10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made an account here at food.com just to review this delicious queso! :)
It is absolutely the solution to my cheese cravings as a vegan. It's salty and cheesy and creamy... it really does taste like a gourmet queso. Y.U.M! Oh my goodness, so quick and easy and delicious. I was skeptical that it would taste like cheese, but it does. Doing a happy dance over here!

The only thing you should know is that the color is not "orangey" like other quesos and cheeses. Instead, it's a darker orange like the color of pumpkin pie. This is because of the paprika you add. Don't let that scare you, though, it is DELICIOUS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La-te-da14 November 17, 2012

Just used this recipe (minus the Rotel/salsa) as a base for vegan Mac & cheese...delicious, versatile recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catpie2006 February 22, 2015

This is a great dip! Very creamy and cheasy. Doesn't taste like nutritional yeast at all. It tastes like cheese! Mine was waaay more red-orange than yellow. I used 1 cup salsa and it turned out fine. I whisked for 3-4 mins before adding the salsa and margarine and it immediately thickened up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K F. February 02, 2014

If I could give this a million stars, I would. THAT is how much I loved this queso! Maybe I was just reeeeeally in the mood for queso and this was the first thing that totally satisfied that need without major guilt :) I am a new vegetarian, but try out vegan recipes as well and THIS was so good! I can't stop thinking about it. I wish I would have brought it to work with me. Thank you for this recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carrascoshannon February 21, 2012

This was awesome!! Tweaked it a bit with veggie broth instead of water, and used smoke paprika for a extra flavor. Actually tastes better than most real Queso I have tried. Easy and quick to boot. Aside from the Vegan angle, gonna get this recipe to all of my lactose intolerant friends.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brucewilson February 05, 2012

Made this last night, with some changes. As Con-Agra is evil, I just used salsa instead of rotel. I added chili powder, onion powder, and cumin to taste as I made the recipe, and a dash of cayenne. Unfortunately, I didn't have "fat-free" margarine... so I just used regular, though I am going to try cutting down on it next time. My husband said it was "the best nacho sauce I've ever had". :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura Newton June 07, 2011

This is one of my favorites! Everyone who tries it can't believe it's vegan. My sister and I used this recipe as a demo at a vegan group meeting and it disappeared so quickly. I've found that a lot of vegan recipes out there are bland but not this one! We did make one batch with mild salsa just in case but turns out that was the only bit left over. Served in 2 oz plastic cups with a few chips for each one to try....HUGE hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
denshu June 19, 2010

Good stuff, thanks Vittoria2008!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasBlonde July 04, 2009

Vittoria, I just had to let you know that I made a cheese sauce out of this recipe by eliminating the paprika and rotel. I also cut the salt by half. This made a wonderful cheese sauce that you can use over whatever you like. I wanted it to pour over steamed cauliflower. This was so easy to make, I hope it re-heats well as it made enough for 3 servings for me. Oh, I almost forgot, I also cut the amount of margarine to 1 teaspoon. How wonderful to find such a low calorie / low fat cheese substitute. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie in Indy January 26, 2008
Vegan Queso