Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan Mayonnaise Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Mayonnaise

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on November 23, 2008

      Taste wise this recipe, without the maple, is SPOT ON. Anyone know how to make it thicker though? Mine turned out runny, I like my mayo thicker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2012

      This recipe is great taste wise if you take out the maple, and instead just a pinch of brown sugar. I was surprised it tasted A LOT like Mayo. Although there are so textural flaws in the recipe. It was too runny, so I added some tahini paste to thicken it up. I used part lemon juice, part apple cider vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

      I liked this recipe, but for me it came out runny. To solve that problem, I throw everything in the blender at once with a large handful of cashews. That thickens it a bit and then it gets even thicker when it sit in the frig for awhile. Thanks for posting have made this many many times.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2013

      Its great! I use regular italian olive oil (not evoo), 1 Tbsp brown sugar, mustard at 2 tsp and split the sour stuff between apple cider vinegar and lemon juice. Increasing mustard helps it thicken more, I have made it many times using a small food processor and processing it all at once. I find the important factor is to add the soy milk last before processing. - Its a real addition to my kitchen as I love it on tomato sandwiches. Try adding onion powder or cloves of garlic to make it more like a spread or dip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2013

      For those who end up with runny mano, the trick it is to add all the ingredients except the lemon juice and vinegar, blend until you get the desired thickness and then slowly add the lemon juice and vinegar. Also, taste wise, try a different oil like canola and replace the syrup with 1/4 tsp of brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      This recipe is terrific! I didn't add any sweetener and was great without. It took less than a minute in my vitamix, definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2012

      This recipe is great! I used rice vinegar and lemon juice instead of ACV and corn syrup since I've read the reviews saying that it didn't turn out that great with maple syrup (agave nectar is really hard to come by here).

      Even though I changed it around so much the taste is still spot on, as is the color and texture.

      Well done, Dancer^, this is a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

      I scaled this recipe down to experiment with the oil. I had EVOO and canola at home and didn't want to buy anything new... Prefer the canola to the stronger taste of the EVOO. I used 3/4 c. of oil, 1/3 c. unsweetened soy milk and 1/2 tsp dijon. I whizzed both batches up in the Vitamix and had no problem achieving a thick consistency. I salted and added apple cider vinegar and lemon juice to taste after the blending process. I went light on the salt and heavy on the acid. Just my preference. Also added garlic powder and smoked paprika, a bit at a time, to boost the flavour. I ended up with about 1 cup and a bit of the vegan mayo in the end (lazy blender scraping). Pretty happy with the finished product and will make this again. Couldn't find Vegenaise in our local store so this recipe is a huge help! Have stored the "mayo" in the fridge in a small sterilized canning jar and will see how long it lasts....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2012

      Wow, I am very impressed. I only did half of the recipe in case it didn't turn out right. Next time I will put all the ingredients in at once. When I turned my vita mix on high speed setting the mayonnaise was done in a few seconds. I added lime juice instead of lemon, to me it has more of a vinegar copycat taste and I added a touch more salt, 1/2 tps. of onion powder and 1/4 tsp garlic powder. Yummy. The texture looks and feels like mayonnaise. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2011

      I am mad at myself for not reading reviews first. I bought the $$$$ safflower and used almost the whole bottle for the recipe (next time a half recipe will def. do) and though it was light and fluffy the agave made it taste like dessert topping, not mayo. I added more salt, vinegar, some onion and garlic powder and cayenne but still TOO SWEET. next time, no sweetener and I think it will be spot on. Texture, fabulous. Whole recipe is waaaay more than a jar of mayo. I would go halves unless you really love mayo or are doing a mayo recipe. Without the sweetener, def. a 4-5 star recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

      I am two weeks in on being Vegan. I'm not much for buying something I can make from scratch, so I haven't bought vegan mayo. After trying one recipe with cashews and soy milk.... I just about barfed.

      THIS IS CREAMY and very authentic MAYO like. I used olive oil and Silk Soy milk. I also will add the lemon/vinegar in the beginning, because 5 second after starting to whipping it, it was mayo.... but lacking that flavor without the vinegar. I used whole seed mustard and added garlic and onion powder and a pinch of cayenne, as that was what we used in our mayo before when we weren't vegan. No sweeteners for us either!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      Just moved to HI where Grapeseed Oil Vegenaise is $4 more than I paid on the mainland so I've been looking for a substitute for my old favorite. This turned out better than expected. It thickened right up in my VitaMix when I drizzled in the vinegar and oil with the blades running at a medium speed and was too thick for the machine before I even got all of the oil in (a plus as far as I'm concerned: more flavor, less fat).
      I mashed it with some Dulse flakes and garbanzos to make a mock tuna salad but I'm planning aioli and potato salad too. I substituted veg oil and white vinegar for cost reasons (everything is mucho dinero here) but it was still delish. I can only imagine that it's even better as intended. As soon as I get over to the health food store I'm doing to try it with ACV and maybe even flax oil for a super healthy version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      Delicious and oh so easy!!! Can anyone tell me if it can be stored in the fridge? and if so, for how long?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      This recipe is awesome but I did change it up a bit by ommiting the maple syrup. I also replaced the soy with rice milk and used only 2 cups of canola instead of the 2 1/4 cups safflower. All in all delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      I won't spend the money on vegan mayo, so I can't compare, but now I'll never be tempted. This was Amazingly Good. I used my new Ninja food prep (like a little food processor). I was worried about it thickening enough, so I used 1/4 tsp. corn starch dissolved with the cider vinegar. It was thick as reg mayo. I even used vanilla soymilk, (all I use)and no syrup, just 1/2 tsp.dry mustard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      AMAZING recipe!!! I can eat this mayonnaise by itself with a spoon! I used canola oil and white balsamic vinegar and skipped the maple syrup. I cannot believe how delicious, thick and fluffy it was! Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      Hmm...I think I did something wrong, since everyone else seems to love this so much. Instead of mayonnaise, I just got a bunch of vegan salad dressing! It's tasty, but definitely won't work on a sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Thanks for the recipe. I used rice syrup instead of agave/maple since that what I had at home at the time. I also think that for next version I would be adding the vinegar with the rest of the ingredient all at once because 5 second after starting to whipping it, it became very thick that my shaker blade stop turning, and I was using a 1000watt blender. It turned out very very thick - maybe it was because I was using double strength home made soy milk (making a batch of soy milk using previous batch of soy milk as liquid instead of water) so all that extra lecithin made the oil and liquid bond really well, anyway - no complaints there. I made two batches, one with safflower oil and one with sunflower seed oil since safflower oil is very costly where I'm at. The carnivore people whom I tested it on said that the safflower version was better, but not by a large margin and both reminded them of real mayo (I never tasted it myself, I always detested mayo, even when I wasn't vegan, but it good to know I can make it if I bring people over for dinner). So thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      Absolutely the best!! Veronica said much of what I thought. It is so close to tasting like Vegenaise I couldn't believe it! I must tell you that in my first try at it I used olive oil and it never thickened up like mayonnaise (I added herbs and spices and it made a great dressing though!). My second (and very succesfull) time, I used safflower oil. I was amazed at how it thickened up instantly. I used vinegar AND lemon juice about equally and added just a sprinkle of garlic powder. I didn't add any sweetener and used unsweetened soy milk because I never liked the sweet mayonnaise. I may still buy Vegenaise from time to time, but this is so easy and convenient (and less expensive) to make. It takes less than 2 minutes to prepare! Thanks so much for sharing this. I will be getting the cookbook Vegan Fusion World Cuisine--sounds fabulous!! Peace.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      HI Y'all. This recipe is from our cookbook, Vegan Fusion World Cuisine. www.veganfusion.com I noticed it when I did a search for vegan mayonnaise. I am working on a new book and wanted to tweak this a bit. I agree that its better without the maple. A little agave works better. Thanks for the great feedback.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Mayonnaise

    Serving Size: 1 (769 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1507.6
     
    Calories from Fat 1484
    98%
    Total Fat 164.9 g
    253%
    Saturated Fat 12.5 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 633.1 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    29%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites