Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetable Kugel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetable Kugel

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 21, 2012

      The house smelled so good while cooking this veggies.
      I don't have Matzo meal, so I used bread crumbs instead .
      Also used some fresh basil instead of dry.
      We are only 2 so I had plenty of leftovers that we eat the next day covered with Bechamel Sauce.
      Really good both ways.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      The original source of this recipe comes from Noreene Gilletz in MeanLeaniYumm. I thought the basil was a little strong and I added 4 eggs instead of 3 eggs. Next time I will replace the matzoh meal with flour or breadcrumbs and omit the basil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      I love spinach & kugels, so this was a great recipe for me. I did make a few changes. I don't like celery or red pepper, so I left both out. I also cut the recipe in half, but didn't cut the spinach in half since I like spinach so much. I used 2 eggs instead of 2 eggs & 2 egg whites (since I was halving the recipe). It turned out more of a spinach casserole than a mix of veggies, but I thought it was great. Next time I'll try regular bread crumbs instead of the matzo meal unless I'm making this for Passover because I tend to like the flavor of bread crumbs better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      I followed the directions to the letter (with the exception of using oat bran in place of matzo meal) and this recipe made a tasty dinner. However, I felt that it may have needed another egg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      This was good, but I would have liked more eggs in it. Oh – and maybe some shredded cheese on top. I added a small handful of fresh garlic cloves to the first set of veggies that were cooking. I think that was a good addition. I will probably add more next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      I halved the quantities for an excellent vegetarian main dish for 2. The result was an amazingly light and tasty 'bake'. I'm afraid I couldn't find matzo meal so had to use bread crumbs (listed in Zaar's Kitchen Dictionary a substitution) instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2005

      Made this without the mushrooms and like bluemoon downunder I substituted wheat germ for the matzo meal as I already had some in the fridge. Really enjoyed this dish; it was on the mild side but very pleasing, much like a vegetable omelet. Oh, and I also resisted the urge to add some cheese! Very good for you too, low calorie and packed with vitamins A & C.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2005

      Excellent! I have also tried it with cheese and it is even better! My husband loved this, thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2005

      I doubled the recipe and used 6 cloves of garlic rather than garlic powder, and wheat germ instead of matzo meal. The combination of vegetables was absolutely superb. I had a couple of handfuls of baby spinach that were too wilted to eat fresh but fine for cooking so I threw them in as well, making the dish even more spinach-flavoured which I was happy about because I love spinach. I also added some finely sliced potatoes (two potatoes) which I brushed lightly with olive oil and sprinkled with herbs – oregano, basil, marjoram and thyme – baked in the oven on a tray until they were just cooked and slightly browned. That added a tad more oil to the recipe, but not much. I was trying to keep this as a low-fat dish, and not undo all toni’s excellent work! I added the salt and freshly ground pepper and the basil to the beaten eggs; it was the easiest way to get them mixed well through the vegetables. A great dish, which everyone enjoyed, and I have several portions wrapped in foil (after it had cooled completely) in the freezer. Thanks, toni!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2005

      This is a nice vegetable dish that is packed full of flavor. It is low in fat and calories a great way to add extra vegetables to your diet minus all the carbs. I did not have matzo meal but used oat bran without a problem. Thanks toni for a wonderful dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2005

      Toni - what a wonderful recipe! I made this to the directions (ignored the urge to add a handful of cheese). I would never have believed that a low fat recipe could be so delicious. I'm so happy to say that my kids enjoyed this as well - they are so fussy when it comes to vegetable dishes - I'm always happy to find something healthy that they will actually eat. Thanks toni for a yummy, healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetable Kugel

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.3
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    33%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 93.0 mg
    31%
    Sodium 311.3 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    22%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 10.4 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes