Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan Queso Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Queso

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 17, 2012

      I made an account here at food.com just to review this delicious queso! :)
      It is absolutely the solution to my cheese cravings as a vegan. It's salty and cheesy and creamy... it really does taste like a gourmet queso. Y.U.M! Oh my goodness, so quick and easy and delicious. I was skeptical that it would taste like cheese, but it does. Doing a happy dance over here!

      The only thing you should know is that the color is not "orangey" like other quesos and cheeses. Instead, it's a darker orange like the color of pumpkin pie. This is because of the paprika you add. Don't let that scare you, though, it is DELICIOUS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2014

      This is a great dip! Very creamy and cheasy. Doesn't taste like nutritional yeast at all. It tastes like cheese! Mine was waaay more red-orange than yellow. I used 1 cup salsa and it turned out fine. I whisked for 3-4 mins before adding the salsa and margarine and it immediately thickened up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      If I could give this a million stars, I would. THAT is how much I loved this queso! Maybe I was just reeeeeally in the mood for queso and this was the first thing that totally satisfied that need without major guilt :) I am a new vegetarian, but try out vegan recipes as well and THIS was so good! I can't stop thinking about it. I wish I would have brought it to work with me. Thank you for this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      This was awesome!! Tweaked it a bit with veggie broth instead of water, and used smoke paprika for a extra flavor. Actually tastes better than most real Queso I have tried. Easy and quick to boot. Aside from the Vegan angle, gonna get this recipe to all of my lactose intolerant friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      Made this last night, with some changes. As Con-Agra is evil, I just used salsa instead of rotel. I added chili powder, onion powder, and cumin to taste as I made the recipe, and a dash of cayenne. Unfortunately, I didn't have "fat-free" margarine... so I just used regular, though I am going to try cutting down on it next time. My husband said it was "the best nacho sauce I've ever had". :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      This is one of my favorites! Everyone who tries it can't believe it's vegan. My sister and I used this recipe as a demo at a vegan group meeting and it disappeared so quickly. I've found that a lot of vegan recipes out there are bland but not this one! We did make one batch with mild salsa just in case but turns out that was the only bit left over. Served in 2 oz plastic cups with a few chips for each one to try....HUGE hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      Good stuff, thanks Vittoria2008!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

    • on January 26, 2008

      Vittoria, I just had to let you know that I made a cheese sauce out of this recipe by eliminating the paprika and rotel. I also cut the salt by half. This made a wonderful cheese sauce that you can use over whatever you like. I wanted it to pour over steamed cauliflower. This was so easy to make, I hope it re-heats well as it made enough for 3 servings for me. Oh, I almost forgot, I also cut the amount of margarine to 1 teaspoon. How wonderful to find such a low calorie / low fat cheese substitute. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Queso

    Serving Size: 1 (233 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 126.9
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    32%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1407.8 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites