22 Reviews

This is a good vegan cookie recipe overall - however its VERY sweet! Most choc. chip recipes have 1 1/2 cups of sugar - this was a sweet concoction at 2 full cups! BEWARE: If you choose to use vanilla soymilk (I used vanilla hemp milk) check the milk's label for sugar - as it makes the cookies even sweeter! I doubled the recipe with great success - using a full 2 cups of peanut butter. I tested several batches for cooking times and although the cookies appeared to be raw still at 10 minutes, they set up nicely after cooling and actually stayed moist. Those that I cooked 15 minutes were very very crunchy after cooling.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Black Radish April 27, 2008

Great cookies! As someone who has gone vegan recently, it is good to know that I can still make awesome cookies. Made them according to the recipe, except I used all purpose flour since that is what I had on hand. I plan to use whole wheat flour for at least half of the flour next time and may slightly cut back on the sugar. Very good cookies and my husband who is not vegan also enjoyed them. I followed the advice of others about shaping the cookies and about removing them at 10 minutes no matter what. I also refrigerated the dough for 15-20 minutes before putting them onto cookie sheets. I also recommend leaving them on the cookie sheet for 2-3 minutes after removing them from the oven so they can be more sturdy. Definately try these if you like peanut butter and chocolate, you won't be disappointed!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachael.hendricks December 16, 2009

Followed the recipe exactly and they came out great! There were just a little too many chocolate chips for me, so next time I will only put in 3/4c or 1 c. These cookies come out of the oven looking just like when they went in (they don't spread at all). My first pan, I dropped the cookies from a tablespoon and they were not very attractive when they came out. With the other pans, I shaped the cookies nicely with my hands first, and they came out great. Delicious!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sbendett February 08, 2009

These are REALLY good. I am not vegan, but I often go for vegan cookie recipes since many of them tend to be healthier. One thing I have found is that often vegan cookie recipes are cakey. This one isn't! It's chewy and moist and full of peanut butter flavor. I reduced the sugar by 1/4, and used whole wheat pastry flour in place of the white and whole wheat flours. I didn't put any chocolate chips in. The baking time was perfect for my oven. Thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino Girl December 11, 2008

The cookies are really sweet and I didnt even think about the vanilla soy milk with the added sugar. My cookies were very oily, this is a lot of oil and then to add more oil. Im not pleased. Was hoping for fluffy not oily and flat. However when cooked they do have a nice chewy-ness to them. Alomost like candy. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msmarac March 16, 2012

This cookie recipe is a great base for experimenting with different kinds of peanut butter and changing up the chocolate chips.

I made these cookies two different ways. First I followed the recipe exactly, and found the cookies to be very good, but I was looking for a little more of a wow factor. I think the wheat flour (while being healthy) changed the cookie texture a little bit too much for me.

I made them again using chocolate peanut butter, and only a half cup of wheat flour (and 1.5 cups of white flour). I also reduced the chips to about 3/4 cup, and reduced the sugar to 1.5 cups. They came out so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MicroFrenchie December 11, 2011

I was hoping to like this recipe. Sigh..I cut down the sugar to 1 1/2 cup and it was still too sweet. I followed the rest of the recipe as stated. But, I just do not like the texture of these cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB August 23, 2011

Used bob red mill WW flour, increased pb (used3/4 of chunky 16 oz jar), cut sugar by half, cut Chips to 1 cup. also baked at 350 for 12 min as someone suggested. They came out slightly crisp on the outside with a soft almost cake like interior. It had the right amount of sweetness might use the entire pb jar next time. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
golfchicknyc July 23, 2011

These cookies are so good! I used 2 cups of whole wheat flour. I baked them at 350 degrees (375 for 10 mins seemed too much) and I baked them for about 10-12 min until golden. You would never know these were Vegan! Will be making these cookies again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sharlenebernaldo March 01, 2010

Delish! Thanks to all the previous reviewers for such good info. And thanks to you hipbonez for such a great recipe! Like some of the reviewers, I reduced the sugar by quite a bit...actually in half since I was using sweetened vanilla "milk". Left the choco chips out of the batter and dotted half the batch with chips on top (no choco rule at school). These are tasty cookies, they go together really quickly. I must admit to only using 1 cup of oats - sheer laziness. :) Give them a try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner January 19, 2010
Vegan Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies