81 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Do yourself a favor and avoid this recipe. 4 teaspoons baking powder is an insanely high amount that renders this cornbread inedible. I tried it, despite some reservations, because I have been surprised before with some vegan baking recipes, where things that don't seem to "work" if you've been used to conventional baking, do indeed work. Bad idea in this case. Looked pretty, but absolutely inedible, had to throw it out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mromero40 March 02, 2013

This was my very first try at vegan cornbread and it was awesome!!! I'm thrilled with it and will be a little adventurous and try substituting applesauce for the oil. Really yummy! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrylb123 February 19, 2013

My search for the perfect cornbread recipe is now OVER! This one is so incredibly delicious, I will never try another one again. To save dirtying a pan, I placed the ground flax seeds and water in a small bowl, and microwaved for 30 second intervals, and then whisked until thick. Worked like a charm, and really made the flax "egg" a wonderful consistancy. I loved this recipe becasue of its simple ingredients. So many other vegan cornbread recipes call for vinegar added to the soy or almond milk. This does not require the extra step, and I think the flavor was better. For mine, I used unsweetened almond milk, becasue that is my "go-to" milk for baking. Thanks for posting the vegan version of this one!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kozmic Blues February 13, 2013

This was just fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly and even thought I overbeat it! It was just delicious and the perfect texture and flavor. I did add about 1/3 cup chopped canned jalepenos and it was great. I'm a new vegan and there is no need to keep looking. I've found the best cornbread recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vkline326 January 28, 2013

Delicious. The flax seeds add delicate texture that compliments the cornmeal.
I made mine in a cast-iron skillet and lowered the temperature to 375 (I noticed that recipes using a cast-iron pan all seemed to set the temperature to 375). Cooking time remained the same.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie_J January 27, 2013

**Love this recipe** I've made this three times now and it's pretty much bulletproof. I add 2 tablespoons of brown sugar (on top of the 1/4 white sugar) to the dry mix. I've also added frozen kernel corn (about 1/4 cup) and jalapeno peppers as well. Next time I think I'm going to add Bacos. (Yes, they're vegan)

Have been enjoying this cornbread with lentil stew. :)

Thanks for sharing!

Read more at: http://www.food.com/recipe/vegan-cornbread-115929/review?oc=linkback

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foodie McFotoman December 21, 2012

This is the first vegan cornbread I've ever made. It doesn't taste like the cornbread I grew up with, but it's still pretty good. I substituted 1/4 c applesauce and 1 Tbsp oil for the oil. Also, I used coconut sugar instead of white sugar. It's more nutritious. The changes I made may have altered the taste some, but I still think I'll make this recipe again. I might try adding jalapenos or cumin, garlic powder, paprika, almost any spice. This is pretty descent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megaerosmithfan October 03, 2012

This is a perfect recipe. I followed it exactly except I sprayed pam in an iron skillet and baked it in that. Delicious. Not even a crumb was left.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
candymom October 02, 2012

My 15 month old has an egg allergy and I also have taken dairy out of her diet because of her Athsma. My husband is serious about his boxed cornbread so I made this recipe knowing that he wouldn't like it, but everyone in the house could eat it. I am a pessimist and I read the favorable reviews of this recipe, but didn't at all think it would be that great.
Both my kids loved it. We had a guest who commented more than once that she liked it. The hubby said he liked it...and I didn't believe him. I have a cold and have no functional taste buds so I don't count right now.
Later that night, out of the blue, hubby said "that was REALLY good cornbread" YAY!
I followed the recipe except I didn't have soy milk so I used almond milk. I also followed one reviewers advice and cooked it in a black iron skillet for crispy edges. The consistency was perfect. Moist, dense and I didn't have any problems with crumbling - well not any more than your usual cornbread I suppose.
Overall, I was really pleased. This recipe is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jodennis1 September 27, 2012

Delish! I used whole wheat flour, brown sugar and one mashed banana in lieu of the oil. I also made muffins instead of bread. Super simple and taste great. This is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SoxMum September 26, 2012
Vegan Cornbread