Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan Pumpkin Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Pumpkin Pie

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on October 24, 2003

      I liked this pretty well. The recipe was easy to follow and had simple ingredients, which is always a plus. Tofu doesn't really substitute for dairy ingredients, if that is what you are looking for--BUT for my family this one is a big winner! Thank you smileyfroggy for putting this adaptation on the site.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2011

      I used the shelf-stable type of soft tofu and drained off what little liquid there was. The tofu puree was runny and the pie never set to a sliceable consistency. We could taste the tofu (which in my opinion has a slightly sour and/or bitter flavor on its own) and my pie-loving kids wouldn't eat it at all. Since the reviews have been so good, I might try it again with water packed, refrigerated tofu (maybe even firm tofu instead of soft) and perhaps using brown sugar to give it a little more depth of flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      Excellent. I have to echo what people have been saying about this recipe: my non-vegan friends loved it, and I myself was surprised by how good the texture was. I have baked vegan pumpkin pies before, and they often turn out tasty, but liquidy--even after chilling. This texture for this pie was just right, and I highly recommend it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      This one is a keeper!! I only had a 15 oz. package of House Brand silken tofu and a 15 oz. can of Pumpkin puree, but it didn't taste like there was any tofu in it!! I also added 2 tbsp. of maple syrup. It was so tasty and one of the best pumpkin pies I've ever had!! No more "regular" pumpkin pie with eggs and half and half for me! No way. My bf and I polished off half of the pie in one sitting, it was that good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      I'm vegetarian and my non-veggie friends really liked this one. "It tastes just like 'real' pumpkin pie!". I baked it 5-10 extra minutes and added a dash of nutmeg. I also used a food processor with blade to really get it whipped up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      A friend of mine and myself baked this last night and it came out great! Definitely would recommend a little bit longer of a cooking time (5-10 mins) though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      Fantastic! We doubled the recipe and made 2 pies and served to 8 non-vegans who didn't know the difference! Instead of adding each spice individually we had "pumpkin pie spice" mix and just used that. Will defnitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      This was very easy and very good! My husband isnt vegan like me and never really wants to try my foods but he did eat a whole slice of my pumpkin pie! Definetly will make again soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      This worked out perfectly for the vegan in my family. Easier recipe then regular pumpkin pie, and the taste was very close. I used a graham cracker crumb crust, (also vegan) and baked 4 small pies, with the addition of chopped pecans on top. Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2012

      I made this pie for my son who is allergic to all dairy products for Thanksgiving yesterday and it came out AMAZING!!! I used an oil pie crust which I made (so easy too!!) I used all organic ingredients and it really was better than any vegan pumpkin pie I ever bought in the store. If you are trying to find an easy and delicious recipe, this is the one. Enjoy it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2011

      I've never really liked pumpkin pie, but this one was delicious! My can of pumpkin was 15 oz instead of 16 oz (as called for), and my tofu was 14 oz instead of 12, but I think it evened out. It didn't taste tofu-y, nor was it watery. My boyfriend squeezed the heck out of the tofu to get all the water out, so I think that helped. Non-veggie friend couldn't tell it was tofu, either! Good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2011

      The batter tasted spot-on, but the pie had a distinct funky tofu taste I could not stomach. I've been vegan for 18 months, and this is my first attempt at pumpkin pie. I used refrigerated soft tofu, as recipe called for. Not sure if I somehow didn't do everything right, or if my tofu taste buds are just ultra-sensitive. Blargh. Not Thanksgiving dessert for me. But my husband thought it rocked, so the pie will certainly not go to waste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2011

      I also used the silken tofu. The pie ended up very dense with deep craters, so not very pretty to look at although it tasted good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2011

      I used 1/4 c. agave plus 2 tsp. Stevia instead of the sugar. I also added 1/2 tsp. arrowroot in case the agave made it liquidy. It was plenty sweet and the texture was very nice. I did not have to bake it longer. I'm curious about the difference in texture between soft (water-packed) tofu and soft silken tofu. Has anyone tried silken tofu?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      Considering all the great reviews this recipe has received, I'm convinced that it's my fault this turned out to be a disaster. It was to be ready for Thanksgiving dinner. I was so overwhelmed with other things to do that I skipped the part where I was supposed to cream the tofu in the blender. Instead I used the mixer to combine everything. That may have been my first mistake. I also let it cook over 20 min longer than suggested and it still wasn't really set, but afraid my crust would burn I took it out of the oven. After allowing it to chill overnight, (hoping it would turn out alright), I ended up cutting into a soupy pie. Had to toss it out! So sad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      Just like the real thing! Definitely going to keep it! Thanks Smiley!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      Perfect!! You would never be able to tell!! This pie even passed the kid test!! Thanks so much Smiley!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

    • on November 26, 2009

      Easy, lovely, creamy yet solid and truly one of the best pies I have ever tasted. How fabulous to be good for you, too! I made two for Thanksgiving the day before so the overnight chilling and setting was probably helpful. Note that it takes about ten minutes longer for deep dish so cover your pie crust edges if needed. The pics I submitted used vanilla beans instead of cloves or ginger so it was a shade lighter than the regular. This is another marvelous way to introduce 'tofu non-believers' to its variety in baked goods. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pie Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Pumpkin Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 170.0
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    30%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 191.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 16.4 g
    65%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites