Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan Dark Chocolate Cupcakes With Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Dark Chocolate Cupcakes With Frosting

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2013

      These are divine! Truly, nobody can guess they're "vegan" cupcakes -- in fact, as someone else has said, they're BETTER than "regular" cupcakes. They make plenty so you'll have some for the kids' school event or whatever, plus some for home too. Mini-cupcakes take about 11 or 12 min. in our oven. I've made with both unsweetened and sweetened cocoa powder; both are very good, but you can guess that the sweetened are really ultra-sweet for folks like kids and hubbies whose mouths are filled with only "sweet tooths." (Sorry, I have a 2 year old.)<br/><br/>Instead of vegan margarine, I've used (both times) 1/2 cup (or one full tub) of coconut spread (a margarine substitute, found near the butter) and 1/2 cup of shortening. <br/><br/>Just one more PRO for this yummy recipe! There are no eggs, so you can lick the bowls and beaters clean! The white part is tropical in flavor, using the coconut spread, and sweeter than the dickens with all that sugar. The chocolate part is much tastier when using sweetened cocoa.<br/><br/>Yeah, I haven't made the icing yet, just use store-bought. (In our house we're needing to avoid both dairy and soy b/c of new allergies.)<br/><br/>Try this one, everybody, and enjoy! It's worth all the bowls. I'm keeping this one to use again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      Delicious cupcakes and sooo moist, would never know they are vegan. I made for vegan sis in law but i LOVED them too, actually one of the best and moistest cupcake i think ive had. i didnt do the icing tho

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2012

      I originally made these for a vegan friend of mine (just the cupcakes - I haven't tried the icing yet), happy to find a vegan recipe that did not require hard to get ingredients. I was amazed at how well they turned out. They were very easy to put together, and they turned out incredibly well textured and moist. She proclaimed they were even better than the ones at our local organic grocer's bakery counter, and my non-vegan friends who tried them loved them as well. I admit I had expected them to be inferior to "traditional" cupcakes - how wrong I was! These have definitely become a mainstay in my cookbook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      I used the frosting recipe as a base for some awesome chocolate peanut butter vegan frosting. I did 1/3 c each shortening, margarine, and peanut butter, and then swapped about 1/2 c cocoa powder for powdered sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      These are the BEST chocolate cupcakes I have ever made. It is so rich & moist.I have added an extra half teaspoon of baking powder and a tiny more of baking soda. They turned out great with my own cream cheese frosting on top. They aren't sweet, so I highly recommend to use this recipe with frosting or ganache.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      These were the best vegan cupcake I've ever had and were really easy to make. They didn't rise a ton but they did rise, and were all very soft and moist. Definitely would make them again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Really good cupcakes for even non-vegans but great as a vegan option! These made exactly 30 cupcakes using a level standard ice cream scooper and cooked for 20 min. using convection bake at 325. For the frosting I think the soy milk needs to be heated slightly to avoid having the chocolate mixture harden when it is added...a few seconds in the microwave did the trick. Yummy!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      Really enjoyed these. Had no trouble with rising, maybe because I beat the batter for about 3 minutes after combining all. Only problem was with the icing -- the next day it had run off the cupcakes and lay in a puddle on the plate. (P.S. I added a dash of salt to the icing to help cut the sweetness.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      these are delicious.I took them to my yoga class and every body liked them. Thanks for sharing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      Everyone loved these. I'm not vegan...I made them for a coworker who is, but they were hit with everybody. Actually, the best cupcakes I think I've ever made. They taste just like Hostess cupcakes, except better!! Very moist, very chocolaty, very delicious! As far as rising goes, mine seemed to do well, but I don't know if it's because of the amount I used in each cup or not. I used a 1 oz. spring-loaded scoop to put 2 scoops of batter into each cup and they turned out perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      These are fantastic. So moist and chocolatey. I halved the recipe with no problems. Mine didn't really rise up much at all either so next time I might fill them a little more since some of them barely reached the top of the paper lining. At first I was having trouble with the frosting. When I added the milk (I used almond milk) it was too cold or something and no matter how hard I tried it would just not get smooth. So I stuck it in the microwave for about 20 seconds and that worked perfectly. I ended up with a perfectly smooth and creamy frosting. Even my picky 2 year old (the reason we are now dairy and egg free due to allergies) loved them! I will definitely use this to make cakes as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

    • on January 25, 2009

      These vegan chocolate cupcakes are the BEST! I'm not vegan but I make them for my son who is. I took a dozen to a baby shower where there were non-vegans with non-vegan cupcakes and the ones I took were gone in a flash. I make them everytime I'm in the mood for something rich and chocolatey and if my son is lucky I share them with him.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      These were a huge hit at my daughter's birthday party. We were the only vegans, but there were lots of people going for seconds! This recipe is very moist and rich. The frosting was great -- in my opinion, it finished them off. I did swap out the soymilk for almond milk. We'd definitely make them again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      i made this recipe into a cake for my vegan friends and they were OBSESSED with it. even my friends who aren't vegan thought the cake was amazing.. its easy to make and tastes amazing, i will definetly make it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      I didn't make the cake, just the frosting, but it was great! so easy and quick and really rich! I did add a bit more cocoa powder as it was really sweet, and used almond milk instead of soy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      this recipe was great. My cousin is allergic to dairy but she loves chocolate. These were a great surprise for her when I made them. The only adjustment I made was using light brown sugar for part of the white sugar in the cake recipe. But they tasted just like regular cupcakes!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Dark Chocolate Cupcakes With Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (83 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 30

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 238.7
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    32%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 186.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.8 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 28.8 g
    115%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites