Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan Ginger Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Ginger Cookies

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on September 18, 2009

      With a few modifications... AMAZING... First, cook for only 5-6 minutes to acheive that "chewy in the middle and crispy on the outside texture". I always wait till that shiny/wet look is gone from the center/top of the cookie before I remove them from the oven. After removing, leave cookies on the cookie sheet for 3-5 minutes before moving to a plate b/c cookies will continue to cook even after you remove them from the oven. Second, LESS ginger... it's just a little overpowering and you could probably be okay with 1.5 to 2 Tbsp of ginger. Third, skip the coarse sugar and once the cookies are cool, sprinkle with powdered sugar (using a sifter if you can).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      Outstanding. I was skeptical when I read the other rave reviews, but I have to admit these cookies are pretty great. I substituted a little bit of maple syrup for the molasses, and traded off a little white sugar for brown sugar. I also used the 1 1/2 tablespoon of ginger after reading the other reviewers but decided to add a little candied ginger. I like spicy ginger cookies so I think they could even be a touch spicier. I sprinkled a little vanilla bean sugar on the top before I baked them . Very nice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      So amazingly good. I can't inagine why you would even need dairy products in this! It's perfect as-is and was liked by both vegans and non-vegans :o)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      I had a vegan ginger cookie at a coffee shop and wanted to see if I could find a similar recipe...I made these today and made one slight addition of some chopped crystalized ginger to give it an extra pop...They are awesome and I'll def be making these again soon :) Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      Yummmmm. I didn't get to grocery shopping, so I had to make a few substitutions. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour, 1/2 white. I also used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 turbinado. Reduced the ginger by 1/2 tsp. Baked 7 minutes exactly - so, so good! Chewy and perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      When I read that these were the best ginger cookies ever, I kind of thought, "Yeeeah...riiiight". But they ARE! These are exactly the kind of ginger cookies I've been trying to find, with a nice ginger bite. I didn't add the additional sugar before baking, because I prefer spice over sugar, but I think they would be good even with the sugar. Really LOVE these!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2013

      Very yummy cookie! Substituted coconut oil for the canola and used Sucanat for the sugar. Thanks for this recipe! Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      These cookies are excellent!! The only thing I changed was I used 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 1 cup. I put the full amount of ginger in them and used nutmeg instead of cloves. If you like ginger cookies than you will love this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      Very good. Used Nutri flour from Robin Hood for a healthier version. These cookies can but rolled up. Just chill the dough thoroughly and roll it 1/4 of an inch thick, between 2 layers of plastic wrap. Use cookie cutters. Gently put on parchment paper. Bake 10 min max for a chewy texture. I was baking for children so I use 2.5 TEAspoon of ginger, not tablespoon. Good for Halloween or Christmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2013

      This is great! Heaps better than any non-vegan ginger cookie i've tried as well!<br/>lovely and chewy on the inside and crisp on the outside.<br/>I subbed golden syrup for the mollasses, almond milk for the soy, increased cinnamon to 3/4t and decreased cloves to 1/4t<br/>YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2013

      This was my first time baking anything with molasses. I wasn't the biggest fan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2012

      These were really great! Couldn't tell they were vegan at all! My family loved them. :)

      I did make a few changes. I used 1 cup unpacked brown sugar instead of white, and I used nutmeg instead of cloves (because I had no cloves). I also did not put sugar on the outside (didn't have any course sugar). And I reduced the ginger to 1.5 tbsp (I think 1 tbsp would have been enough, though).

      Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      These were delicious! I followed the recipe (including the full amount of ginger) with the following changes: grapeseed oil for canola, scooped dough (25 cookies), flattened cookies with a small juice glass dipped in cinnamon sugar, baked for 11 minutes (we're at altitude - I may bake at 375 next time). Mr. Omni and Papa Omni approved heartily ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2011

      Baked these for a church meal - people had three and four cookies each! Everyone commented on how excellent they looked AND tasted. I stuck to the recipe - the only thing I added was a little allspice. I found it made it even tastier.
      Easy, delicious and pretty to look at. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      Omgg this was delicious!!! i changed the ground ginger amount to 1 1/2 tabespoons of ginger because of the reviews that it was too spicy, I used 1/3 of a cup of oil to make it healthier and 1/3 of a cup of soymilk. My dough was actually quite dry, (i think becuz i used less oil) so I added more soymilk to bind it. I ended up cooking it for about 13 minutes instead of 10. This is one of the best things I have ever made! and theyre vegan too! shocked my entire non-vegan family

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      Delicious: soft and chewy. Mine took longer to bake -- about 12 minutes. They didn't turn out pretty enough to give as gifts, but they look fine and taste wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      These were wonderful and simple and provided the perfect gift for Christmas. I doubled the recipe and it was a little too sticky, so I added another 1/2 c of flour. I also decreased the ginger to half of what was called for and they were still rather spicy. Be sure to take out when just cracked on the surface, but soft in the middle. They will harden up when they cool. Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      these are beautiful, yummy, and easy! i am making them to package up for friends and family. thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      This is a WONDERFUL recipe. My whole family LOVES these cookies. I looked for a vegan ginger cookie recipe around Christmas '09 because I have a 2-year-old with multiple food allergies (egg, soy, casein [milk protein], corn, and peanut). He was retested this month and is no longer allergic to casein. (YAY!) The corn allergy means that I have to bake without baking powder. I simply needed to replace the soy milk with rice milk. I haven't baked these since Christmas, but my little one referred to them yesterday when I told him that I have to bake safe cookies for him at home. He said, 'like the ginger cookies". I'm about to bake a batch while he naps. He'll be happy to see them when he gets up, and my other kids and husband will be equally happy. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      These are by far the easiest and best gingersnap cookies I've ever made. The fact that they're vegan is just a bonus! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Ginger Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (780 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3182.1
     
    Calories from Fat 1020
    32%
    Total Fat 113.3 g
    174%
    Saturated Fat 8.9 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1916.2 mg
    79%
    Total Carbohydrate 519.4 g
    173%
    Dietary Fiber 10.0 g
    40%
    Sugars 300.7 g
    1203%
    Protein 29.1 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes