Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan Macaroni and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Macaroni and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on June 11, 2001

      Creamy and satisfying, this mac 'n cheese recipe gives one a rush of euphoric satisfaction! You can barely tear yourself away from this delightful concoction, both filling and just satisfying overall...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2002

      Carol has always posted delicious vegan recipes and this one is no exception. I used lots of paprika which gave it a lovely color. The kids doused it in ketchup, but still ate the whole thing. I didn't tell them it was vegan, and they never even noticed, which in itself is an excellent recommendation. ;-) Thanks Carol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2001

      We are definitely macaroni hounds and this recipe,well' in a word is awsome . You go girl and create more man pleasin' vegan meals like this one. Oh yeah baby just one more helpin' of this. M.shane (ailsa's hubby)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      This is a great starting point for getting the ratios right with nutritional yeast sauces. I like to use this to stretch out my supply of Daiya, as well. Warning: if you try to bake this into a traditional mac and cheese casserole, it turns sweet... So stick with the stovetop directions!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      We liked this! Used half garlic and half onion powder, total 1 tsp. Red pepper paste may be used in place of paprika (use 2 tsp), or use salsa (1/4 cup) for Mexican mac&cheeze. Recipe needed as much as a cup more milk, so it covered 10 oz. macaroni easily. Edit: I just realized what I left out of the comment before. To make this recipe taste cheezy, you need to add some lemon juice (bottled or fresh but fresh is better) or vinegar. For this recipe, I would suggest a tablespoon or more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2014

      Overall, this is a good vegan mac and cheese recipe.<br/><br/>The good: The texture is perfect! It's creamy and thick, just the way you want it to be.<br/><br/>The bad: I don't think the flavor is quite right. I added some onion powder for a little extra tang, more mustard (both prepared and powder), and more salt. The flavor was pretty good, but I don't think you're going to trick any non-vegans into believing it's "real" mac & cheese.<br/><br/>Overall: This is still a very good recipe. We ended up adding stewed tomatoes, broccoli, and vegan not dogs to make the meal, and we enjoyed it very much. I ate the leftovers the next day, so that's a pretty good testament!<br/><br/>Just a note: we added twice the amount of pasta than the recipe called for because we seemed to get A LOT of cheese sauce. FYI

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

      This is a nice starter recipe, and I found that adding the juice of half a lemon gives it a bit of a bite, like boxed mac and cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      Compared to a few of the other vegan mac and cheese recipes I've tried this one was the best. Still wasn't spectacular, but definitely edible. I don't know if it made it better or worse, but I used vanilla almond milk instead of soy milk because I didn't have any soy milk on hand. I think maybe the extra sweetness helped a little bit though...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      "Mom, I thought we don't eat cheese!" --from the mouth of my 7 yr old DD while we were eating this. Both of my kids LOVED this quick, easy recipe. The nutritional yeast does a good job of making it "cheesy." It would be easy to make this more "grown-up" by mixing in some broccoli, etc. Thanks for posting this; I have a feeling the kids will be requesting it quite often. UPDATE: Very easy to double this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

    • on June 06, 2009

      My 4 year old son has a severe milk allergy and spends much of his time feeling like he can't eat things that other kids eat. I found this recipe and made it ant he loved it!! He was so excited to tell his friends that he had mac and cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

    • on December 16, 2008

      Really good. I was surprised at how cheesy it is. It doesn't take nearly as long to make as the recipe indicates. Maybe ten minutes max. I would also add some steamed spinach or other veggies to it to make it healthier for us vegans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      This is really good man! I changed a few things and linked here to credit you, I hope that's ok. It's here. if you want me to credit you differently please let me know and I will fix it. Meanwhile this was REALLY GOOD! 5 stars would eat again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      I was dissapointed with this recipe. It tasted nothing like Mac and Cheese, and the garlic completely dominated any other flavor that the dish could have contained. I'm going to try it again and completely omit the garlic, and see if that helps, but even as a garlic lover, it was too much and took away from the "Comfort Food Feel" I was hoping to capture....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      I thought it was pretty good, nice gooey cheesy consistency. I used whole wheat flour and the color was a bit too brown so I added some tumeric to yellow it up a bit. I used garlic powder this time but I want to try it with fresh minced garlic next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Sorry, but this just didn't taste good. I will admit that it *looked* exactly like mac 'n' cheese, but the similarity ended there. Mustard, yeast, and garlic were the dominant flavors. The search for vegan mac 'n' cheese continues...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      too crumbly..i wish i could find this with a creamier sauce

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      i was excited to try this recipe since my boyfriend loves mac and cheese, but doesn't eat it now that he's vegan. we didn't expect it to taste like the real thing, we were just hoping it would taste good. unfortunately, neither one of us could eat it. it had a really displeasing texture and taste. the only good thing about it was the fact that it looked like mac and cheese. too bad it ended up in the garbage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      Tasteless and bland. Even after adding more spice it still had no flavor. Maybe if you've been eating salt cured seaweed for the past 3 weeks this would taste somewhat good. Ha ha no but really, all in all if you don't mind not having any cheese flavor its OK. Not for me though. UPDATE: This was a great creamy sauce and I am thinking about making creamed spinach with the "cheese" sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Macaroni and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (237 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 529.0
     
    Calories from Fat 147
    27%
    Total Fat 16.4 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 509.3 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.2 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 9.6 g
    38%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 23.4 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites