Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan Lemon Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Lemon Cake

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 04, 2010

      This was a great treat! I love that the ingredients were basics, nothing crazy that I had to go out shopping for. I used applesauce as the egg substitue (1/4 cup applesauce mixed w/ 1/2 teaspoon baking powder per "egg") and it was perfect. I think I will try to make a thicker glaze but the cake was moist and very tasty! My husband loved it and it was very easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      This was a great loaf cake! Dense, moist, flavorful - everything I was hoping it would be. My vegan brother begged me for a lemon cake, so I made it this morning. We ate the entire thing, just the two of us, in one sitting! I'm on a mission to show people that vegan foods (and desserts in particular) can be delicious and satisfying. This is going to be a recipe that I use time and again to prove that point. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Great cake! It's moist, dense, and very sweet. I cooked mine in a 9 inch round pan rather than a loaf pan for 50 minutes, and I used 1/3 cup oil rather than margarine, and it came out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2014

      Great Flavor. Recipe is inappropriately named "cake" as the denseness leads this to be much more of a "bread". I'd compare this to banana or zucchini bread. With that said, I was very pleased to find a recipe that negated egg and butter. I doubled the entire recipe. I took the advice of fellow reviewers and: replaced margarine with 1/3 cup of olive oil x 2. Replaced 2 egg substitute with one whole banana mashed with 1/4 teaspoon of baking powder + 1/2 cup of applesauce with 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda (this was equal to 2 eggs). The added baking soda was in addition to the baking soda called for in the recipe, which again I doubled. Also added about 1/2 cup of fresh squeezed lemon juice to the bread mix. The glaze is a must, continue to add powder sugar until you reach the thickness you desire. This is a great recipe but don't get your tongue set to have a light, fluffly cake - this will be a dense moist lemon bread that goes great with a cup of black coffee. Enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2014

      Wow this bread is good. I followed the cooking time which was precise the crust is sweet and golden brown with a slight crunch. I added a 1/4 cup of blueberries to the batch before baking and the lemon zest adds a burst of citrus and compliments the berries. I used I mashed bananna instead of the egg replacer which helps the bread to retain its moisture. Will double the batter next time to share with company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      Well, I made this cake and converted to 176 C°, but the cake started burning after about 35 minutes. Also, after I poured the lemon juice mixture over the cake, it was all just sitting at the bottom and made it a little soggy.<br/>However I cut off the burnt bits and frosted it which pretty much saved the cake in the end. It was very tasty then.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      I don't really cook, and I wanted to make a healthy lemon cake for my parents with this less traditional recipe. For someone who is not vegan, this cake looked strange when out of the oven. I guess I was expecting a fluffy cake like what I'm used to, but one bite and I was hooked. It looks weird, but it tastes great and feels good after I've eaten it. My mom enjoyed it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      I made this cake gluten and vegan by substituting the flour for a rice flour, potato starch and tapioca starch and guar gum. As soon as I took the cake out of the oven I poked holes in the cake and poured a lemon juice and sugar glaze over the cake and allowed it to soak in. The cake is small if you make it into a bunt cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      This was definitely very fast to make! The only issue I had was that this was extremely dense and didn't rise as much as I would like. But it's a great recipe so don't let that deter you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      This was absolutely delicious! I used flax vegan egg substitute, and I didn't have powdered sugar so I just used regular. I made it for my mom for when she came home from work, and she LOVED it! She wants the recipe now. I'm so glad there's a good vegan cake recipe! Thank you sooo much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      So happy to find another tasty, easy and quick vegan munchie satisfier from Smileyfroggy. It's sweet tart fluffy cakie goodness. blessings to you petite grenouille.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      Sooo Sooo Good. Icing is a bit too much for me, good though I prefer it dusted with powdered sugar!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      This was the most delicious vegan cake i've tasted! Just the right amount of lemony-ness. I would have given it 5 stars but for some reason it didnt rise as much as I would like. Maybe it was me- I will definately try again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

    • on March 31, 2007

      This recipe is DELICIOUS! I took it to potluck, and several people wanted the recipe. I did make some changes, however, I used white sugar instead of brown, and I didn't use all the lemon juice in the icing. I found that to make the icing the right consistency, you really need to use more powdered sugar, and maybe a little bit of margerine--but that's just me. The taste was EXCEPTIONAL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Lemon Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (27 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 133.4
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    32%
    Total Fat 4.8 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 138.6 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 12.1 g
    48%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegan egg substitute

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes