15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a great treat! I love that the ingredients were basics, nothing crazy that I had to go out shopping for. I used applesauce as the egg substitue (1/4 cup applesauce mixed w/ 1/2 teaspoon baking powder per "egg") and it was perfect. I think I will try to make a thicker glaze but the cake was moist and very tasty! My husband loved it and it was very easy to make!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
faithrules99 June 04, 2010

This was a great loaf cake! Dense, moist, flavorful - everything I was hoping it would be. My vegan brother begged me for a lemon cake, so I made it this morning. We ate the entire thing, just the two of us, in one sitting! I'm on a mission to show people that vegan foods (and desserts in particular) can be delicious and satisfying. This is going to be a recipe that I use time and again to prove that point. Thanks so much!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurabella September 17, 2006

Great cake! It's moist, dense, and very sweet. I cooked mine in a 9 inch round pan rather than a loaf pan for 50 minutes, and I used 1/3 cup oil rather than margarine, and it came out great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fuzzisocks2203 May 22, 2009

Great Flavor. Recipe is inappropriately named "cake" as the denseness leads this to be much more of a "bread". I'd compare this to banana or zucchini bread. With that said, I was very pleased to find a recipe that negated egg and butter. I doubled the entire recipe. I took the advice of fellow reviewers and: replaced margarine with 1/3 cup of olive oil x 2. Replaced 2 egg substitute with one whole banana mashed with 1/4 teaspoon of baking powder + 1/2 cup of applesauce with 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda (this was equal to 2 eggs). The added baking soda was in addition to the baking soda called for in the recipe, which again I doubled. Also added about 1/2 cup of fresh squeezed lemon juice to the bread mix. The glaze is a must, continue to add powder sugar until you reach the thickness you desire. This is a great recipe but don't get your tongue set to have a light, fluffly cake - this will be a dense moist lemon bread that goes great with a cup of black coffee. Enjoy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rawls99_12175073 June 16, 2014

Wow this bread is good. I followed the cooking time which was precise the crust is sweet and golden brown with a slight crunch. I added a 1/4 cup of blueberries to the batch before baking and the lemon zest adds a burst of citrus and compliments the berries. I used I mashed bananna instead of the egg replacer which helps the bread to retain its moisture. Will double the batter next time to share with company.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Majida H. May 18, 2014

Well, I made this cake and converted to 176 C°, but the cake started burning after about 35 minutes. Also, after I poured the lemon juice mixture over the cake, it was all just sitting at the bottom and made it a little soggy.<br/>However I cut off the burnt bits and frosted it which pretty much saved the cake in the end. It was very tasty then.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChatNoire August 07, 2013

I don't really cook, and I wanted to make a healthy lemon cake for my parents with this less traditional recipe. For someone who is not vegan, this cake looked strange when out of the oven. I guess I was expecting a fluffy cake like what I'm used to, but one bite and I was hooked. It looks weird, but it tastes great and feels good after I've eaten it. My mom enjoyed it too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amanda_g July 07, 2010

I made this cake gluten and vegan by substituting the flour for a rice flour, potato starch and tapioca starch and guar gum. As soon as I took the cake out of the oven I poked holes in the cake and poured a lemon juice and sugar glaze over the cake and allowed it to soak in. The cake is small if you make it into a bunt cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Real Cake Baker September 22, 2009

This was definitely very fast to make! The only issue I had was that this was extremely dense and didn't rise as much as I would like. But it's a great recipe so don't let that deter you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xxtianaxx May 22, 2009

This was absolutely delicious! I used flax vegan egg substitute, and I didn't have powdered sugar so I just used regular. I made it for my mom for when she came home from work, and she LOVED it! She wants the recipe now. I'm so glad there's a good vegan cake recipe! Thank you sooo much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cosima February 10, 2009
Vegan Lemon Cake