30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've never really liked pumpkin pie, but this one was delicious! My can of pumpkin was 15 oz instead of 16 oz (as called for), and my tofu was 14 oz instead of 12, but I think it evened out. It didn't taste tofu-y, nor was it watery. My boyfriend squeezed the heck out of the tofu to get all the water out, so I think that helped. Non-veggie friend couldn't tell it was tofu, either! Good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oleiah November 30, 2011

The batter tasted spot-on, but the pie had a distinct funky tofu taste I could not stomach. I've been vegan for 18 months, and this is my first attempt at pumpkin pie. I used refrigerated soft tofu, as recipe called for. Not sure if I somehow didn't do everything right, or if my tofu taste buds are just ultra-sensitive. Blargh. Not Thanksgiving dessert for me. But my husband thought it rocked, so the pie will certainly not go to waste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kendyluv November 24, 2011

I also used the silken tofu. The pie ended up very dense with deep craters, so not very pretty to look at although it tasted good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
earthtocaroline November 24, 2011

I used 1/4 c. agave plus 2 tsp. Stevia instead of the sugar. I also added 1/2 tsp. arrowroot in case the agave made it liquidy. It was plenty sweet and the texture was very nice. I did not have to bake it longer. I'm curious about the difference in texture between soft (water-packed) tofu and soft silken tofu. Has anyone tried silken tofu?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barbietta October 17, 2011

Considering all the great reviews this recipe has received, I'm convinced that it's my fault this turned out to be a disaster. It was to be ready for Thanksgiving dinner. I was so overwhelmed with other things to do that I skipped the part where I was supposed to cream the tofu in the blender. Instead I used the mixer to combine everything. That may have been my first mistake. I also let it cook over 20 min longer than suggested and it still wasn't really set, but afraid my crust would burn I took it out of the oven. After allowing it to chill overnight, (hoping it would turn out alright), I ended up cutting into a soupy pie. Had to toss it out! So sad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Treenie November 30, 2010

Just like the real thing! Definitely going to keep it! Thanks Smiley!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy November 25, 2010

Perfect!! You would never be able to tell!! This pie even passed the kid test!! Thanks so much Smiley!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindelicious November 19, 2010

Easy, lovely, creamy yet solid and truly one of the best pies I have ever tasted. How fabulous to be good for you, too! I made two for Thanksgiving the day before so the overnight chilling and setting was probably helpful. Note that it takes about ten minutes longer for deep dish so cover your pie crust edges if needed. The pics I submitted used vanilla beans instead of cloves or ginger so it was a shade lighter than the regular. This is another marvelous way to introduce 'tofu non-believers' to its variety in baked goods. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeggieVal November 26, 2009
Vegan Pumpkin Pie