Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on April 27, 2008

      This is a good vegan cookie recipe overall - however its VERY sweet! Most choc. chip recipes have 1 1/2 cups of sugar - this was a sweet concoction at 2 full cups! BEWARE: If you choose to use vanilla soymilk (I used vanilla hemp milk) check the milk's label for sugar - as it makes the cookies even sweeter! I doubled the recipe with great success - using a full 2 cups of peanut butter. I tested several batches for cooking times and although the cookies appeared to be raw still at 10 minutes, they set up nicely after cooling and actually stayed moist. Those that I cooked 15 minutes were very very crunchy after cooling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      Great cookies! As someone who has gone vegan recently, it is good to know that I can still make awesome cookies. Made them according to the recipe, except I used all purpose flour since that is what I had on hand. I plan to use whole wheat flour for at least half of the flour next time and may slightly cut back on the sugar. Very good cookies and my husband who is not vegan also enjoyed them. I followed the advice of others about shaping the cookies and about removing them at 10 minutes no matter what. I also refrigerated the dough for 15-20 minutes before putting them onto cookie sheets. I also recommend leaving them on the cookie sheet for 2-3 minutes after removing them from the oven so they can be more sturdy. Definately try these if you like peanut butter and chocolate, you won't be disappointed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Followed the recipe exactly and they came out great! There were just a little too many chocolate chips for me, so next time I will only put in 3/4c or 1 c. These cookies come out of the oven looking just like when they went in (they don't spread at all). My first pan, I dropped the cookies from a tablespoon and they were not very attractive when they came out. With the other pans, I shaped the cookies nicely with my hands first, and they came out great. Delicious!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      These are REALLY good. I am not vegan, but I often go for vegan cookie recipes since many of them tend to be healthier. One thing I have found is that often vegan cookie recipes are cakey. This one isn't! It's chewy and moist and full of peanut butter flavor. I reduced the sugar by 1/4, and used whole wheat pastry flour in place of the white and whole wheat flours. I didn't put any chocolate chips in. The baking time was perfect for my oven. Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2012

      The cookies are really sweet and I didnt even think about the vanilla soy milk with the added sugar. My cookies were very oily, this is a lot of oil and then to add more oil. Im not pleased. Was hoping for fluffy not oily and flat. However when cooked they do have a nice chewy-ness to them. Alomost like candy. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      This cookie recipe is a great base for experimenting with different kinds of peanut butter and changing up the chocolate chips.

      I made these cookies two different ways. First I followed the recipe exactly, and found the cookies to be very good, but I was looking for a little more of a wow factor. I think the wheat flour (while being healthy) changed the cookie texture a little bit too much for me.

      I made them again using chocolate peanut butter, and only a half cup of wheat flour (and 1.5 cups of white flour). I also reduced the chips to about 3/4 cup, and reduced the sugar to 1.5 cups. They came out so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      I was hoping to like this recipe. Sigh..I cut down the sugar to 1 1/2 cup and it was still too sweet. I followed the rest of the recipe as stated. But, I just do not like the texture of these cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

      Used bob red mill WW flour, increased pb (used3/4 of chunky 16 oz jar), cut sugar by half, cut Chips to 1 cup. also baked at 350 for 12 min as someone suggested. They came out slightly crisp on the outside with a soft almost cake like interior. It had the right amount of sweetness might use the entire pb jar next time. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      These cookies are so good! I used 2 cups of whole wheat flour. I baked them at 350 degrees (375 for 10 mins seemed too much) and I baked them for about 10-12 min until golden. You would never know these were Vegan! Will be making these cookies again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      Delish! Thanks to all the previous reviewers for such good info. And thanks to you hipbonez for such a great recipe! Like some of the reviewers, I reduced the sugar by quite a bit...actually in half since I was using sweetened vanilla "milk". Left the choco chips out of the batter and dotted half the batch with chips on top (no choco rule at school). These are tasty cookies, they go together really quickly. I must admit to only using 1 cup of oats - sheer laziness. :) Give them a try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      These were very good. I only used 1 1/2 c sugar as they are going to be for a breakfast cookie. If I had added the full two cups it wouldn't have been too sweet in my opinion. I followed the recipe, used all organic ingredients and added roasted sunflower seeds for some crunch. Easy to make, very nice texture (oh, and I used milk as I had no soy) but tasted better when cool. Will definitly make again. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      These are amazing. I substituted smooth almond butter and added a handful of walnuts and I omitted the chocolate chips. They were still incredible. Thank-you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      Mmmmmm! These cookies are fabulous! You'd never even know they are vegan. I used 2 cups of Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour to replace all of the flour. And I only had smooth peanut butter on hand. They were still delicious! I will definitely be making these again. Thanks hipbonez!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      Yummmm! Needed to make a sweet treat for some friends who just had their 4th baby, something kids would like obviously! Of course, I had no eggs in the house... so we went vegan (sort of)! I doubled the recipe but made a few substitutions. Creamy peanut butter with chopped walnuts added in subed for the crunchy pb. Regular milk for the soy (since no one eating is vegan). Had to use a bit of white sugar since I ran out of brown, about 1/3 of total sugar was white. Cooked about 12 minutes total with one sheet rotation half way through. I will definitely be making these again, for vegan friends or just because!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      These are my favorite cookies, vegan or not. I have never made a batch that did not come out perfectly. My kids and nephews gobble them up and I have to hide them. I used ALL whole wheat flour, and reduced the sugar by a quarter cup, and they are perfect. The chips keep them sweet. I made them exactly like the recipe the first time and they were to die for! I LOVE THEM! (can you tell?)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      I have made these cookies twice and they come out beautiful! I have lowered the sugar by 1/4 cup and you can't tell the difference. I just put them on a plain sheet with some spray and they come out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      Excellent! I followed some other's suggestions and used sucanat, almond milk (unsweetened), and canola oil -- and they're fabulous. This recipe is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      These are really good cookies--I made them for an allergy-aflicted neice. The recipe made about 5 dozon cookies, so I brought a bunch to work. Everyone seemed to love them, even though there was not a vegan in the bunch. I made the recipe as written, using natural chunky peanut butter and vanilla soymilk. I used level tablespoonfuls of dough, and the bake time turned out to be perfect. As other reviewers noted, the cookies did look under-done when I took them from the oven, but did finish cooking while cooling on the cookie sheet. They stayed moist and chewy for three days (until the last one was gone).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      This is the best cookie I've ever had - vegan or not. These will be the star of the bake sale! After baking three batches, these are my notes: The batter is quite wet and sticky - don't worry, they'll be fine. The cookies look underdone and soft when done baking. Again, don't worry. You can tell they'er done when they get very fragrant and spread out a little. These are super soft cookies, perfect cookies. I let mine set up on the warm cookie sheet for about 10 minutes before transferring them to a wire rack. That helps them spread out a little and firm up. I used corn oil - it's buttery, Sucanat (natural brown sugar that's drier), almond milk, and all 2 c. of whole wheat flour not, and they turned out perfect. I think it's also best to use an unsweetened peanut butter and unsweetened milk replacement - this recipe doesn't need the added sugar. These cookies retain thier moistness and are still wonderful to eat for three-four days stored in a closed container at room temperature (that is if they last that long!). These cookies are a little on the fragile side, not the best candidates for stacking piles and piles of them on top of each other. I highly, highly reccommend this vagan cookie. For non-vegans, you would NEVER miss the dairy. Thanks for sharing this gem; it is a new family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      oh my gosh! these are the best cookies i have had since becoming vegan!!!!! i added maybe 2 tablespoons more peanut butter, and kept it in the oven for 11 minutes. thank you so much for the amazing recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (41 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 36

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 167.1
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    36%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 133.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.5 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 16.0 g
    64%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites