Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan - Hearty Root Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan - Hearty Root Soup

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2008

      I made this once before, and I thought it was VERY bland. It's a good mix of veggies,but I felt it needed a lot more flavor. I tried it again making some changes, and it tastes much better. My changes: I sauteed a few cloves of garlic--minced-- and chopped shallots in olive oil, then added some dry white wine. I used Wolfgang Puck's veggie stock and no water. I also added fresh parsley, rosemary, basil, and 2 bay leaves. Also added chopped celery and shallots to the soup. NOW we're talking good soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2010

      I just made this soup and it was simply amazing! Obviously, the better quality vegetables used, the better the flavour. I used mostly organic vegetables and made two simple changes to the recipe; I added a bit of wine, two more cups of water and used two organic vegetable bouillon cubes for the stock. This created far more servings then what was in the recipe. We have plenty to freeze and my family loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      This was so good! And it made way more than 6 servings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      Liked the soup, used a great deal of my veggies, but slightly bland. It needs something else. Don't know what yet !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      I have never in my life had so many veggies that I've never had before. Parsnips? Turnips? And what the heck is rutabaga? Well I made this dish for my vegetarian partner and we both loved it! Great and healthy for you. I would recommend this for sure!! Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2004

      This is a sensational soup. Great flavor, it's even vegan, full of vitamins and nutrients,and a warm you to the bones soup for a cold winter meal. Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I'm making a crockpot for the potluck next week at work.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      Delicious! Made this for a vegan friend and we both loved it. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      I added a jalapeno pepper, that's the only change I made. Very delicious soup. I made a second batch yesterday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      Delicious! DO NOT SKIP THE CILANTRO and salt!!! The slight deviations I made included sweating the onions with 4 cloves of chopped garlic for 10 min in 1 T olive oil before adding everything else. I skipped the leek (didn't have one), used chicken broth instead of veggie, and added 2 bouillon cubes to the 4 c water. I slightly mashed at the end, and added juice of 1/2 small lemon. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      This recipe was a nice way to use up all of the veggies that were sitting around in my kitchen. I used chicken stock because that's what I had and it turned out pretty good. I added come curry powder because I used some pumpkin and I love the flavor of winter squashes and curry together. All in all a good recipe that I will make again though I'm pretty sure it will never turn out the same way twice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      This is fabulous. It freezes well too.
      I'm making a pot for Halloween,will serve it from the crockpot since it should be a cold night.
      Thank U very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      This is my new favorite soup. I will be making this all winter long.
      Thanks for sharing. I didn't change a thing, except for adding an extra garlic clove

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      Did not want to score this recipe as I believe it was made as intended and I am still recovering from eating meat. I think it had great texture and the flavor was good, I will make it again and will be sure to have a crusty sourdough on hand next time. Thanks for sharing, I need all of the non-meat recipes I can find!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      YumYumYum! I can't believe how delicious this soup was. Personally, I used all the veggies on the list with the exception of a celery root and a rutabaga. In exchange, I threw in celery, yellow squash, and sliced muchrooms. I served it with slices of toasted french toast. Thank you for such a great and healthy dish. C:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      This recipe is wonderful. Great for freezing as well. (I don't add barley, personal perfernce.)My son loves it too and he's only 1. Thank you very much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2006

      This is so easy, delicious and nutritious! I didn't have rutabaga or vegetable broth so used sweet potatoes and chicken broth instead. I didn't have any of the optional ingredients so omitted those also; still, the soup tasted wonderful. I highly recommend this to everyone - great comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      Well I now know my favorire soup. I made as directed except I added 2 shallots. Divine soup and I'm looking forward to making it often during the cold winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

      YUM! Forgot the onion (oh well) and threw in a handful of brown lentils and some baby spinach leaves I had to use up, and could only fit two taters in, but just delicious as it is...the house smells SOOO good. This is a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      Being a vegan it's always wonderful to find a tasty soup. This is it and so low in caorie. I added some red lentils during the last 20 minutes of cooking. Delightful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2006

      I'm in vegetarian heaven. This recipe rocks big ime for sure. I added a little grated horseradish for a kick up the heels effect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan - Hearty Root Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (419 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 200.0
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    83%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 59.2 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 8.0 g
    32%
    Sugars 7.9 g
    31%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    parsnips

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites