in them next time. But, getting right down to it, I WILL make it again and thank you for offering up such a yummy, healthy lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      I made these as a breakfast for the Body-for-Life program. I added diced lean ham, and green onions, and used fat free cheese. Served warm on top of dry toast. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      I also did not get but 11 cups filled. But they still turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetable Quiche Cups -SBD-

    Serving Size: 1 (361 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 9.1
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    14%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 17.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.4 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pasteurized liquid egg-whites

    reduced-fat cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes