83 Reviews

My 15 month old has an egg allergy and I also have taken dairy out of her diet because of her Athsma. My husband is serious about his boxed cornbread so I made this recipe knowing that he wouldn't like it, but everyone in the house could eat it. I am a pessimist and I read the favorable reviews of this recipe, but didn't at all think it would be that great.
Both my kids loved it. We had a guest who commented more than once that she liked it. The hubby said he liked it...and I didn't believe him. I have a cold and have no functional taste buds so I don't count right now.
Later that night, out of the blue, hubby said "that was REALLY good cornbread" YAY!
I followed the recipe except I didn't have soy milk so I used almond milk. I also followed one reviewers advice and cooked it in a black iron skillet for crispy edges. The consistency was perfect. Moist, dense and I didn't have any problems with crumbling - well not any more than your usual cornbread I suppose.
Overall, I was really pleased. This recipe is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jodennis1 September 27, 2012

Delish! I used whole wheat flour, brown sugar and one mashed banana in lieu of the oil. I also made muffins instead of bread. Super simple and taste great. This is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SoxMum September 26, 2012

This is an amazing staple recipe. I used 1/2 cup all purpose flour and for the other half I used barley flour. I used virgin coconut oil (so yummy to bake with) in place of canola/vegetable oil. I didn't have a cast iron skillet so it was a little crumbly, but yummy and tolerable. I didn't have flax seeds and did not substitute anything in the place of it except a little extra whole wheat flour. I baked it in a pie-like glass dish and on 400 (because I was afraid the dish would get too hot and burn before it was fully cooked). I only had to cook it for 15 minutes too. Next time I will bake it at 425 because that might crisp the edges more and make it less crumbly. Anyway, lol, thanks for sharing such an yummy and simple corn bread recipe :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy Belle July 20, 2012

This is the best cornbread I've ever had and was thrilled to find it. I made it for school colonial day and everyone loved it. I'm going to use whole wheat flour for half of it from now on and try applesauce instead of oil to make it fat free. I think it'll still be great. We're keeping this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
virginianvegan June 09, 2012

I was cooking dinner for my daughter (age 7), her guest (age 8) and my husband. The guest is a vegan so I was looking for a corn bread recipe and this one turned out perfectly -- even though I modified it a bit. I didn't have flax seed so I added a snack cup of apple sauce and I put in a packed 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of white sugar. I also added about 3/4 cup of frozen corn. I used 2 mini-muffin pans and baked the corn bread for 15 minutes and it turned out perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allenderl April 30, 2012

This turned out really well. Nutty and full of flavor. I substituted 2 TBSP agave for the sugar and added 2 TBSP of molasses. Goes great with apple butter. Yum!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Drmdsgnr January 20, 2012

Awesome! Last night I made vegan chili-mac and this recipe, with the suggestions provided by Christina-Bobina. It turned out great. I was so impressed with the texture and how it held together. My husband isn't vegan, nor is he a big fan of corn bread, but he truly enjoyed this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eleigh November 09, 2011

This recipe is awesome! It was easy to make and tastes delicious! We can't wait to make this for our non-vegan friends and family :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shanjo3 October 22, 2011

Very delicious; however, mine did not hold together as well as I'd have liked. So the second time I made it, I used the batter as a base for a vegan tamale pie (using "faux beef" soy crumbles) and that turned out wonderfully.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Dilettante August 19, 2011

You know its good when your 8 yr. old said"Mommy can we have this vegan cornbread instead of the other kind!?" Other kind meaning your usual boxed version that calls for egg, oil, and milk. This made a very moist and delicious cornbread. The 2 things I did differently was that I used Almond milk (vanilla flavored) just because I like almond milk better than soymilk and I used organic unbleached all purpose flour. Next time I will try it with Agave nectar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tripletmom19 August 09, 2011
Vegan Cornbread