81 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This cornbread is great. my whole family loved it. I've even stolen the flax seed-water combination and used it to replace the egg in my applesauce muffins, with great success. since the combine flax and water has the consistency of an egg I figured that I could use it as such

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MargoMart February 17, 2008

Very, very good! Sweet and tender. This is NOT a substandard vegan substitute for 'regular' cornbread! Given its taste and texture, as well as the nutritional benefits inherent in the flax seed and soy milk, I don't think I can ever justify making 'traditional' cornbread again. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeLeLive February 07, 2008

I am happy with this cornbread recipe, but not ecstatic. I followed the recipe exactly as written. My husband and I love flax, and we liked the slight flaxxy taste. The texture of this bread is outstanding: moist, not too light, not too dense, and not crumbly. The bread tasted even better the day after I made it. I prefer a slightly sweeter cornbread (this bread hardly had any sweetness to it), so I will increase the sugar to 1/2 cup the next time I make it. I may increase my rating to 5 stars after making it with more sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
death_by_parsnip December 08, 2005

Absolutely DELICIOUS! I loved cornbread and when I went vegan I just couldn't find a recipe I liked until this one came along. My husband and I practically ate the whole pan of bread the first time I made it. I had to make it four times in tree days we liked it so much!! I too made it in an iron skillet which I preheated in the oven and when the oven was ready the skillet was ready too. I put only one tablespoon of oil in the pan and swirled it around before pouring the batter into the pan. It was done in 18 minutes too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolcasparian January 31, 2015

we loved this. 425 degrees was too hot. we used almond milk instead of soy and a cast iron pan along with 2 T vital wheat gluten to make it bind better per another review. We used a cast iron skillet too. I am a Southern girl and I have to say, this was a great recipe. crispy on the outside, soft on the inside. Will definitely make again and figure out what went wrong when removing from skillet. But have to note, the crispy parts were fabulous and the soft parts were amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
connellj November 25, 2013

Great Cornbread! Bread is great to eat warm out of the oven. Might eat the entire thing in a single day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
James S. September 14, 2013

This is gorgeous! Very light and fluffy. Delicious! Thanks for the best cornbread recipe, ever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
milolasmom August 24, 2013

Awesome recipe! I bookmarked this and will definitely be making this again, very soon:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hcoscia July 16, 2013

Great cornbread recipe! This is the first vegan cornbread recipe that I have tried, and I loved it! I followed the advice of another review and added the tbsp of whole wheat flour. I also let the batter rest for about 15 minutes. I also added in a can of corn kernels and baked the cornbread in a cast iron skillet. The crust on this bread was beautiful! The texture was moist and a little crumbly. My husband loved it so much he ate three helpings! I have also double the recipe with great success. You just need to adjust the baking time to about 55 minutes in a 10-inch cast iron skillet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
houtle85 June 18, 2013

I too found that cooking the flaxseed mixture was unnecessary, just use warm tap water, works perfectly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nanajodi101 March 12, 2013
Vegan Cornbread