7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Deliciously decadent! And you BARELY need any syrup because the banana and coconut milk give a nice sweetness already. Next time I have to remember to let my bread sit out overnight to get a little stale, mine might have been a little too fresh, so the centers were soft. French toast was one of the first breakfast foods I learned to make as a little girl, but I always hated sticking my fingers in the raw egg, sothis recipe was perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kozmic Blues June 07, 2010

Finally, I can eat french toast again! This is a really tasty and EASY recipe. I used vanilla almond milk instead of the other milks and vanilla. It made it that much easier. A half recipe was more than enough for 3 slices of bread. Thanks for a recipe that my entire family loves! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KissKiss July 07, 2012

Very sweet and delectible french toast, we enjoyed it very much. I had 2 types of bread to use up, definitely the sturdy sprouted whole grain bread worked out the best. And it is worth taking your time to cook slower than traditional french toast on a lower heat, so that the centre cooks thru and the outside gets a nice crunch, (I find that with all vegan versions), so put the toaster oven on and keep them warm as you go. What I really like about this version is the flavour, the coconut is subtle and banana not overwhelming. I made half the batter and still got 7 pieces of toast. Delicious, I feel like I've had a real treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner February 20, 2011

Oh mmmm, definitely a keeper! Soooooo decadent and yummy and also very easy to make!
I had never had french toast before, cause of the eggs, but always wanted to try it. Your recipe sounded too good to pass it by and it held its promise. The french toast turned out golden, soft (but not mushy) and mmmm yummy!
I used my Spelt Muesli Sourdough Bread for the bread and that was very nice. I think I would not recommend using fresh bread for this as it would probably get too soft.
Following Prose's suggestion, I reduced the batter to 3/4 cup for half the recipe and still had some left over. It was great with muesli instead of milk.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this treat with us, Kat!
Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #31 February 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula February 18, 2011

I was so excited to try this recipe! I even made my own bread in preparation as I've learned that the bread DOES make or break your french toast! In the end this turned out pretty well. However I had some bumps. For one the slices took much longer to cook then traditional french toast, It seemed like you had to sear it shut then leave it over low heat for quite a while to get the center cooked through. I had just made my own coconut milk, which had a pretty nice strong flavor, but I couldn't taste any coconut in the end result. All you taste is banana (which is fine, I love banana, however I think you could use whatever milk you wanted here) I would also double the spices next time. In the end it is very good, and it reheats even better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma February 01, 2011

This is the tastiest French toast I've ever made (vegan or not)! Like Kozmic Blues, I appreciated that it didn't need much syrup since it was already sweet from the banana. I used a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice for the spices. Also like Kozmic Blues, I found that mine came out a bit soft in the center, so I baked it for a few minutes in the toaster oven before serving, which helped quite a bit. I had a lot of leftover batter, so I put it in the fridge. The next morning I made some more French toast, but first I toasted the bread slightly. That improved the texture quite a bit. From now on I will use stale or toasted bread. I served it with a sprinkle of unsweetened coconut flakes and some banana slices. I can't wait to make it again! Thanks for posting this lovely, comforting recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prose January 14, 2011

This was delicious and very easy to make. Next time I will garnish the top of the French toast with a sprinkle of roasted macadamia nuts which would give it a "buttery" taste without the butter. Added a light sprinkle of powdered sugar and a drizzle of maple syrup to each serving. Be sure to slice the bread thickly-3/4"-1" thick. Thanks for posting! Reviewed for Veg Swap July 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl June 28, 2010
Vegan French Toast With Coconut Milk & Banana