Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan Cowboy Tamale Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Cowboy Tamale Pie

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2013

      One of our favorites even though we are a meat eating family! It is very inexpensive meal with lots of flavor, it make huge amounts (so plenty for us to have another meal for lunch the next day). Follow the recipe or make changes as the others have - either way, you can't go wrong!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      Great recipe, will make again. Added a tsp and a half chili powder and black beans in addition to kidney, great northern and vegetarian refried beans. Added a little corn to the corn bread and as I am not actually a vegan a dollop of light sour cream and some black olives on top. It was quite good and I plan to make again. I made this twice from one recipe putting half the chili in the freezer and bringing it out when an unexpected guest arrived. Worked out great using 1/2 corn bread recipe each time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      FANTASTIC!! I followed the recipe exactly and only added chili powder as suggested by several reviewers. Also added cayenne powder since I like my food spicy. I used the Vegan Cornbread by Vino Girl's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      This is delicious! I wasn't sure how I'd feel about carrots in the chili part, but once it was baked I couldn't even taste them but appreciated their texture. I used a smaller casserole dish and used half the chili, freezing the other half to use another night. The cornbread on top was perfect, and the whole casserole makes a delicious leftover. This is a real keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      This was AWESOME! DH is omni and I'm Vegan. This worked out well for us. The only substitutions I made were as follows: about 3/4 of an onion, instead of 3 c fresh tomatoes I used 1 10 oz can of Rotel diced tomatoes and green chilies, instead of kidney beans I used hot chili beans. I split the recipe in half and made mine w/o meat in an 8 inch round pan and DH w/meat in his own 8 inch round pan. This will go into our dinner rotation. Thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      This casserole is delicious. I used salsa in place of the tomato sauce but otherwise followed the recipe. I should have doubled my corn bread recipe as advised by the recipe author. I think that next time I would add some chile powder as was done by a previous reviewer. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

    • on January 09, 2008

      Fantastic stuff!! We just had this for dinner and I am SOOO pleased with this recipe!! I was skeptical about the steam cooking and the amounts of water, but everything turned out nicely done. The filling stood neatly in the pan, not slopping all around the dish like so many bean & veggie (no cheese) casseroles. I used two cubes of vegetable bouillon (enough to make 2 cups broth) for the seasoning. I doubled the recipe on the back of the Quaker cornmeal can, using soy milk and cage-free organic eggs, and it turned out wonderfully golden, brown at the edges, sweet, and a terrific complement to the spicy bean filling. OH - I also added about a tbsp. of chili powder. Baked for about 30 minutes, it came out perfectly. Now I have a panful of delicious tamale pie to eat for a few more meals - great for an unpredictable grad school schedule!! Thank you so much for posting this gem!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Cowboy Tamale Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (155 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 90.7
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    85%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 243.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken-flavored vegetarian seasoning

    vegetarian refried beans

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites