29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I chose this for the ZWT game, it's a wonderful hearty soup with lots of flavor, I made mine on top of the stove and sauteed onions and garlic before adding in the other ingredients, I used beef broth in place of water and omitted the boulllon cubes, thanks for sharing Paula!...Kitten

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz July 01, 2006

Delicious! I cut the recipe in half and used fesh vegetables cut into chunks (carrots, celery, a leftover zucchini, some garlic and a few green beans). Wonderful. I did use beef broth for the water and bouillon. Served with Kittencal's Parmesan Garlic Bread or Garlic Toast#105726 and we had a great meal. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup ~ Jan-June 2013.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf May 20, 2013

I truly enjoyed this recipe!!! Up until this point I've had a hard time finding a really good crockpot soup. This one was great. The flavour was really good!! I used ground beef & fried the onions & beef before putting it in the crockpot with all the other ingrediants. For vegies, I used frozen peas & corn. Cut up fresh carrots & parsley. Next time I'll add finely chopped potatoes & some kale chopped fine as well. DELICIOUS!!! Done in exactly 8 hours....We loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
um-um-good April 21, 2009

Made this and the family loved it. I used 2 pounds of beef stew and used a red pepper instead of the green. I did add a touch of basil and it was a great vegetable soup on a chilly day. Thanks paula for a great soup recipe that will be used again. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
faith58 November 19, 2008

Delicious and the house smelled so good when I walked in the door! I made a few changes based on what was on hand by using1 whole red bell pepper, one onion, 2 bouillion cubes, 4 chopped tomatoes (instead of canned tomatoes) and 1 (12 oz) can vegetable juice (sort-of like V-8), a 16 oz can of tomatoe sauce (instead of the 8-oz can specified)--still with all these changes this was absolutely wonderful! I am bringing some to work tomorrow for a wonderful hot lunch! Thanks for sharing this keeper which we will be having often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ February 07, 2006

This was exactly what I was hoping for! So good! I like the garlic in it! Made for CQ 2014

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 August 14, 2014

Wonderful soup! I cooked mine overnight in the crockpot and woke up to a delicious aroma. The flavor is great. I love the barley and veggies (I used a frozen soup veggie mix). Next time I will add another cup or so of water as my soup came out thick. Thanks, Paula, for a wonderful, warming recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood September 20, 2011

I love this soup and it was so EASY! I only omitted the bell pepper due to personal tastes, and it was wonderful on a cold night. I served it with #267632 from my bread machine. I trimmed and cut up a chuck roast to use as the meat and what a difference it made No more stew beef for my soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny Frenny January 27, 2011

I can't say anything bad about this soup! Delicious! I bought diced tomatoes that had green peppers, celery and onion in it, but I still added the recipe amount. I used 2 cans of diced potatoes and two bags of frozen veggies. I've always wanted to find a good beef/veg/barley soup recipe and this is it! Look no further for a yummy and easy recipe! Thanks for posting it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Linda of Louisville January 12, 2011

I too cannot believe that I had forgotten to review this recipe. I have had it several times myself although I do it on the stove top vs a slow cooker. Basically brown the meat in a little vegetable oil then add all ingredients while waiting impatiently to enjoy it. It is such a comfort soup. Thanks for posting it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KingJackQueen January 11, 2011
Vegetable-Beef Barley Soup (Crock Pot)