Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan, Wheat-Free Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan, Wheat-Free Brownies

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2011

      I used 1 cup honey instead of the 2 cups of sugars as well as brown rice flour. These were awesome, thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2011

      These are really good, even for a non vegan wheat eater. One tip: you need to whisk the rice flour fast or it gets really lumpy! My first batch were filled with little gummy lumps as a result. But they were still delicious! Also, I used regular white rice flour, not sweet white rice flour, so I don't know if that made a difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      I added dried cherries (which I rehydrated for juiciness) and roasted hazelnuts. I also used half raw caster sugar and half raw demerera. They were delicious. I was a bit worried when I saw the crispy top, but was delighted that the brownie had remained slightly fudgy in the middle. I cooked at 170 C in a fan assisted oven and reduced the cooking time by 5 mins. After removing from the oven and allowing to cool, I refrigerated overnight. They tasted even better the day after serving, so make lots to save! I'll definitely be making these again a.s.a.p!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

    • on November 11, 2008

      Turned out wonderful - chewy and chocolaty and yummy! Next time, I'll remove them from the pan before refrigerating them to keep them from sticking to the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Very good flavor. I liked the chewy texture. Next time I will add nuts. It took 50 minutes for these to bake. This was my first wheat free recipe I have ever made, I was very pleased. I did it for a friend who has wheat allergies. Wheat eaters won't know the difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      Excellent! My only change was that I added a little rice milk and a little extra water to the batter - mine was too dry to mix properly. (It may have been because I used raw (white) sugar.) I took these to a function and they were devoured! No one knew they were vegan/wheat free because they taste just like the real thing. One suggestion, for those who don't like a strong chocolate taste, replace the semi-sweet chips with milk chocolate. For me though, these were perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      Thank you!! I was searching everywhere for a Vegan, gluten free recipe and these were most excellent! Very chewy, moist, sweet and chocolatey. I like these better than my previous favourite brownies (the ones made with 4 eggs and 2 sticks of butter). Plus these are sooo much easier to make. I wanted to maximize the chocolate content, so instead of 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips, I used two 100g bars of bittersweet chocolate (Green & Black's 70% cocoa), coarsely chopped. This made slightly more than a cup, and gave the whole recipe a slightly higher cocoa content. I also used 2 teaspoons of vanilla. Mmmmm vanilla. I used a 13" x 9" pan and baked for 45 minutes at about 360 degrees (according to my oven thermometer).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan, Wheat-Free Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (61 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 274.9
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    16%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 217.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.9 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 42.2 g
    168%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegan butter

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites