Prep 20 mins
Cook 30 mins
Most marshmallows are neither vegan or vegetarian, but here is a recipe that is.
Make and share this Vegan Marshmallows recipe from Food.com.
- 4 teaspoons agar-agar, powder
- 1 cup cold water
- 1 3⁄4 cups granulated sugar
- 3⁄4 cup light corn syrup
- 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
- 1⁄4 cup cornstarch
- 1⁄4 cup confectioners' sugar
- Soak agar-agar in ½ cup cold water until water is absorbed and powder is completely wet, about 10 minutes.
- Meanwhile, combine ½ cup cold water, 1¾ cup granulated sugar and ¾ cup corn syrup in saucepan and bring to a boil, stirring constantly over medium heat and taking care to prevent boiling over.
- Reduce heat slightly and continue cooking and stirring until sugar mixture thickens and forms a strand or ball in cold water. Immediately remove from heat and set aside.
- Heat agar-agar over medium heat and stir until agar-agar softens and dissolves.
- Spoon into mixer bowl.
- Add vanilla extract and, with beaters on high seed, slowly pour hot sugar mixture onto agar-agar.
- Continue beating on high speed for about 10 minutes, or until mixture turns white and resembles well-beaten egg whites.
- Combine cornstarch and confectioner's sugar in bowl.
- Generously sprinkle an 8 inch round baking pan with half of cornstarch mixture.
- Pour agar-agar mixture into pan.
- Sprinkle top with more cornstarch and sugar to coat well.
- After "marshmallows" firm up, slice into pieces, wrap in plastic and store in an airtight container in refrigerator, or serve.
I tried this and with a few adjustments I made it without much problems. First, I prepared the mixture and cook with a candy thermometer until it was the consistency of a soft ball. Next, I put hot mixture and poured into mixing bowl and whipped at highest beat. Then I cooked agar agar with water until soft and translucent then instead of pouring all into mixture I just pour enough to give me consistency of very thick icing then since I only wanted the fluff I pour into a bowl and put up on my dessert.
Note Kosher Gelatin may not be Vegetarian. It is simply Kosher and Kosher products are not Vegetarian but follow certain food guidelines for prep that meet religious requirements. Please check contents before using anything that is NOT labeled Vegetarian or Vegan directly.
OK... I am not the best cook in the world but I can follow a recipe. It did not work. I tried it 4 different times and it did not work at all. It would not whip up into white fluff. I did it with knox gel to see if you could do it and you could, its just that the veg gel would not whip up into white fluffy stuff. Vegetarians can buy kosher gel from the internet or health food store, but Agar will not work well I could not do it. If someone can make it with agar then let me know. Thanks