Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetable Korma Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetable Korma

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2010

      This was a pleasant korma, very much like my usual korma recipe, which I like because its predominant flavors are cardamom and a mild nutty. I probably won't make this again, just because I like my usual recipe a little better and they are so similar, but I certainly recommend giving this one a try if you're looking for a good korma.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      I was pretty worried during the cooking process. First of all, the color was horrendous - pea green. Taste was awful, like . . . vegetation of some sort. At the end had to improvise to get the brownish color of the veg korma's loved by my husband. Used 2 small potatoes, frozen mixed vegetables (about 2 cups). Added 1 large tomato, blended into a puree. Added 1/2 teaspoon turmeric and 1 teaspoon garam masala. When adding the onion puree fry for a good couple minutes, it will help get rid off the "earthy" taste. For the same reason, simmer this for at least 15-20 minutes. Had to add about a cup of water (not 1/3 cup) and it simmered down to the correct consistency. Didn't have yogurt so added about a 1/2 cup of heavy cream which I stirred in at the end. Thankful it turned out in the end. Taste was pretty good (my husband liked it) but I'm only giving it 3 stars because of the changes I had to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      I love Korma from our local Indian restaurant and this came very close to that flavor. The recipe is very easy to prepare and the result is creamy and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and was quite pleased.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      Wonderful flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      This is good -my so LOVED it- but it did require a little doctoring for my taste. I added about 1/4 tsp tamarind, a squeeze of lemon and about a TBSP of Agave nectar. Also, I turned the heat off before I added the yogurt but it still separated a little -which doesn't change the taste - just makes it ugly. I read that you can put cornstarch in the yogurt and it won't separate. I'll try that next time. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      WOW. As far as korma sauce goes, this was IT. Three major modifications I used: 1) chicken instead of vegetables, 2) one can coconut milk instead of yogurt, 3) and added 1.5 Tbsp of sugar which totally made it like my korma from my favorite Indian restaurants. I also used a mix of almonds and pine nuts and didn't add any water. I let it simmer for a while which made the sauce so thick and flavorful. My guests and I were blown away! Definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      I did not like this. Correction: I did not like this that much. Maybe it could be because I used canned vegetables. To improve the taste, I used a bit more of cumin powder, a added a bit of turmeric powder, a little bit parsley flakes, and a little curry powder. After the addition of all of the above, it tasted good. I would not risk making this again, atleast not using this recipes. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      This is a hit! I served this to the 23 women in our family on a Girls Only beach weekend and everyone loved it. I used a big assortment of vegetables: mushrooms, red, green and yellow bell peppers, broccoli, red potatoes, carrots, zucchini yellow squash, aparagus. I also used ghee. I do agree that it needs some salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      Made this tonight using potatoes, cauliflower, green beans, peas, and zucchini. I used a small piece of cubanelle pepper for the paste and probably wouldn't do that again since the taste didn't really mesh. I parboiled the potatoes and cauliflower, but still had to fry them for quite a while to get them even close to soft - added 1/2 cup of water in two additions through the frying. I also added 3/4 tsp salt. Will make this again and try different veggies as well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      This came out very well....thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

    • on March 03, 2008

      Really good. Perfect amount of spice for me. I used mixed Indian spices which were given to me by my BF's mother, I don't know what all of them are called but one is garam masala. So I used those in place of the 5 Cs. For veggies I used a red pepper, a zucchini, and some cut up baby carrots. I didn't have cashews or pine nuts so I used a mixture of peanuts and walnuts. I also added about 1/2c of canned lentils. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      I read the reviews, and precooked the potatoes and carrots in the microwave for a few minutes. I also covered the pan and that shortened the cooking time to about 20 minutes total. I used potatoes, carrots, zucchini, mushrooms and red bell pepper. My one complaint about the recipe was that no amount was given for the veggies. I used about 6 cups, I'm guessing. Enough to fill a very large frying pan. Also, the nuts in the food processor never came close to being a paste - more like a powder. And as I was writing this I realized I forgot the cilantro! Oh well, it was good without it. I served it over basmati rice. It did need some salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      We tried this for dinner tonight. While it was good, I'm not assigning stars because I think the fact that I made it with chicken as well as vegetables may have altered it too much. I was a little concerned that the chicken would need more spice, but I used the amounts given. It did seem a little mild. My biggest concern is that the color was quite greyish, and the browned meat may have added to this. Or it may simply be that I'm used to curries made with turmeric. So, the flavor is mild, but by no means unpleasant, and the color is not very appetizing. Since I did not follow the recipe I can only blame myself. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2006

      I added potatoes, peas, cauliflower, and 1/2 bell pepper to this recipe. I couldn't really fry the potatoes for a while like the recipe suggested because the paste was very dry and sticking to the pan. I ended up cooking the vegetables in the milk/yogurt liquid for a very long time because the potatoes took quite a long time to become tender. I omitted pine nuts because I didn't have any, and only used ground cashews. It did taste good, but the cooking time was longer than anticipated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2006

      This was fantastic, it rivals the korma at our favourite Indian place! The parents and I all had seconds :) I used green peas, carrots, yam, broccoli, and mushrooms for the veggies and, as I'm vegan, soy yoghurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2006

      This is a fantastic tasting korma. I have made it a couple of times for friends and it always gets devoured. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      We enjoyed this very much. For the vegetables, I used a combination of green beans, potato, winter squash (butternut pumpkin), red bell pepper, cauliflower and mushrooms, and I used both cashew nuts and pine nuts. I added more water than the recipe specified to enable the vegetables to cook, and near the end I added a half cup of yoghurt and a half cup of coconut cream, in place of all yoghurt. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2004

      I agree 100% with the earlier reviewer of this recipe. This Korma is simply fabulous and out of this world! Tonight I was in the mood to make something different from the usual vegetarian dishes and that's when I stumbled upon this recipe in my cookbook. I knew I had to make it rightaway alongwith Jeera{cumin seed} rice:) I did and my house smelt heavenly while the onion-ginger-garlic paste mixed with the spices was cooking {step 5 of this recipe}. I did not have cerrano green chillies on hand since we do not use serrano chillies in our daily cooking, so I used just plain good ordinary Indian green chillies instead to suit our taste. I used 2 tsps. of salt for this recipe. Also, I'd like to mention that I used 1 small sized onion to make paste and 1 small-sized onion to stir-fry before adding the paste to it in the pot. As for the vegetables, I used 1 large green bell pepper, 2 medium-sized carrots and 2 1/2 cups of defrosted greenpeas. I'm so glad I could put the cashewnuts I had on hand to some good use tonight;-) I did not have pine nuts on hand{cos I'm not too fond of them}, so I substituted those with cashewnuts. Thank you ever so much for this recipe! I just can't wait to make this for my mom and dad when they join my bro. and me here in Orlando, FL in June! This one is a KEEPER and deserves an A! UPDATE: I made this for dinner tonight and my DAD simply loved it! Thank you once again:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2004

      This is fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetable Korma

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 143.0
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    73%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 5.3 mg
    1%
    Sodium 41.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ginger

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes