84 Reviews

Awesome recipe! I bookmarked this and will definitely be making this again, very soon:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hcoscia July 16, 2013

Great cornbread recipe! This is the first vegan cornbread recipe that I have tried, and I loved it! I followed the advice of another review and added the tbsp of whole wheat flour. I also let the batter rest for about 15 minutes. I also added in a can of corn kernels and baked the cornbread in a cast iron skillet. The crust on this bread was beautiful! The texture was moist and a little crumbly. My husband loved it so much he ate three helpings! I have also double the recipe with great success. You just need to adjust the baking time to about 55 minutes in a 10-inch cast iron skillet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
houtle85 June 18, 2013

I too found that cooking the flaxseed mixture was unnecessary, just use warm tap water, works perfectly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nanajodi101 March 12, 2013

Do yourself a favor and avoid this recipe. 4 teaspoons baking powder is an insanely high amount that renders this cornbread inedible. I tried it, despite some reservations, because I have been surprised before with some vegan baking recipes, where things that don't seem to "work" if you've been used to conventional baking, do indeed work. Bad idea in this case. Looked pretty, but absolutely inedible, had to throw it out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mromero40 March 02, 2013

This was my very first try at vegan cornbread and it was awesome!!! I'm thrilled with it and will be a little adventurous and try substituting applesauce for the oil. Really yummy! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrylb123 February 18, 2013

My search for the perfect cornbread recipe is now OVER! This one is so incredibly delicious, I will never try another one again. To save dirtying a pan, I placed the ground flax seeds and water in a small bowl, and microwaved for 30 second intervals, and then whisked until thick. Worked like a charm, and really made the flax "egg" a wonderful consistancy. I loved this recipe becasue of its simple ingredients. So many other vegan cornbread recipes call for vinegar added to the soy or almond milk. This does not require the extra step, and I think the flavor was better. For mine, I used unsweetened almond milk, becasue that is my "go-to" milk for baking. Thanks for posting the vegan version of this one!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kozmic Blues February 13, 2013

This was just fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly and even thought I overbeat it! It was just delicious and the perfect texture and flavor. I did add about 1/3 cup chopped canned jalepenos and it was great. I'm a new vegan and there is no need to keep looking. I've found the best cornbread recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vkline326 January 28, 2013

Delicious. The flax seeds add delicate texture that compliments the cornmeal.
I made mine in a cast-iron skillet and lowered the temperature to 375 (I noticed that recipes using a cast-iron pan all seemed to set the temperature to 375). Cooking time remained the same.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie_J January 27, 2013

**Love this recipe** I've made this three times now and it's pretty much bulletproof. I add 2 tablespoons of brown sugar (on top of the 1/4 white sugar) to the dry mix. I've also added frozen kernel corn (about 1/4 cup) and jalapeno peppers as well. Next time I think I'm going to add Bacos. (Yes, they're vegan)

Have been enjoying this cornbread with lentil stew. :)

Thanks for sharing!

Read more at: http://www.food.com/recipe/vegan-cornbread-115929/review?oc=linkback

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foodie McFotoman December 21, 2012

This is the first vegan cornbread I've ever made. It doesn't taste like the cornbread I grew up with, but it's still pretty good. I substituted 1/4 c applesauce and 1 Tbsp oil for the oil. Also, I used coconut sugar instead of white sugar. It's more nutritious. The changes I made may have altered the taste some, but I still think I'll make this recipe again. I might try adding jalapenos or cumin, garlic powder, paprika, almost any spice. This is pretty descent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megaerosmithfan October 03, 2012
Vegan Cornbread