Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetable Coleslaw (Barefoot Contessa) Ina Garten Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetable Coleslaw (Barefoot Contessa) Ina Garten

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on September 06, 2010

      Was looking for a recipe that used red cabbage, but was a bit disappointed with the flavors in this one. Did not have celery salt, but added ground celery seed. More mayo than necessary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      Very good flavors. I used only half the amount of dressing in proportion to the cabbage as called for, and just about half the sugar, and less carrot, because I prefer slaw more crunchy than creamy, and not much sweet. Really pretty on a plate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      I had the ingredients for the dressing when I discovered my friend had already made coleslaw for the BBQ, so I made it as a potato salad and it was divine! DD can't stop eating it. I can't wait to try it with the cabbages etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      *Reviewed for Aussie Forum Recipe Swap August 09* THis is great coleslaw. I made the quantities as outlined in the recipe and this makes a huge party-sized bowl of yummy coleslaw. I wasn't sure about the celery salt and celery seeds....but they made a great addition. I used a gluten-free coleslaw to make this suitable to my gf diet and added in a squeeze of lemon juice. Totally loved it. Photos also being posted :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      I omitted the celery salt, seeds, salt and pepper. I added a little bit of sweet relish cause we wanted it more sweet. This is a great coleslaw. Thanks Barbry :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      This is great coleslaw! I used only white cabbage and really enjoyed the carrots. The dressing was great - not sweet and I enjoyed the dijon flavor. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      ummmm I cheated! I bought the vegetables already shredded, and I also had a little diced capsicum and red onion left from another recipe I was making so I added these, (waste not want not), but followed the rest of the recipe exactly! What a wonderful coleslaw. Very creamy and wonderful flavours. I especially loved the mustard in the dressing. The family really enjoyed this recipe and I will be making it again. Thanks for a great recipe BarbryT, this family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Yum! I love cole slaw and really enjoyed this. I didn't have red cabbage(( forgot to get it at the store), so used all green. Loved the mustard in it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      Best coleslaw recipe I have found. I leave out the red cabbage as it tends to "blled" in the leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      This was a very colorful and healthy salad, although I did feel it was a bit heavy on the carrot. I made exactly as stated, and agree with Derf that the dressing was a bit of a disappointment. It may seem like a ton of mayo but it really wasn't too much for the amount of veggies. It did taste way too much like just mayo even after chilling for a couple of hours. If I can offer suggestions it would be to cut back on the mayo, add more vinegar, omit the celery salt, cut the celery seed by half, and add about 1/2 cup minced red onion or scallion (a mild tasting onion of any kind) to add a little depth and character, and a little bit of pepper to give a little bite. Otherwise I do understand how this could be a favorite just as is for many, since there are different schools of thought on cole slaw. But for those who follow the directions and still want more, I hope my suggestions are helpful. Thanks so much for posting. Made for Australia/NZ recipe swap. ~Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      Very good slaw. . .creamy, a tad tangy and a tad sweet. I added 1 tsp onion flakes (personal preference). Left out the celery salt. A keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      Just how I like coleslaw to taste! Creamy and tangy. The mustard really doesn't overpower the flavor. I added some chopped onion and left out the celery salt. I think the celery seeds were plenty. This is a keeper. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      I used a bag (1 lb) of white, red cabbage with carrots to this I added 2 green onions & 1 jalapeno pepper minced. I do not carry celery salt so only the seeds were used. I was concerned that the dressing would be to sweet for my taste but it was not. This is a very good recipe & I plan on making it again. Thank you BarbryT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      Nice soleslaw, it went well with our chicken tonight. Not quite sure about the dressing, it was ok but sorry not our favourite. We felt the celery salt and seeds were a bit overkill. I would make it again but probably leave out the celery salt or the kosher salt. It was a lovely colourful slaw, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      I made this for dinner last night and it was great. The dressing is tart and full of flavor. I used a bag of shredded green cabbage and added shredded purple cabbage and shredded carrots. It was very simple to put together and the cabbage softened up nicely after a few hours in the fridge. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetable Coleslaw (Barefoot Contessa) Ina Garten

    Serving Size: 1 (168 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 285.9
     
    Calories from Fat 181
    63%
    Total Fat 20.2 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 663.2 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.5 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 11.0 g
    44%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites