Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan Seitan Tetrazzini Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Seitan Tetrazzini

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2013

      A good basic recipe: needs more seasonings and some veggies. Try it with a breadcrumb and Vegan Parmesan cheese topping. I like to add a little about the recipe's history: Tetrazzini is an American dish often made with diced poultry or seafood, mushrooms, and almonds in a butter/cream and parmesan sauce often flavored with wine or sherry and stock vegetables such as onions, celery, and carrots. It is often served hot over spaghetti or some similarly thin pasta, garnished with lemon or parsley, and topped with additional almonds and/or Parmesan cheese.<br/>Tetrazzini was created by Chef Louis Paquet in the early 1900s and is named after the Italian opera star, Luisa Tetrazzini.<br/>There is no universal standard for the dish, so various ingredients can be altered by removing, adding, or by substituting. For example, using a different nut or use of a different cheese or type of cheese. The name is often expanded to describe the specific "meat" used, e.g. Chicken Tetrazzini, Tuna Tetrazzini, or a Seitan Tetrazzini (lacto-ovo vegetarian) or converted to a Vegan Tetrazzini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2013

      This was amazing! I took other's advise and added some onions, peas, and a few spices (garlic, salt, pepper, and parsley). I also made a bit more sauce than called for to accommodate for the extra ingredients. This made a ton of food and even my meat eating friends enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      I made this for Mother's Day. OMG! This was so good! My mom who thinks 'veganism' is a fad and is a hardcore meat eater loved this. She was amazed how the seitan tasted just like meat. Yes!! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2012

      I added a diced red onion, 3 cloves of garlic, and 1/2 cup peas. Then once I mixed everything together just before adding the pasta (whole wheat) I put in a bunch of Mrs. Dash garlic and herb seasoning. This really gave it the kick it needed. My family really enjoyed it and we will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2011

      I served this for dinner tonight with steamed broccoli on the side. Ratings by family members varied from a 3 to a 4. I think my 3 rating was based partially on having 3 pots going on the stove top at one time to make this dish. I kept think there has got to be an easier way to do this. DH and I also thought it was a little bland. I had some McCormick grinders in the cupboard so we got out the Italian Seasoning grinder. That did the trick, fresh ground Italian seasonings was just what it needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      Very easy recipe and a great addition to the meat-free recipes I make with a vegetarian friend of mine. However, while she loved it, I thought the recipe was on the bland side. I will likely add some onion, garlic, and herbs (thinking rosemary) to give it more flavor.

      This is one recipe that truly serves the number claimed. Most families will probably see the 6 servings, but if you have a lot of really big eaters, you can still believe the 4 servings.

      Edit: The comment to substitute zucchini works great, gives it a little more pasta primavera character.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      This was really tasty. It made a LOT of food, it completely filled my 2.5 qt casserole... but it freezes nicely. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      This recipe is AMAZING!! It is now one of our favorites. We added 2 more oz of cream cheese to make it a little creamier, and seasoned the veggies while cooking with salt, pepper and garlic powder. Thank you so much for this delicious recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      This was terrific! DH agrees that it deserves more than 5 stars! I used Quorn (vegetarian chicken) instead of seitan. And instead of a can of veggie broth, I used a bouillion cube and water from the pasta. For the mushrooms I used two portabella caps. And I added 3T nutrional yeast to the sauce instead of the parmesan. I also added half a bag of frozen broccoli to the saute. It sounds like I changed a lot, but I really didn't. However, this would be a very versatile recipe that would allow you to use what you have on hand. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      This was really tasty! I used vegan cream cheese, but used real mozzarella and about 2 Tbsp. real parmesan. Next time I will double the spagetti and halve the seitan, just for our taste. Also, I think this dish would be good if you wanted to add some other veggies, broccoli, zucchini, or peas (like someone else mentioned). We served this with freshly ground black pepper and crushed red pepper. Thanks so much for sharing!!! I will be making this again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Delicious. I had no mushrooms so I used peas; homemade seitan and regular cheese so it wasn't vegan, but vegetarian. This is my first recipe using seitan. I really like it, and this dish was a great choice for my first. I am anxious to made this with mushrooms next. Thanks so much for a great dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      I wasn't expecting much as I have tried numerous tetrazzini recipes since going vegan, but YUM!! so easy and so creamy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      Fantastic! I altered the recipe a little. I made it vegetarian rather than vegan (i.e. used real cheeses). I also substituted sliced zucchini for the mushrooms, as we're not mushroom fans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      This was my first time making something with seitan in it. I followed your recipe except that I added chopped onions and a finely minced clove of garlic to the saute, along with some italian seasoning and pepper. I used 2 packages of White Wave "stir-fry" style seitan, Tofutti vegan cream cheese, Follow Your Heart vegan Mozzarella and Galaxy Nutritional Foods vegan grated topping. Even though I did have to dirty alot of cookware to make this, it really didn't take long to prep and cook. And the results were really good. I liked it and so did my non-vegan boyfriend. It was gooey and creamy when it was hot, but when it sat for awhile it solidified enough to cut into squares. I never had "real" tetrazzini before so I can't compare it, but this was delicious and I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Seitan Tetrazzini

    Serving Size: 1 (159 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 286.8
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    14%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.4 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 9.6 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seitan

    vegan cream cheese

    vegan parmesan cheese

    soy mozzarella cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites