Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    80 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 80

    Sort by:

    • on October 02, 2010

      I used this recipe to make my own cornbread eggless. I used 2 cups of self rising cornmeal mix with the called for amounts of flax seed, water and oil. I use regular 2% milk and increase the amount to 1 and half cups because it was a very thick batter with just one cup. Instead of boiling the water, I just microwaved it for 2 minutes and stirred in the flax until thickened to egg like consistency. I mixed it with the milk and added it to the dry ingredients. It turned out perfectly, very soft inside w/ a crispy crust. Thanks so much for sharing the recpe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      Yum! So happy to find this after some real vegan flops. Made exactly. I think I will try just adding the water and ground flax without boiling next time as it was so sticky it was hard to mix with the other ingredients and showed in a few places after being baked. Even so, excellent cornbread. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      "Thank you from the bottom of my heart!" I made this for my DGD who has always been a Veg. but has recently chosen a Vegan lifestyle. She has always "loved" cornbread. This Vegan recipe "made her weekend" with me! We ate it after it was baked. We toasted it the next day. We did some as fried bread in the pan and even froze a piece to see if you can freeze it. Wow! It worked in every way and was Vegan! I sent her home with a copy of your recipe. At 13, she is a good cook and has been a good baker. Thank you. You made both of us happy. It's really good cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      this is really good! I didnt use flaxseeds at all and I used whole wheat flour instead of the white. I skipped steps 3-5 and it still came out really great. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      This is the best cornbread I've ever had, vegan or otherwise. I used blue cornmeal and whole wheat pastry flour. It was light, moist, sweet, and delicious even a few days later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      Well, this could have been a disaster, but it came out great. I didn't have ground flax seeds. Thought I could just grind 'em in the blender. Nope. So I took a chance and added water to the blender instead of cooking them in water as recommended. Got them mushy, so I proceeded with high hopes. Then I used some home-ground, coarse-ground indian corn-meal along with the regular corn meal. And I used succanat instead of sugar and milk instead of soymilk (didn't need it to be vegan, just egg-free). And voila, it still came out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      I used honey instead of sugar. I think the baking time is WAY too long. I put it in for 12 minutes and realized it was starting burn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      I am no longer vegan but I still think this is the absolute best cornbread recipe. I use regular milk sometimes instead of soymilk and it is still delish. This is now THE cornbread in my family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      I just made my cornbread using this recipe and it was totally unedible ! Too much baking powder! I thought it was too much when I was adding it but my boyfriend insisted that I follow the recipe ( I should have followed my instinct). Other than that, the cornbread "looked " good. I 'll try it again but with less baking powder. Kinda suprised noone has pointed that out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      I made a couple of changes - applesauce for oil, sea salt for table salt, and homemade almond milk instead of soymilk. This is really a good recipe - the texure has got the right "bite" and the weight is just right. Next time I'll add some frozen corn kernels and a bit more sugar. Otherwise, yum! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

    • on October 29, 2008

      Best cornbread hands down!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      The best cornbread ever! This is the only recipe we use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Great recipe! It is almost two years since I left the U.S. and never got to taste cornbread since. While I was eating this cornbread the good old days there came back to my mind - Definitely a meal overloaded with emotions he he!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      This is our favorite cornbread recipe. Moist, perfectly sweet and salty at the same time. Not too doughy, but not too crumbly. All around perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      Lovely! This is my first attempt at a vegan cornbread since becoming a veg head and I'm quite impressed. A little Earth Balance (non dairy margerine) and I'm in love. I made a few changes...I added a tad more sugar by about an 1/8 a cup. Used a half and half mix of white flour and whole wheat to up the nutrition factor and used vegetable oil because I didn't have canola. This will be a permanent recipe for my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      YUMMMMMMM! Excellent texture. Easy to make. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and rice milk ( we need to cook soy free) . It got great toddler reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      That's delicious. Moist. Easy to tell when done. Seemed like a LOTTA baking powder to me, though, and you can taste it slightly. But it's good and hardy and filling. I added a few teaspoons of honey and used whole wheat flour. Gave it a nice tinge of sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      Great recipe! Works well just as it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      My mom made this recipe just as it was written. It has to be the best cornbread she has ever made from scratch or package. I can't believe there are no eggs in it. It was light and not dense. Wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 198.5
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    35%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 374.7 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    27%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes