Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetable Gumbo (Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetable Gumbo (Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2011

      This recipe is more like a 3.5 star. I love gumbo but this was lacking the "gumbo" flavor that I am use to. Maybe it is the lack of meat. I also thought it could use a little bit more seasoning, the flavor seemed a little bland. But that could be because of the slow cooker. I did like this as a nice vegetable soup. It was really simple, quick and easy. Next time I will cut back on the okra and use 1 cup, since I am not a okra fan.

      I will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      Wonderful! I did add meat (chicken) and scallops (the only frozen seafood I had) and it turned out great. Added much more Louisiana Hot Sauce as we like it spicy. Will definitely make again. Thanks! Update - made again, this time used scallops and some leftover venison roast. Delicious, again. Used 1 T Franks hot sauce and more okra, brown rice. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2010

      Delicious!! My husband really enjoyed this! I was so worried because the last two attempts at feeding him okra were disasterous. I was on a mission to make a successful okra dish because he is from the south & has never eaten it!!!!!! We didn't have regular tabasco so I used the chipotle flavored & used A LOT!!!!! He loves hot sauce so I wasn't shy at all :D I also added in sliced carrots (probably not traditional in a gumbo) but I wanted extra veggies & he really enjoyed it. Thank so much for an easy one dish meal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      We really were hoping to like this better than we did. It needed a bit more zing for us. Next time I'd think about some chili powder and would double the okra.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      Really delicious and quite easy. I used quick cook brown rice, so I put it in later than the recipe said, and it worked out fine. DH loved it---looking forward to the leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

    • on August 02, 2008

      Delicious! This was my first time cooking or trying gumbo, so I invited my friend from Louisiana to help my family eat it and tell me if it tasted right. He as well as the rest of us LOVED this gumbo! I had a tiny problem with the timing of the crockpot, but I think it might be the crockpot and not the recipe because after 7 hours of slow cooking nothing looked even close to cooked so I had to simmer it in a pan covered for about 20 minutes, add the okra, pepper, etc. and then cover and cook the additional 20 minutes. It was just enough food for the 5 of us. I wish I had gotten a picture of it, but everyone was eating it up so fast. ;) I will be making this again though next time I think I will double the recipe next time if I have anyone joining us. Thanks ellie! Made for Vegetarian Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      I made this one using dried okra. Worked out just fine, and added a perfect chewy texture. Definitively delicious with some salt and a dash of hot red chillipower.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      This has become a family favorite. I brought a batch to a baby shower, and there were not any leftovers. Sometimes I add a few chicken breasts. I find that the rice cooks better if I add the tomatoes with the paprika and lemon juice instead of right away. I throw in frozen okra about two hours before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      I had this for dinner tonight with some fresh homemade bread. It's hearty and satisfying while being healthy. I loved crunching the peppercorns! this soup is a great mix of flavors from things I usually keep on hand. I have baby okra and didn't bother to slice them and used a red pepper as that is what I had. The lemon really sets everything off to very good effect and I wouldn't slack on it. I didn't need to add any salt as I used prepared veggie stock. Thanks ellie for a great keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetable Gumbo (Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 136.6
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    21%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 46.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes