10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Pree-ti good :)...for me it needed a leee-tal bit more flavor so I ended up playing with the recipe...divided it into 4 portions and added hot spices to one, nuts and dried cranberries to 2 others and extra garlic, herbs and seeds to the last...poured them into little flower molds that had chopped nuts on the bottom to make them sort of like the "cheese log" typey thangs when they came out topped w/ them ='ed neat :)...served at a Christmas brunch and were a super hit...thanks

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free December 21, 2008

Not bad at all and very easy, too! I didn't use the pimento, but after reading the other reviews, I did ad in some cayenne pepper and about 1/4 tsp. dry ground mustard. They gave it a little "umph." I've eaten it on organic corn rounds and it does taste good, although not like the real thing. It does, however, smell almost identical to extra sharp cheese! I will continue to make and encourage others to give it a shot!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wineaux September 21, 2007

fabulous. i'm going vegan for lent and have only tried those horrible store bought "cheeses." i put more lemon, salt and 1 serrano pepper in mine for a kick. i only recently started using agar and i love it. also i put them in six heart chaped molds for a little extra cuteness.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snickels February 24, 2007

Please credit author Joanne Stepaniak for this fantastic recipe and others from her "Uncheese Cookbook."

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Speedwell July 30, 2005

I am very pleased with the results. It's better than I had expected. I love regular daiy cheese, but am trying to cut back on eating it. I know that no vegan cheese is going to taste exactly like cheese, so I was expecting someting pretty different. This looks like cheese, and when melted on top of spicy foods really tastes quite good. I think that next time I make this, I will add some more flavorings such as some salt and some chili powder. This was also my first time using agar agar, and it is great. It sets up quite firm and the testure is good. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker December 17, 2005

I think this is fairly good when cold, but when melted it has much more flavor. The fabulous thing is that it actually melts like dairy cheese. Shreds like cheese too. I added 1/2 tsp. salt and think it can use even a bit more. Next time I make it I'll add an extra 1/4 tsp. All in all this is better than any of the commercial vegan cheeses on the market that I've found. It's easy to make too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kokeshi doll August 24, 2005

This was a delight. For the orange color I used soaked sun dried tomatoes and a piece of red bell pepper. I also seasoned with Braggs Liquid Amino and Liquid Smoke flavoring. It tastes just like smoked cheese. I believe I added too much mustard, as it has a bit of a wasabi effect, but not bad. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slhmllc July 18, 2012

This is good! Good on crackers, shreds well, makes a good addition to burritos... I followed the instructions but added about a teaspoon of salt. Tastes WAY better than any store bought stuff I've had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura Newton June 07, 2011

it is so gooooodddd!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kippekat January 19, 2011
Vegan " Sharp Cheddar Cheese"