16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic!! We had out of town guests who are vegetarians. I served this and all I can say is we ate until we couldn't move. I have to admit I was a little hesitant but this dish was incredible. We will definitely make this again. Thank you so much.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunflower May 13, 2002

This was our supper last night. YuMmy!!Very nice flavor. Left out the olives because my kids won't touch them. Still an incredible dish. Certainly didn't miss the meat. Definitely will make this again. Thanks NurseDi!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust June 04, 2002

My husband was totally amazed, well really we all were. This was so rich and delicious. In my attempt to create more meatless meals, I tried this. We all loved it. Took a little time to put together but it was worth every minute. Very cheesy and full of flavor. Thanks Nurse Di, another winner.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail Blue Eyes September 09, 2002

This was a hit at Easter dinner. I changed the recipe by using a 28 oz. can of tomato sauce, adding 2 cups of green and yellow zucchini to the rest of the ingredients, some ground black pepper, no green chilies, no Parmesan cheese and 2 cups of mozzarella cheese instead of 4 cups of Monterey Jack. I followed the rest of the recipe as is. This makes a beautifully colorful lasagna, and you will never miss the meat. I bought all ingredients pre-sliced/grated to cut down on prep time, but this recipe is worth the work in any event!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scribbler515 April 04, 2010

I've made this a couple of times, and it's really versatile. I don't care for cooked spinach, so I chopped and stir fried some bok choy instead. I've made the sauce with carrots, red and green bell pepper, and shredded zucchini. This is a great way to hide veggies! For just two of us, I use a 10x7 casserole dish and cook it in my toaster oven. This takes only 6 lasagna noodles, but it freezes well and is easy to double, one for now and one for later. DH loves it, a great addition to our meatless menu.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anne in apex September 29, 2007

I made this following the directions exactly (except that I don't cook Lasagna noodles, I just cover with foil and they cook themselves) and I HATED it. My husband said it was okay, not awful like I said, but not good either. For me there was way too much tomato. I love a good sauce and I love vegetables, but for some reason this just didn't do anything for me except make me nauseous. I ate a very small amount and just couldn't stomach it. Just way too much tomato. I was so very disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VaniV April 15, 2007

My boyfriend and I love this lasagna. The last time I made it, I added slices of zucchini and eggplant (I peeled and cooked the eggplant first and layered it on top of the spinach). I am a new cook, but this recipe has turned out perfectly for me every time. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chantal_low November 19, 2006

Rather low rating due to it being controversial in my house. I REALLY liked it, but my Husband didn't (wouldn't take it as left over). I did add a low fat smoked sausage to the veggie mix, which was good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephie Biggs February 17, 2005

I did not eat this when it was freshly prepared but have been eating it as leftovers for lunch. I don't know if reheating in the microwave is diminishing the flavor but I'm not thinking wow when I eat it. DH ate just out of the oven but he hasn't had any since which is unusual. To my taste, the dish is bland. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnetteMarie August 06, 2004

Definitely flavorful. I halved the recipe since I don't usually like left overs and used more cheese than called for because cheese is one of my favorite things to eat. The sauce was very thick; next time, I'll use more sauce and less paste for a thinner sauce. My DH and his friend said it was delicious, so thanks for the recipe, Nurse Di!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
huberville June 11, 2004
Vegetable Lasagna