22 Reviews

I've made this recipe three times in the last four weeks; once for my husband and me, once for my colleagues, and once for guests. It's quick and easy and it's as delicious as everyone has promised. I changed the recipe slightly. I'm an expat living in China and we don't have access to soy yogurt. I simply omitted it. For added nutrition I measured two tablespoons of ground flax seed and added it to the dry mixture. I used one cup of all purpose flour and 3/4 of a cup of whole wheat flour. Also, instead of 1 1/4 cups of sugar I only used 1 cup and it was brown not white. The muffins are sweet enough. Lastly, to one batch I chopped up a third of a dark chocolate bar and for extra flavour and appeal. These really are delicious. My colleagues, my guests, and my husband and I loved them. They're dangerous to keep around so I freeze them and defrost in the microwave. I'll definitely be making this recipe again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moiand March 19, 2010

Wonderful, versatile recipe! Dropped sugar amount to 3/4 cup. Have used all whole wheat flour with success! Didn't use the soy yogurt, but added in an extra Tbsp of pumpkin instead. I also tried doubling the recipe today, and baked in regular muffin tins (24 muffins) for approx. 20 minutes. They were perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
p_tamara November 23, 2012

These are now my favorite fall muffins. I did do a few things different. I assumed that the recipe called for white sugar but I used brown. My husband and I are vegan and he is allergic to soy. I followed another review and used a soy yogurt recipe but I used rice milk instead of soy. I also replaced the 1/2 cup soy milk for coconut milk and then added about 1/8 to 1/4 cup rice milk after I combined the ingredients since coconut milk is thicker than soy milk. Instead of oil, I used a combination of ½ a sweet apple to 1 pear which I had pulverized.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
godsgirl24_7 November 04, 2009

So glad I tried these. They were super. We aren't vegan but I was out of eggs and milk and wanted something pumpkin. These muffins hit the spot. Didn't have soy milk or yogurt - used applesauce. It worked fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hoosier Duchess October 31, 2013

These muffins were delish! My husband especially loved them. The recipe yielded 48 mini muffins, and I baked them for 12 minutes. We're newly vegan, and these were definitely satisfying little treats. Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma O February 17, 2013

Absolutely delicious. My son is intolerant to soy so I used rice milk instead of soy. I omitted the soy yogurt and since I didn't have any molasses, I threw 2 tablespoons of brown sugar into the wet ingredients before mixing with the dry. I'm so happy to have found an eggless muffin recipe that is as delicious as a recipe with eggs would be. Woohoo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ronnieboo808 December 15, 2011

I subbed the molasses with agave nectar and only used 1/4 cup of sugar, adding another 1/3 cup of agave nectar instead of the remaining 1 cup sugar. I also used vanilla yogurt, very tasty. I got 18 regular-sized muffins,d one in 25 minutes. I usually don't like pumpkin breads (or Isa's recipes), but these were alright. Good way to get rid of some leftover pumpkin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS November 29, 2010

I'd rather rate this a 3.5. It was fine, but did not have the "wow" factor for me. Maybe the ginger flavor was a tad bit more than I'd have liked. I followed the recipe to the T. Very simple and quick to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilorchid82 November 03, 2010

I just baked these, and they turned out awesome! I didn't follow the recipe to the letter though. I added a little extra pumpkin puree (like a rounded cup), I only put in Cinnamon, Nutmeg, and Ginger cause that's all I had for spices (and I think I put more Cinn and Nutmeg in because I just dumped it in rather than measured), I added a little less sugar and did 1/4 cup Brown Sugar and about 3/4 cup white sugar, and I omitted the Molasses but added Vanilla. They rose really well, cooked in 20 minutes in a 12 muffin tin, and have a very light and fluffy consistency. I will be baking these again! I gave 4 stars because, as written, this recipe is a little too sweet, and I love sweet so that's saying something.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
robintora October 24, 2010

Absolutely wonderful! The best I've ever made!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms Jolie October 21, 2010
Vegan Pumpkin Muffins