Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegemite on Toast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegemite on Toast

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on May 03, 2011

      How clever of you to submit this as a recipe! Yum! I've loved vegemite since I was a kid (of course) but I have to admit that I spread about six times the amount you show - but then, I eat it by the spoonful (or off the spreading knife, lol).
      NO comparison with marmite or promite though, please! Neither are nearly as good! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      OH MY GOD! Never ate Vegemite before today and I'm hooked after one bite. Did add some mild cheddar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      Whilst I was brought up on this breakfast (along with milo) I have found in later years - having lived in the Irish land of beer and guinness - that it is a fantastic hangover cure-all. It has the protein needed for energy, the B vitamins to perk you up (if only for a short time, but at least long enough to realise you haven't died and gone to hell) and its usually spread on carbs which will emit energy over the next couple of hours. Hallelujah vegemite!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2012

      Vegemite can be smeared all over a leg of lamb for a beautiful flavour, add some garlic pieces into the meat as well,pepper and salt.
      good tucker

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      Yummy! I loved this! I liked vegemite on toast, but it tastes even more delicious on some butter...I don't know if I'll make this a habit because it's not as healthy for me, but it was still a treat. ;) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      Great recipe.. but even better if it is marmite on vogels bread with thickly sliced avocado.. yummm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      My employee brought this in one day and told me I had to try it. I'm from Rhode Island and have never tried anything like this before and nor will I ever. You must require a taste for this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      Yum! I really enjoyed this toast spread very thinly with marmite, which is very similar to vegemite. Thank you! Made for the Australian Make my Recipe game!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      Vegemite is a staple in our house. Can't be without it! Another method is to try vegemite and mashed banana. yum!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      Total comfort food and one that I have used on more than one occasion as a hangover cure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      Use loads of real butter on piping hot toast and then a smear of vegemite and you'll think you've gone to heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      Yep you can't beat the old faithful vegemite, I eat it nearly every day, I also love Promite. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      I love vegemite toast and used to suffer withdrawal symptoms if I ran out while I was living in the UK while I waited for mum to post another jar over! Perfect for breakfast, morning tea, afternoon tea or as a snack before bed - in fact, any time at all when you crave something savoury. Very very tasty and very good for you (especially if you're a beer lover)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      Was searching around for something to have for breakfast... and as an Aussie having beeen brought up on vegemite on toast, i havent had it in a little while... when i saw the pic above me i knew i had to make some !! every bit as good as i remembered and thankyou so much for bringing back childhood memories :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      Made this as a late night snack tonight. I am lucky enough to be able to get vegemite in a little specialty shop, so it was no problem to find. I KNOW I used more than a 1/2 teaspoon of butter on my slice of toast> I smeared on a small amount of vegemite (this is powerful stuff!). It was lovely and savoury. The toast, warm and crisp on the outside, soft and buttery inside, smeared with the salty vegemite, was very good indeed (and perfect with a late night cup of tea).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      I am one of two Americans I know who love Vegemite. I even take a supply with me when I travel overseas. This is my breakfast five days a week. I usually add thinly sliced tasty cheese and good quality tomatoes -- and never bother with the grill. One of our French exchange students likes to add crumbled cooked bacon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      this is eaten 7 days a week in my household, if it is not for breakfast (sometimes we have cereal!!!!) my daughter has it for morning tea. We love our vegemite, we all adore our vegemite, it puts a rose in every cheek! I recommend not over toasting the bread and put the maragarine on ASAP

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      Just about my favourite breakfast! When we were overseas last year I didn't take any 'coz I figured that I could last 3 -4 weeks without it. Boy was I wrong!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      tops. but i like to cut the crust off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      I love marmite on toast more than Vegemite, although to a lot of the world they are the same thing. It's just great comfort food, especially if you sit in bed with a good book, a nice cuppa (cocoa for me) and some toast & marmite/vegemite. Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegemite on Toast

    Serving Size: 1 (53 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 150.9
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    21%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 299.2 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites