Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetable-Beef Barley Soup (Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetable-Beef Barley Soup (Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on July 01, 2006

      I chose this for the ZWT game, it's a wonderful hearty soup with lots of flavor, I made mine on top of the stove and sauteed onions and garlic before adding in the other ingredients, I used beef broth in place of water and omitted the boulllon cubes, thanks for sharing Paula!...Kitten

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2013

      Delicious! I cut the recipe in half and used fesh vegetables cut into chunks (carrots, celery, a leftover zucchini, some garlic and a few green beans). Wonderful. I did use beef broth for the water and bouillon. Served with Kittencal's Parmesan Garlic Bread or Garlic Toast#105726 and we had a great meal. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup ~ Jan-June 2013.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      I truly enjoyed this recipe!!! Up until this point I've had a hard time finding a really good crockpot soup. This one was great. The flavour was really good!! I used ground beef & fried the onions & beef before putting it in the crockpot with all the other ingrediants. For vegies, I used frozen peas & corn. Cut up fresh carrots & parsley. Next time I'll add finely chopped potatoes & some kale chopped fine as well. DELICIOUS!!! Done in exactly 8 hours....We loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      Made this and the family loved it. I used 2 pounds of beef stew and used a red pepper instead of the green. I did add a touch of basil and it was a great vegetable soup on a chilly day. Thanks paula for a great soup recipe that will be used again. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2006

      Delicious and the house smelled so good when I walked in the door! I made a few changes based on what was on hand by using1 whole red bell pepper, one onion, 2 bouillion cubes, 4 chopped tomatoes (instead of canned tomatoes) and 1 (12 oz) can vegetable juice (sort-of like V-8), a 16 oz can of tomatoe sauce (instead of the 8-oz can specified)--still with all these changes this was absolutely wonderful! I am bringing some to work tomorrow for a wonderful hot lunch! Thanks for sharing this keeper which we will be having often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2014

      This was exactly what I was hoping for! So good! I like the garlic in it! Made for CQ 2014

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2011

      Wonderful soup! I cooked mine overnight in the crockpot and woke up to a delicious aroma. The flavor is great. I love the barley and veggies (I used a frozen soup veggie mix). Next time I will add another cup or so of water as my soup came out thick. Thanks, Paula, for a wonderful, warming recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      I love this soup and it was so EASY! I only omitted the bell pepper due to personal tastes, and it was wonderful on a cold night. I served it with #267632 from my bread machine. I trimmed and cut up a chuck roast to use as the meat and what a difference it made No more stew beef for my soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      I can't say anything bad about this soup! Delicious! I bought diced tomatoes that had green peppers, celery and onion in it, but I still added the recipe amount. I used 2 cans of diced potatoes and two bags of frozen veggies. I've always wanted to find a good beef/veg/barley soup recipe and this is it! Look no further for a yummy and easy recipe! Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      I too cannot believe that I had forgotten to review this recipe. I have had it several times myself although I do it on the stove top vs a slow cooker. Basically brown the meat in a little vegetable oil then add all ingredients while waiting impatiently to enjoy it. It is such a comfort soup. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      I can't believe I forgot to review this! We've had it several times now and it is a hit each time! Thanks so much for posting this keeper, we enjoy it very much :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      This was very easy to make, but my family gave it a ho-hum response. I think it would benefit from additional seasoning. Maybe bay leaf, or more herbs? I used gumbo blend frozen vegetables, but would probably go with regular soup blend frozen veggies next time. Has potential for us, just need to adjust seasonings to our taste. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      This was a delicious, hearty soup. I loved the ease of preparation. Using frozen vegetables and canned tomatoes were a great time saver. I will being making this again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      Really good and easy. I skipped the green peppers (not a fan of them) otherwise made as directed and it turned out great. Will do again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      This was a quite good soup. I really am not found of veggie soup or barley, but this was good and quite simple to make. Only change I made was I substituted beef stock for the water and bouillon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      What a gem this soup is. Couldn't be any easier. Quick to prepare and the flavour is out of this world. The broth is actually creamy, without the addition of milk or cream. I'm not sure what I did differently (except add chili pepper flakes) but it got quite thick, to the point that I added an extra three cups of water!!! But who cares!!! The end result was 10 extremely generous servings of the nicest vegetable soup. Thanks PaulaG...another wonderful recipe. Made for The 12 Days of Christmas Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      Great soup!!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      We love Vegetable-Beef and Barley Soup and this one exceptionally good. Other then using an equal amount of fresh vegetables I had in the fridge made as posted. That little can of tomato sauce added to both the flavor as well as to the taste. Had a very wet and chilly day here - just right for a great tasting supper soup. Right up there with that Chicken Soup of yours!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      Wonderful soup! First time I ever made a barley soup and it was great? Will be making this often..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      Great hearty soup, for a cold winter day. I substituted the boulion for 32oz container of beef broth. To spice it up a bit, I used a pinch or two of red pepper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetable-Beef Barley Soup (Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (315 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 233.6
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    33%
    Total Fat 8.6 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 49.7 mg
    16%
    Sodium 424.6 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 18.5 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites