Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan " Sharp Cheddar Cheese" Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan " Sharp Cheddar Cheese"

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 21, 2008

      Pree-ti good :)...for me it needed a leee-tal bit more flavor so I ended up playing with the recipe...divided it into 4 portions and added hot spices to one, nuts and dried cranberries to 2 others and extra garlic, herbs and seeds to the last...poured them into little flower molds that had chopped nuts on the bottom to make them sort of like the "cheese log" typey thangs when they came out topped w/ them ='ed neat :)...served at a Christmas brunch and were a super hit...thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      Not bad at all and very easy, too! I didn't use the pimento, but after reading the other reviews, I did ad in some cayenne pepper and about 1/4 tsp. dry ground mustard. They gave it a little "umph." I've eaten it on organic corn rounds and it does taste good, although not like the real thing. It does, however, smell almost identical to extra sharp cheese! I will continue to make and encourage others to give it a shot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2007

      fabulous. i'm going vegan for lent and have only tried those horrible store bought "cheeses." i put more lemon, salt and 1 serrano pepper in mine for a kick. i only recently started using agar and i love it. also i put them in six heart chaped molds for a little extra cuteness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2005

      Please credit author Joanne Stepaniak for this fantastic recipe and others from her "Uncheese Cookbook."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2005

      I am very pleased with the results. It's better than I had expected. I love regular daiy cheese, but am trying to cut back on eating it. I know that no vegan cheese is going to taste exactly like cheese, so I was expecting someting pretty different. This looks like cheese, and when melted on top of spicy foods really tastes quite good. I think that next time I make this, I will add some more flavorings such as some salt and some chili powder. This was also my first time using agar agar, and it is great. It sets up quite firm and the testure is good. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2005

      I think this is fairly good when cold, but when melted it has much more flavor. The fabulous thing is that it actually melts like dairy cheese. Shreds like cheese too. I added 1/2 tsp. salt and think it can use even a bit more. Next time I make it I'll add an extra 1/4 tsp. All in all this is better than any of the commercial vegan cheeses on the market that I've found. It's easy to make too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      This was a delight. For the orange color I used soaked sun dried tomatoes and a piece of red bell pepper. I also seasoned with Braggs Liquid Amino and Liquid Smoke flavoring. It tastes just like smoked cheese. I believe I added too much mustard, as it has a bit of a wasabi effect, but not bad. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      This is good! Good on crackers, shreds well, makes a good addition to burritos... I followed the instructions but added about a teaspoon of salt. Tastes WAY better than any store bought stuff I've had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      it is so gooooodddd!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan " Sharp Cheddar Cheese"

    Serving Size: 1 (106 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 108.9
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    51%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 87.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    agar-agar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites