Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetable Appetizer Squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetable Appetizer Squares

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on December 30, 2008

      I made these for a holiday open house and they were a HUGE hit! Serve warm...once they're cold they not as yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      I also did a trial run on this recipe for my holiday get togethers coming up soon, I made as stated this time, but next time I might omit the carrot and do a couple minor amount adjustments, I might add in some cooked spinach too, this was really a great appy Elly, thanks for sharing hon!...Kitten:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      Instead of appetizer, served as side dish with grilled chicken. Guests said it was like a vegetable quiche. Kids ate it, too. Will definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2014

      This is a wonderful recipe, thanks for sharing. I added chopped broccoli, because we like it and it is good for you. Also, I made it with gluten free king arthur flour, because my daughter needs gf flour. Thanks again, it is delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      These are a yummy way to use zuchinni from the garden. I usually spice mine up a little more. My DS loves them cold as a snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2012

      Made it as a side dish for a pot luck- everyone really enjoyed the flavors! I only had a cheese grater so the squash (no zucchini) and carrot were very well ground into the mix (which helped the consistency). To round out the proportions, I added a bag of spinach steamed for 10 minutes and it fit in perfectly. Next time may increase the amount of parmesan, but everything else was perfect. Also worth noting: YES Sriracha sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2012

      This was a very good zucchini appetizer. I served it with the sour cream that has chives in it. Really good! Thanks for posting this lovely recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      I don't know what I did, but these were really bland for us. I followed the recipe to a T, including adding a bit more chopped garlic than the recipe stated and they were bland. Really bland. I guess I can tweak them to be more flavourful. I tasted the first one then called Hubby and he said they were OK. Maybe less flour? I don't know. I think the recipe is definitely one I can tweak. I am still going to serve it tomorrow to my friends coming for Thanksgiving dinner to see their suggestion on what it's missing for our taste. I triple checked the recipe and didn't miss a thing, so I don't know what it is, but these were just very tasteless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2010

      Tasty way to use up some zucchini that needed eating! I actually mixed zucchini and squash and made a half recipe. It turned out really well. Different way to get in some vegetables. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      These are excellent. Followed the recipe exactly and really enjoyed the taste. Leftovers make a great breakfast slice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      Well I accidentally put the cheddar in the mix so I don’t know if that affected the texture because it was a bit on the wet side or maybe I should have cooked it longer? I squeezed the liquid out of the zucchini really well. Maybe next time I'll try bisquick in place of flour...? All being said, the flavors were very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      Another great recipe for toting to a potluck. Easy and yummy, popular with a crowd. I used 1/8 cup melted butter, more seemed like so much. I added 1/2 cup grated aged cheddar to the batter as well as the 1/2 cup sprinkled on top. Thanks for posting, Elly in Canada!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      Australian/New Zealand recipe swap March 2008. These were so yummy, even the non zuchhini lovers tried and liked them. Great appetizer's for a party of just to serve for a light lunch, either way would be fantastic. I served these with a onion dip made of sour cream and they went so well together. They look so great and colourful served on a platter. Will be making these again Elly. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      Really great appetizer! Made these for a baby shower and they were one of the items that people were talking about. I had several requests for the recipe! I think next time I make them, I'll add some broccoli - think it would add a great flavor! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Elly, Zucchini?? =0...Who knew!!??..lol I made these for a family (all 35 of us...lol) Chrismas party. Although the tables was loaded with all types of wonderful food, these were the first to go. The layers of subtle flavors in these little hummers really come through . A keeper for sure!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      Very tasty. This went over well at my Halloween party. Very few left over. It smelled great cooking, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      Wonderful! I added cooked spinach & doubled the hot pepper sauce. Someone commented that they did not like the carrots, so I blanched them to make them softer--worked great! You could probably add whatever left-over raw veggies are in your fridge. The sour cream & chives are perfect on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      Delicious!! We loved this! I added some more veggies like some snap peas(diced up) and a small can of veg-all veggies and some monterey jack cheese along with the cheddar on top. Wonderful flavor! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      Wow!!! I tweaked the recipe a bit...as usual lol. I never follow a recipe exactly but rather use it as a baseline to adapt my family's taste to. We love veggies so I added corn, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, beans for fiber and of course the main star zucchini!! I also added fat free cheese and a lot of it nd 5 eggs instead of 4 along wth a lot of other herbs for flavor and let me tell you this recipe is a keeper!! It has an amazing flavor and filled my kitchen with a smell that my husband came home wanting some of these squares for!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      This didn't turn out quite the way I expected. I don't really like Zucchini, but this was very good. I had envisioned it as a "pick it up and walk around with it" appetizer, but mine was rather moist and did better on a plate with a fork. It set up very well be the next day - remained moist after Microwaved, in fact was better the second and third day then right out of the oven. It is definately a redo/keeper. BDavis, Hudson FL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetable Appetizer Squares

    Serving Size: 1 (1110 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 26.6
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    51%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 14.6 mg
    4%
    Sodium 37.9 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites