84 Reviews

Wow. Surprised that I was able to finally make a vegan food item that turned out and turned out so great! Followed the recipe, which was insanely simple (i am a horrible baker) except I used all organic ingredients and I did have to sub whole wheat flour for the all purpose flour because we only bake with whole wheat and we are snowed in so that is all i had to use. The texture still came out great; soft and fluffy but with a slight heaviness to it (just enough to give it some depth. I liked that it was not overly sweet but not lacking in flavor at all. I had never made anything with the flax subbing the egg and butter and wasnt sure how it would turn out but it was easy to do and worked great (i used flax meal) my 4 yr old daughter loved them. i am not persoanlly vegan but my sister is so i will share this with her and make these again as it saves me on buying organic butter which is very expensive for me. thanks so much for sharing this great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifer in new jersey February 22, 2008

This cornbread is great. my whole family loved it. I've even stolen the flax seed-water combination and used it to replace the egg in my applesauce muffins, with great success. since the combine flax and water has the consistency of an egg I figured that I could use it as such

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MargoMart February 17, 2008

Very, very good! Sweet and tender. This is NOT a substandard vegan substitute for 'regular' cornbread! Given its taste and texture, as well as the nutritional benefits inherent in the flax seed and soy milk, I don't think I can ever justify making 'traditional' cornbread again. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeLeLive February 07, 2008

I am happy with this cornbread recipe, but not ecstatic. I followed the recipe exactly as written. My husband and I love flax, and we liked the slight flaxxy taste. The texture of this bread is outstanding: moist, not too light, not too dense, and not crumbly. The bread tasted even better the day after I made it. I prefer a slightly sweeter cornbread (this bread hardly had any sweetness to it), so I will increase the sugar to 1/2 cup the next time I make it. I may increase my rating to 5 stars after making it with more sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
death_by_parsnip December 08, 2005

I doubled this recipe and it was still SO amazing. I added strawberries to it and had a sweet side dish to BBQ beans, rice and collards. I had to use brown sugar to make up part of the sugar portion, and instead of plain canola oil I used a combination of coconut oil and Earth Balance butter (had to wing it with what I had in my cupboards). I was worried making substitutions but this recipe seems pretty foolhardy. I will agree with one poster that after the second day it began to taste a bit like the baking soda/apple cider vinegar, but I am glad for the excuse to eat it all the first day now ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tate b. September 07, 2016

Fourth time I have made this and it is great. I cut the recipe in half for two people and use a smaller deep pan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elsierao December 31, 2015

Absolutely DELICIOUS! I loved cornbread and when I went vegan I just couldn't find a recipe I liked until this one came along. My husband and I practically ate the whole pan of bread the first time I made it. I had to make it four times in tree days we liked it so much!! I too made it in an iron skillet which I preheated in the oven and when the oven was ready the skillet was ready too. I put only one tablespoon of oil in the pan and swirled it around before pouring the batter into the pan. It was done in 18 minutes too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolcasparian January 30, 2015

we loved this. 425 degrees was too hot. we used almond milk instead of soy and a cast iron pan along with 2 T vital wheat gluten to make it bind better per another review. We used a cast iron skillet too. I am a Southern girl and I have to say, this was a great recipe. crispy on the outside, soft on the inside. Will definitely make again and figure out what went wrong when removing from skillet. But have to note, the crispy parts were fabulous and the soft parts were amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
connellj November 24, 2013

Great Cornbread! Bread is great to eat warm out of the oven. Might eat the entire thing in a single day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
James S. September 14, 2013

This is gorgeous! Very light and fluffy. Delicious! Thanks for the best cornbread recipe, ever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
milolasmom August 24, 2013
Vegan Cornbread