29 Reviews

With a few modifications... AMAZING... First, cook for only 5-6 minutes to acheive that "chewy in the middle and crispy on the outside texture". I always wait till that shiny/wet look is gone from the center/top of the cookie before I remove them from the oven. After removing, leave cookies on the cookie sheet for 3-5 minutes before moving to a plate b/c cookies will continue to cook even after you remove them from the oven. Second, LESS ginger... it's just a little overpowering and you could probably be okay with 1.5 to 2 Tbsp of ginger. Third, skip the coarse sugar and once the cookies are cool, sprinkle with powdered sugar (using a sifter if you can).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwenfatfreevegan September 18, 2009

Outstanding. I was skeptical when I read the other rave reviews, but I have to admit these cookies are pretty great. I substituted a little bit of maple syrup for the molasses, and traded off a little white sugar for brown sugar. I also used the 1 1/2 tablespoon of ginger after reading the other reviewers but decided to add a little candied ginger. I like spicy ginger cookies so I think they could even be a touch spicier. I sprinkled a little vanilla bean sugar on the top before I baked them . Very nice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anitaku September 05, 2011

So amazingly good. I can't inagine why you would even need dairy products in this! It's perfect as-is and was liked by both vegans and non-vegans :o)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tangello_ July 14, 2009

I had a vegan ginger cookie at a coffee shop and wanted to see if I could find a similar recipe...I made these today and made one slight addition of some chopped crystalized ginger to give it an extra pop...They are awesome and I'll def be making these again soon :) Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachel_kelley April 22, 2008

Absolutely delicious. Easy recipe. Biscuits disappeared within 24 hours!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnlaw3 March 21, 2015

Yummmmm. I didn't get to grocery shopping, so I had to make a few substitutions. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour, 1/2 white. I also used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 turbinado. Reduced the ginger by 1/2 tsp. Baked 7 minutes exactly - so, so good! Chewy and perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WillsMommy December 22, 2013

When I read that these were the best ginger cookies ever, I kind of thought, "Yeeeah...riiiight". But they ARE! These are exactly the kind of ginger cookies I've been trying to find, with a nice ginger bite. I didn't add the additional sugar before baking, because I prefer spice over sugar, but I think they would be good even with the sugar. Really LOVE these!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawn M. December 21, 2013

Very yummy cookie! Substituted coconut oil for the canola and used Sucanat for the sugar. Thanks for this recipe! Love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
margaret Ohlson December 13, 2013

These cookies are excellent!! The only thing I changed was I used 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 1 cup. I put the full amount of ginger in them and used nutmeg instead of cloves. If you like ginger cookies than you will love this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pamellenor1 November 17, 2013

Very good. Used Nutri flour from Robin Hood for a healthier version. These cookies can but rolled up. Just chill the dough thoroughly and roll it 1/4 of an inch thick, between 2 layers of plastic wrap. Use cookie cutters. Gently put on parchment paper. Bake 10 min max for a chewy texture. I was baking for children so I use 2.5 TEAspoon of ginger, not tablespoon. Good for Halloween or Christmas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anoushka October 27, 2013
Vegan Ginger Cookies