Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan Pumpkin Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Pumpkin Pie

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2001

    • on December 09, 2007

      This Thanksgiving we made the Libby's traditional recipe and this one (using a different crust). We did blind taste testing with all members of the family that includes omnivores, vegetarians and vegans. EVERYONE preferred this pie. We used flour instead of cornstarch, and added 1/4 tsp. cloves, because for me pumpkin pie just has to have cloves. Instead of soy milk we used Silk coffee creamer, which is richer. By not using eggs the flavor of the pumpkin is allowed to come through stronger, and the pie is not so "eggy". From now on this is our standard pumpkin pie recipe. The lovely thing about this vegan pie is that everyone in the family can eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      I was looking for a recipe like this to make for Thanksgiving for my dairy-soy-egg allergic 2 year old. I have my own recipe for crust so I am only reviewing the filling. This filling was wonderful! I made a double batch and use a large tart pan instead of a pie plate. This worked out nicely for me too and was a great presentation. One thing that I added to my filling (I was very worried it would not set up) was Orgran Custard Powder. I added 3 tablespoons of this powder to 1/4 Cup of rice milk and mixed. Then I added this to the filling. I also DID NOT add the 1 Cup of soy/rice milk required - as I mentioned above I was very worried about it not setting. It came out wonderfully. Didn't look any different from "normal" pumpkin pie and everyone enjoyed it greatly. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe! I will use it for many years to come!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2014

      Super, super good!!! Has a nice, richer flavor that doesn't always come with regular pumpkin pies. I also added 1/4 tsp of cloves. One thing that I think really set this over the edge was evaporating the soymilk. Instead of just using a cup of it, I put 3 cups of the milk over low-medium heat and waited for to evaporate down to one cup. I actually wasn't paying attention, and it ended up being a little less than one cup, but I didn't have any troubles! It added a nice creaminess that I think is worth the patience. :) I also used a pecan/oat crust instead of the one in the recipe, so I can't vouch for that part.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2012

      The flavor was spot on! Really good but we weren't used to the texture. It wasn't as firm as we are used to. Still, we will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      Made this for Thanksgiving and it was well-received! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2011

      Brought this to Thanksgiving dinner today. It was a hit! Spicy and sweet and very flavorful. Not as rich as regular pumpkin pie, which I found I missed a lot. (Oh, for just a touch of cream!) But considering that regular pumpkin pie would have been exceedingly non-vegan and made my dairy-free nursling very unhappy... it was an excellent compromise. Everyone liked it! Also much lower in fat and calories, which dieting relatives appreciated.

      I liked this crust a lot --- in fact, I liked it better than the simple pie crust I usually use. I might switch to this one instead for my everyday pie-baking. It rolls beautifully and was easy to use. My only concern was that it was a tiny bit too salty. I'd cut the salt in half.

      I couldn't figure out where the lemon juice was supposed to go, so I left it out. Anyone have any ideas?

      The filling set beautifully and looked gorgeous. I was worried it wouldn't "set" but the texture was excellent. I liked the molasses a lot. I used a medium fresh pumpkin, roasted in the oven until soft, scooped out of the shell and pureed in a food processor, instead of canned. Because the pumpkin is more responsible for the texture of this pie than it would be in a standard pumpkin pie, I would be really hesitant to use canned pumpkin for it. I thought the fresh worked beautifully. Incidentally, the fresh pumpkin is much lighter in color than canned, which means that the molasses didn't darken the color of the pie too much at all.

      Like other reviewers, I used 1 cup coconut milk instead of the rice/soy milk, and used ordinary granulated sugar. Otherwise, I kept the recipe as written. I would absolutely make it again. Thanks for sharing this lovely recipe, and thanks, Moosewood, for inventing it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2011

      This is my review from VT. "I made this last night as a test for this year's Thanksgiving pie. Oh...my....goodness! This pie is so good! It's better than any store bought pie I have had. It is really, a perfect pumpkin pie. Not too overwhelming with certain spices. My boyfriend is not big on sweets and certainly not big on vegan food BUT he really, really enjoyed this. He said it was also one of the best he has eaten. I just want to let you all know though...this was for ONLY the FILLING. I did not use this crust recipe. As for the granulated sugar cane syrup, just use regular sugar or turbinado. SIMPLE! It is not custardy or too soft in texture. It holds its shape just like a pumpkin pie should. Try it! You will not be disappointed." Seriously, if you don't like this then I don't know what you think pumpkin pie should taste like ;) Oh and don't add cloves!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      Another review just reviewing the filling - I had grown pumpkins this year so wanted to try a pie. Used 2.5 c fresh pumpkin in lieu of the canned. The filling was so amazingly tasty uncooked my kids would have done shots of it had I let them. I didn't have any molasses, so just used 1/2 T of dark brown sugar as a substitute. End result was a very good pie. I used Food.com recipe 51537 for a no-roll pie crust which was a super easy perfect compliment to the filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      I didn't make the crust, but the filling is delicious! My non-vegan family loved it. And surprise, surprise it was more popular than the store bought one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

    • on November 27, 2009

      I made a different crust, so I can only review the filling. I made this one, along with the same pie I made last year, which contains silken tofu, so that I could compare the two. This has a great texture - it set really nicely and slices into beautiful pieces. The flavor is excellent as well - I added 14 tsp of cloves, because it just seemed necessary. I can't decide which I prefer, but my husband was thrilled with this one. He typically doesn't care for pumpkin pie, but said this is the "best pumpkin pie" he has ever had. However, his reasoning was that it doesn't really taste like pumpkin. That could be why I'm not as quick to rave about it, because I love the taste of pumpkin. Either way, this makes a beautiful pie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      I'm only reviewing the filling. I thought this was really tasty. Many toddlers ate it and thought it was tasty, too. It's certainly not as custard-y as "real" pumpkin pie, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. I made a couple of alterations based on taste. I didn't use molasses. I used granulated sugar. I used only 3/4 of a cup of rice milk. I didn't use salt, ginger or allspice. I used 1/2 t of nutmeg and I added a 1/2 t of cloves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      I am reviewing only the filling. I used my own crust for this. The filling is creamy and delicious. When I first took the pie out of the oven, it was too wiggly but 24 hours in the fridge made it set beautifully. I substituted corn syrup for the cane syrup. Next time, I will omit the molasses, I am not sure I liked the flavor that much. Also, once the pie starts setting, cover it with plastic wrap so that it doesn't form a skin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      I am just reviewing the filling. I put it into a gingersnap crumb crust. I am still not confident with vegan pastry. I am new to vegan cooking and was really hoping for pumpkin pie at Thanksgiving and this recipe was perfect. So good and better than my memory of eggy-creamy pumpkin pies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      this was fantastic. i used light coconut milk instead of soy. added a lot of richness (and it doesn't taste like coconut :). i also skipped the molasses - just didn't have any on hand. great recipe. everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      I am only rating the filing, I used a different recipe for the crust. I liked everything about this pie with the exception of the molasses. It was odd to taste molasses in pumpkin pie, and it also made the pie dark brown in color, so dark that my daughter thought it was a chocolate pie. Other than that, the texture of the pie after it set up overnight was perfect, and I am thrilled to find a recipe that doesn't use tofu as I can have neither dairy nor soy. So, this is close to perfect and I will definately make it again without the molasses, and possibly also with some white sugar instead, to get the color lighter... (Obviously I'm trying it because of allergies and not because I'm looking for a healthy version. :-> ) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      Awesome Pumpkin Pie! I brought it to a holiday party and nobody knew it was vegan. I wouldn't change a thing. It turned out great even the first time I made it. I willl definitely make this one every holiday. Thank you for such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      I only made the filling because I'm lazy and because pumpkin pie filling sounded good, and it came out really well, you'd never know it wasn't vegan. Good job. I'm definitely making this for thanksgiving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      I am rating just the filling here, as I used my own crust recipe. This filling is PERFECT! It has a wonderful texture, color, and full flavor, and vegan or not, you'd be hard-pressed to find a better pumpkin pie. I used a 15-oz. can of pumpkin, which is a little less than 2 cups, and I also used regular sugar instead of granulated cane syrup, because that's what I had on hand. No one would ever know it's missing the dairy and eggs - it's absolutely fabulous, and a must on our Thanksgiving table.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Pumpkin Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (129 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 226.4
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    23%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 496.0 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 23.4 g
    93%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low-fat soymilk

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites