9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Mmmm...five stars all the way and quickly goes on to the list of regular rotations. Perfect for breakfast, lunch or dinner. I grew up calling these Dutch babies and this batter was better than any I've tried, it puffed up perfectly. I've never tried a savory version. Looking forward to making this easy and delicious recipe again and adding some mushrooms. But loved it as is. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview October 22, 2013

Yum! This was quite good! I made half the recipe for just the two of us, used a smaller pan. Really really good and so beautiful to look at. Thanks for sharing, made for I Recommend 2013

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pammyowl April 28, 2013

Something a little different, and wow, what a success, we both loved this and DH especially said this is something he wants again, often! My pancake didnt puff up as much as some other reviewers, but it had good texture and was excellent for the purpose. I stuck to the recipe although I enjoyed other suggestions given here, for us this was a real winner as is. Thanks for sharing, loof!!! Made for PRMR tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth April 25, 2013

Wow! This was really awesome and different. My family liked it! Thanks for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night July 22, 2012

OMG this is just wonderful and so easy to put together. I used different vegetables because of what I had on hand but no matter this is a very versital recipe (which makes it more awesome) I used red peppers, mushrooms, the onions and for the tomatoes I used a can of Rotel well drained (added the perfect heat for our taste) Loved the red onion in this. I did sautee the veggies in just a little butter. As per another review, I added 1/4 tsp of garlic powder and 1/4 tsp onion powder to the crust mixture (nice addition I think) And per another review, I used Cheddar, Mozzarella, and Parmesan as my cheese mixture..........So, so good. My DH was so funny when the crust was baking......Wife, that thing is growing......No I mean it is distorted........Looks like a mountain range.....When it came out of the oven, it was deformed in height. I used a spatula to press it down into shape. Worked great. Thanks loof for sharing. Will make this one often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ January 07, 2012

This is so easy. I steamed the broccoli at least 10 minutes. Then I added the tomato, onion and bell pepper to the steamer machine. And let steam another 10 minutes. Then I baked the pancake and added the cheese and veggies. So good. Me and DH enjoyed it a lot. The leftovers will be perfect for our lunches tomorrow. Thanks loof :) Made for PRMR tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette December 18, 2011

I loved the way the pancake cooked up before topping with the cheese and veggies. I did use the recommended cheddar, and agree, I think a mix of cheeses might be better. Also think I'll add some garlic powder to the pancake next time, and maybe throw in some crushed red pepper flakes to the veggies. This made a delightful dinner for me tonight. Quick and easy to make, allowing me to get ready for Thanksgiving guests! Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom November 21, 2011

A nice savory version of the sweet oven pancakes I enjoyed when I was younger. This savory pancake would make a nice meal anytime of the day or night. I made as written using whole wheat flour and fat free cheddar cheese but after reading other review think next time I will try using a mix of mozzarella, provolone and parmesan cheeses. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl November 06, 2011

Wow, Loof, what a lovely lunch this pancake made, it was quick and so easy to make. It reminded us of a german pancake and vegetable pizza. The pancake was crisp and tender while the filling was ooey and gooey....so delicious. I used red peppers, sweet white onion and a mixture of cheeses (marble cheddar, mozzeralla, provolone, emmanthal and parmesan) it was what I had on hand, omitted the broccoli. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, that I will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato September 27, 2011
Vegetable Oven Pancake