32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I mixed together the tofu, and veggie mixture in a sauce pan and put it on spaghetti. It was delicious. :D

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
omJane May 23, 2010

This was fantastic! I was very impressed by the consistency of the tofu/soy mix and how much it resembled ricotta. The only thing I did differently was use whole wheat noodles, which I soaked first before baking. Consequently I also used different sauce to water amounts (according to the package), but it still turned out wonderfully. :)
UPDATE - I made this again with no-boil noodles, and the top noodles were a bit too crispy. Next time, I'll cover the dish with foil for the first 15 min.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marina K May 14, 2012

This was so scrumptious! I only made a half recipe, just in case it wasn't a hit, but now I wish I had just gone ahead and made the whole pan. I didn't use the zucchini or the mushrooms (forgot to get zucchini last time at the market and I don't like mushrooms), but added extra onions, carrots, and peppers. I also added crushed red pepper for a bit of heat and Field Roast's Veggie Italian Sausage (just one to a half recipe so probably around 2 for the full recipe) to the veggie mixture. Because I don't normally carry soy milk in the house, I used almond milk, but it didn't seem to make a difference and often doesn't in many recipes. I used brown rice lasagna noodles that went just perfectly with all the flavors. Just remember to cook the noodles for around 2 minutes less than the time on the package and lay them out on a plate or pan while preparing the layers or they get a little stuck together and harder to manage. I have never been that crazy about ricotta cheese in lasagna (even before my vegan lifestyle), but this tofu/spinach mixture was much lighter and tastier, in my opinion. I can imagine this will be the most delicious leftovers tomorrow:)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
molinda85 July 16, 2011

Tastes great!!. I added some hot peppers to spice it up a bit and the whole family liked it. I thought we might miss the cheese--not at all. This recipe is definitely a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momtallica January 01, 2011

I made this for my parents, brother and husband- who all eat meat. It got rave reviews! Everyone went in for seconds, and my husband even had thirds. Yum! I used whole wheat noodles and homemade sauce. The only issue I had was I had measured out 8 oz of noodles from a 14 oz box, and I was short a layer. So Next time I'll make the whole box.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
armack82 June 25, 2009

I thought this was very good. I did have to boil another box of pasta, though, because one box was not enough. I decided to leave out the carrots and to julienne the zucchini as well. It looked very pretty. I also added a little red wine to the veggie mixture. Thanks so much for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theAmateurPastryChef December 20, 2007

I was really back and forth on this with each bite. It is good and some bites were great. But at times the "ricotta" tasted and had a feel of faux ricotta. Edible but not something I will be eager to share.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timhammond April 21, 2014

This recipe is great on it's own. I have vegan friends and she is also gluten intolerant. I used this recipe and substituted 4 zucchini sliced with a cheese slicer instead of the pasta and it doesn't hurt this recipe one bit! Takes 30 minutes longer to cook though. I left out the other 2 zucchini from the veggie mixture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knowsmister November 22, 2013

Super!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saintswife August 25, 2013

Not only an excellent vegan lasagna.....it's the lasagna I prefer hands down over traditional! I used prego fresh mushroom sauce with a little honey to sweeten, mushrooms, zucchini , carrots, and arugula b/c it's what I had on hand.....deeeeelicious!<br/>I also used Barilla no cook lasagna noodles, and covered it while I cooked to be sure the noodles came out. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenmarsh02 April 04, 2013
Vegan Veggie Lasagna