Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Gravy

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2009

      This is my standard Thanksgiving gravy recipe, but I make it a little differently. To answer VegeTara, this can be made without all the oil. Here's how I do it: I use more mushrooms and more onion. In 1 T. oil, saute them with the garlic until the onions are very soft. Add water (I use 4 cups water), nutritional yeast, soy sauce or Braggs, sage, pepper, and some veggie bouillon to taste. I get chicken flavored vegetable bouillon in bulk from a local health food store. (Don't ask me how they do that). You can also use Tema brand mushroom or vegetable bouillon cubes, which are found in the Kosher aisle of a regular grocery stosre. Don't add salt yet because the bouillon is salty. Now mix the flour with 1/2 cup water in a jar with a lid. Shake it like crazy until it's smooth. Bring your gravy to a boil and slowly stir in the flour mixture a little at a time until as thick as you like. Turn to low and simmer for 5 minutes to cook the raw taste out of the flour. Taste and add salt if necessary, but if you use bouillon and soy sauce, be careful. With only 1 T. oil, this is an almost fat free recipe once divided into servings. I've made it with the full amount of oil, and with just the 1 T., and honestly it tastes just as good without the larger amount of oil, so you can eat more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      I followed the suggestions of Kokeshi Doll (who reviewed this recipe earlier) and made this recipe with only 1 T olive oil and about 3 cups water. I only used 1/4 flour (whole wheat), which I mixed with water in a jar first as Kokeshi Doll suggested (I like my gravy relatively thin). I used two packets of vegetable bouillon, and no salt. Really quite easy and delicious! We put it on vegan mashed potatoes, stuffing, and rice pilaf.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      I followed this recipe, but at the end it seemed a bit salty. I added some ginger soy for a dash of flavor and a 1/4 tsp of sugar to neutralize it and it came out PERFECT. Even in my meat eating days, probably one of the best gravys I've had. You really can take this base recipe and make it your own. I recommend shitake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      YUM! I am a vegetarian and my daughter is a vegan. We have tried a few miso gravies but they are never quite right. This one is SUPER!! Loved it! It's easy, quick and tastes like gravy! LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      This is another good vegan gravy recipe! It's a little simpler than the few recipes I usually use, so I wasn't expecting it to be as good (common misconception I know)....but this really is tasty. I used braggs instead of soy and didn't find the need for the extra salt. I was also wondering if that 1/2 cup of oil was a misprint - obviously you don't need even close to that. Thanks Lindsey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      This was pretty good. I served it with seitan and added the optional mushrooms. I had to add much more water than called for to get it to my preference. I also used Bragg's instead of soy sauce. Alas, if there were only some way to make something this tasty without all the oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      Who knew? Just whipped this up to have on hand for tomorrow (and whenever) because it solves three problems: what to do if the turkey doesn't render enough juices, what to serve my sweetie when he wants gravy on stuff like meatloaf, and what to serve (unadulterated) to his vegan daughter. Terrific recipe. The only changes I mage were to add a little vegetable broth powder and a little lemon pepper - also, no plain ground sage, so I used Bell's Poultry Seasoning. And I love that it can be made ahead - thank you thank you thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      This was really great and absolutely simple! I like thick gravy but this was too thick for me and I added extra water before serving. It seemed plenty salty as well, and did not add the additional salt as directed. It had a surprisingly complex flavor despite it being essentially water, garlic and soy sauce! (Or in my case, half soy sauce and half liquid aminos).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      I used the basic steps of the recipe in order to make kosher poutine. The gravy came out somewhat boring, so I added some of my favourite spices in arbitrary amounts until I was satisfied. In addition, I doubled the amount of soy sauce which gave it a little more zest. Also, as we college students always do, I added some beer (about half a bottle of Rickard's honey brown). The result was an intense gravy with a bit of a risque'e twist, which made it ideal for poutine. Poutine is the perfect dish for a cold winter day, and this gravy is the perfect gravy for it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      I made this gravy to top some chickpea cutlets (hope to post the recipe soon!) from a new cookbook Veganomicon. My inital review would have given less stars. but I've kept this stuff around and reheated it all week to eat on baked potatoes, and it gets better each time. The initial product was WAY too thick & salty for my tastes. This is more of a spoon-onto-chicken-fried-steak rather than a pour-over-mashed-potatoes kind of gravy But I keep adding more water each time I reheat it, so the taste has mellowed out and the consistency has thinned a bit. I will definitely make this again, but I'll tinker with the flour/water ratio from the get-go next time. Thanks for posting. My other half was most pleased with his "homestyle" dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      I am in awe! We couldn't believe how great this tasted. I served it over biscuits and my husband and kids wanted seconds. Super easy to make, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      Lindsey I made this gravy for thanksgiving last year and my husband absolutely loved it! I had to make this gravy every day for two weeks. Thank you so very much. If you have more vegan recipes, please post them for a novice like me. thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      Thank you for this fabulous, easy recipe. I didn't change a thing and even my meat and potatoes husband loved it. This one is going in my tried and true collection. Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      This was easy and delicious! The sage in it made me think of Thanksgiving dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      This is great! We all loved it. I added more onion, extra mushrooms and used 3 Tbs. regular soy sauce instead of the light. I didn't need any thickener. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      Wow...my family was delighted by this recipe. We thought by adding a little white wine to replace some of the water would add a little more flavor (not that it was lacking!). Very easy to make, too. I was a little confused as to when to add the mushrooms, so I added them at the end of the five minutes it took to saute the garlic and onions. This might have made it too thick because I had to add extra water to thin it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2006

      This gravy is one of my big cravings these days. My husband makes it, generally without the nutritional yeast, and we both love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2006

      This is a great recipe. I used about twice the amount of mushrooms, cooking them with the garlic and onions. It was thick, garlicky, and to die for over buttermilk-style vegan biscuits. Highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2003

      I liked this recipe. I was in a pinch and needed gravy! I whipped this up followed the recipe exactly did not find it necessary to use the additional flour or cornstarch. My husband could not believe it was Vegan. I will definetly make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2001

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 265.6
     
    Calories from Fat 199
    74%
    Total Fat 22.1 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1041.6 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites