Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan Whole Wheat Banana Flax Waffles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Whole Wheat Banana Flax Waffles

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 02, 2009

      These are fabulous. I usually like anything AJO likes, and she's definitely right here. I feel stupid admiting it, but I didn't have any whole wheat flour in the house. I did use up all my flax, about 3/4 of a cup of it, and the rest was all white flour. I also may have used a tad more banana than called for. The kids and I ate them with a drizzle of chocolate sauce for a wonderful banana/chocolate combination. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2013

      Love this recipe! So tasty. I even added cocoa and made a chocolate version which was so tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2013

      I loved these! Just a hint of banana and a hit of nuttiness -- it was perfect. I substituted spelt for the whole wheat flour and it turned out great. It made about 12 on my waffle maker. A perfect amount for the four of us. I love that these are healthy and I love how these taste. My new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      I am not vegetarian and have tried many different waffle recipes. I love the flavor of these waffles! The banana flavor is mild, not overwhelming. I made the following changes: vanilla almond milk for soy milk, coconut oil for canola, and only 2 tablespoons of flax meal (since the meals thickens more than seeds would). Served with syrup and toasted pecans. I have a large Waring Belgian Waffle press (the kind you find in diners and hotel buffets) so the yield was only about 7 waffles. I would guess this recipe will feed about 6-8 people. I froze the extras and they reheated wonderfully in the toaster oven. Highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      I made a batch of these (using my VitaMix blender) this morning for myself and husband. My husband is a carnivore and I'm an ovo-lacto vegetarian, and I'm always trying to find ways to sneak healthier ingredients into a standard favorite recipe. This recipe fits the bill! My husband LOVED these waffles, as did I. However, I did make a substitution for the canola oil, which has been getting bad press lately. The 'new' healthy oil is now coconut oil . . .so I melted some coconut oil and used it in place of the canola oil. I also oiled the waffle iron with coconut oil. It lent a really nice light tropical flavor to these waffles. Bananas and coconuts go really well together! Also, I used almond milk instead of soy milk, which lends a bit of a nutty flavor as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      My husband loved these!! He likes his waffles extra crispy so we leave them on much longer and these crisped up perfectly. These are a definite staple in our household now. I made the whole amount and I'm freezing the leftovers between wax paper. I'll just pull them out and pop them in the toaster oven for a couple minutes. Thanks so much for this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      I went out and bought a Belgium Waffle Maker on the weekend and I am so happy I did. I like making these much better then using a fry pan and making pan cakes, they are less oily. I used coconut oil to grease my waffle maker because this oil doesn't go rancid when heated. These waffles were excellent. Light and so tasty. We put maple syrup on them but I am going to venture further afield and try other toppings. This recipe is excellent. Thank you for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Delish! These are easy and tasty and it uses ingredients I usually have on hand. I served this for our New Years brunch along with a home made quince syrup. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      This recipe uses common kitchen ingredients, so making a batch of these waffles on the fly for friends is easily managed. The flax seeds release their flavorful goodness in just the right amount, and they add to the success of this recipe. These are excellent vegan waffles!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Whole Wheat Banana Flax Waffles

    Serving Size: 1 (1382 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 165.2
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    31%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 238.0 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites