20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Update: 2 days later this bread is still delicious, but as the flavors have developed I would definitely reduce the maple syrup even further. Next time I will add 3 TBS. Original review: This is the best banana bread recipe I've tried! It's very moist and flavorful. I reduced the maple syrup to 1/4 cup because I added some chocolate chips. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. Thanks for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peppergirl February 08, 2015

This is amazing! Wondered where the soy/almond milk was but took it on faith and followed the recipe since the maple syrup and banana provided plenty of moisture and it is delicious! The maple syrup gives it a rich flavour, I can't imagine replacing this beautiful flavour with agave as some reviewers have mentioned, but to each their own. Highly recommend and try the original version before you start making changes...it's perfect as is. Having said that, will have to make a chocolate chip, nut free version for my daughter's school lunches. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canuck133 May 12, 2014

made this recipes a few times, making adjustments as I usually do.
I used 2 cups of spelt flour (have also used soft whole wheat flour), 4 organic bananas instead of 3, 1/3 cup of Earth's Balance in place of the oil, only added 1/3 cup of organic cane sugar because I added a handful of semi-sweet chocolate chips, 1/3 cup of soymilk(have also used almond milk) and added 2 egg replacers .If I have them, I have also added organic walnuts Wow, this would be my favorite version yet- just mildly sweet and very moist and cake-like. It does not taste vegan at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pearlb January 16, 2013

I made a few substitutes as many have. One third cup of raw organic agave syrup instead of maple syrup, unrefined coconut oil instead of canola, and raisins instead of nuts. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkroad August 07, 2012

This bread is amazing. It is very soft and fluffy. The texture is between a rice and wheat bread. Loved it. I replaced the canola for olive oil, and used walnuts. The result was amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pita103 June 25, 2012

I used half tsp. vanilla, and walnuts instead of pecans. Turned out well. I have made it both ways with either honey or maple syrup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Furyhecla January 29, 2012

Wonderful bread! The maple syrup allows for such a fluffy batter and finished product. My family loves this! Sometimes I add in chocolate chips or cranberries and bake in muffin tins. This morning I was out of bananas and improvised with 1 cup of applesauce in place of the banana. I added a few chocolate chips and the muffins were excellent! My son can't have regular wheat, oat or corn products, so this recipe has been very popular at our house. Thanks for positing it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
promise2mk September 14, 2011

I made this Bread for my employers, it was a hit, I am not a banana bread eater, but I fine this bread to be very enjoyable. My employer ask for it to be made very often. A bread for the whle family and great serve with tea. I love it love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ahgc47 May 07, 2011

This was yummy! I didn't have spelt flour and although I was a little hesitant to make it without it, I went ahead in faith and just used the whole wheat flour I already had. Worked just fine! I only had about half a cup of walnuts and used those in the mixture. This was very easy to make. I'm wondering though, how much vanilla is suppose to go in? It wasn't listed in the ingredients but is listed in the directions. Maybe you just forgot. I gave a guess as Im sure most can and dripped a little in. Blessings to you in Jesus' name!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Student of JESUS May 04, 2010

Great flavor and texture. I used walnuts instead of pecans. I'm a fan of Hildegard von Bingen, a forward- thinking religious woman of the early 12th century in Germany. She extolled the virtues of spelt in one's diet. Don't know if she ever had bananas, but that's ok!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky April 12, 2010
Vegan Spelt Banana Bread