9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good soup! Followed recipe mostly as it called, except didn't have fresh green beans, used 1 can green beans. You must cook on high for at least 7 hours to get all veggies cooked through and soft, and you must cook on high. Served these with grilled cheeses, and the whole family of 5 thouroughly enjoyed!! This recipe is in my cook book to stay.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jope13 September 06, 2011

It's cooking in the crockpot now. I put it on high because I want it in about 5 hrs. We'll see. Til then I tasted the broth and its fabulous. I made a few changes out of necessity: instead of 3 cups of water I used 2 c. College Inn bold tender beef stock(it was facing an outdate) and 1 c. Water in place of 4 bullion cubes and 3 c. Water, home canned qt. tomatoes, and my crockpot is so full that I didn't have room for the tomato soup and 1can water. I'm pretty sure my crockpot is 6 qts. Can't wait til 6:00 to try it. More later

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurelsedlacko January 07, 2013

tastes great! I read the reviews that said to cook on high for a minimum of 8hrs. I followed what everyone was saying and I came home to an almost dry crock! I did add more water and crushed tomatoes and it turned out very tasty. So my only correction for some would be to cook on low for 8hrs instead of high. Maybe it depends on the crock. Will be trying this again because it is delicious just putting it on low next time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber K. April 05, 2014

I made this yesterday and it is delicious! I couldn't find crushed tomatoes so used petite diced. I also used Beef Broth instead of bouillon, to decrease the salt. And added some Emeril Bam! because I wanted a little kick. Since chuck roast was on sale for $1 per pound less than stew beef, I cut up the roast. Next time, and there will be a next time, I will brown the meat first to decrease the amount of fat I have to skim. And I may add a bit more worcestershire and Bam! I took it to my book club - they loved it. My husband ate 2 bowls last night and we had it for lunch again today. I have 4 containers in the fridge that will be lunches this week. It is a rich broth and very thick and chunky. Exactly what I was looking for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sally Eilersen January 26, 2014

I love making soups and stews in the crockpot. I used beef broth in place of the water and bouillion to reduce the sodium content. I also felt that it needed more seasoning so I added italian seasoning and some red pepper flakes. We really enjoyed the soup and I'll be making it again. Thanks for posting the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DesertRose15 January 24, 2014

This soup is the best I ever had. Decided to try it, looking for "grandma's soup" taste, and it far surpassed my expectations. Everyone in the house loved it and I just made a second crock in a week. This will be my in my recipe collection for years to come!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth M. December 20, 2013

Delicious! Best vegetable beef soup I ever had - even beats my mom's! Shhhhh! I used regular potatoes rather than red and I probably added a little more worcestshire (sp) sauce than it called for. The can of tomato soup made it extra tangy. Cooked on high for 8 hours. Meat was perfectly tender. Batch was HUGE for just me and my man. You could half the recipe and it would be enough for 4 people easily. Absolutely going to make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jcox713_12474993 November 06, 2013

This was the best soup!!! I followed the recipe as it called for, except I had to use tomato sauce with a little ketchup. I was worried about the taste and it tasted great.. My husband said this was the best beef veg I have ever made. That was something coming from him. All I can say that this was great. I am putting in this soup recipe and taking out my mom's. Sorry mom.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Wooliver February 20, 2013

thank you thank you thank you!!!!!! i have been waiting for a good home cooked recipe of vegetable beef... and i have found it!!!! lol WOW but i did add a teaspoon of garlic, an extra bayleaf, and one extra table spoon of worechester sauce!! amazing still i think you have the basis of an extraordinary soup!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jminterdso August 03, 2012
Vegetable Beef Soup (Crockpot)