Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    80 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 80

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2013

      This was my very first try at vegan cornbread and it was awesome!!! I'm thrilled with it and will be a little adventurous and try substituting applesauce for the oil. Really yummy! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      My search for the perfect cornbread recipe is now OVER! This one is so incredibly delicious, I will never try another one again. To save dirtying a pan, I placed the ground flax seeds and water in a small bowl, and microwaved for 30 second intervals, and then whisked until thick. Worked like a charm, and really made the flax "egg" a wonderful consistancy. I loved this recipe becasue of its simple ingredients. So many other vegan cornbread recipes call for vinegar added to the soy or almond milk. This does not require the extra step, and I think the flavor was better. For mine, I used unsweetened almond milk, becasue that is my "go-to" milk for baking. Thanks for posting the vegan version of this one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      This was just fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly and even thought I overbeat it! It was just delicious and the perfect texture and flavor. I did add about 1/3 cup chopped canned jalepenos and it was great. I'm a new vegan and there is no need to keep looking. I've found the best cornbread recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      Delicious. The flax seeds add delicate texture that compliments the cornmeal.
      I made mine in a cast-iron skillet and lowered the temperature to 375 (I noticed that recipes using a cast-iron pan all seemed to set the temperature to 375). Cooking time remained the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      **Love this recipe** I've made this three times now and it's pretty much bulletproof. I add 2 tablespoons of brown sugar (on top of the 1/4 white sugar) to the dry mix. I've also added frozen kernel corn (about 1/4 cup) and jalapeno peppers as well. Next time I think I'm going to add Bacos. (Yes, they're vegan)

      Have been enjoying this cornbread with lentil stew. :)

      Thanks for sharing!

      Read more at: http://www.food.com/recipe/vegan-cornbread-115929/review?oc=linkback

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2012

      This is the first vegan cornbread I've ever made. It doesn't taste like the cornbread I grew up with, but it's still pretty good. I substituted 1/4 c applesauce and 1 Tbsp oil for the oil. Also, I used coconut sugar instead of white sugar. It's more nutritious. The changes I made may have altered the taste some, but I still think I'll make this recipe again. I might try adding jalapenos or cumin, garlic powder, paprika, almost any spice. This is pretty descent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      This is a perfect recipe. I followed it exactly except I sprayed pam in an iron skillet and baked it in that. Delicious. Not even a crumb was left.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2012

      My 15 month old has an egg allergy and I also have taken dairy out of her diet because of her Athsma. My husband is serious about his boxed cornbread so I made this recipe knowing that he wouldn't like it, but everyone in the house could eat it. I am a pessimist and I read the favorable reviews of this recipe, but didn't at all think it would be that great.
      Both my kids loved it. We had a guest who commented more than once that she liked it. The hubby said he liked it...and I didn't believe him. I have a cold and have no functional taste buds so I don't count right now.
      Later that night, out of the blue, hubby said "that was REALLY good cornbread" YAY!
      I followed the recipe except I didn't have soy milk so I used almond milk. I also followed one reviewers advice and cooked it in a black iron skillet for crispy edges. The consistency was perfect. Moist, dense and I didn't have any problems with crumbling - well not any more than your usual cornbread I suppose.
      Overall, I was really pleased. This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      Delish! I used whole wheat flour, brown sugar and one mashed banana in lieu of the oil. I also made muffins instead of bread. Super simple and taste great. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      This is an amazing staple recipe. I used 1/2 cup all purpose flour and for the other half I used barley flour. I used virgin coconut oil (so yummy to bake with) in place of canola/vegetable oil. I didn't have a cast iron skillet so it was a little crumbly, but yummy and tolerable. I didn't have flax seeds and did not substitute anything in the place of it except a little extra whole wheat flour. I baked it in a pie-like glass dish and on 400 (because I was afraid the dish would get too hot and burn before it was fully cooked). I only had to cook it for 15 minutes too. Next time I will bake it at 425 because that might crisp the edges more and make it less crumbly. Anyway, lol, thanks for sharing such an yummy and simple corn bread recipe :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2012

      This is the best cornbread I've ever had and was thrilled to find it. I made it for school colonial day and everyone loved it. I'm going to use whole wheat flour for half of it from now on and try applesauce instead of oil to make it fat free. I think it'll still be great. We're keeping this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2012

      I was cooking dinner for my daughter (age 7), her guest (age 8) and my husband. The guest is a vegan so I was looking for a corn bread recipe and this one turned out perfectly -- even though I modified it a bit. I didn't have flax seed so I added a snack cup of apple sauce and I put in a packed 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of white sugar. I also added about 3/4 cup of frozen corn. I used 2 mini-muffin pans and baked the corn bread for 15 minutes and it turned out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2012

      This turned out really well. Nutty and full of flavor. I substituted 2 TBSP agave for the sugar and added 2 TBSP of molasses. Goes great with apple butter. Yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2011

      Awesome! Last night I made vegan chili-mac and this recipe, with the suggestions provided by Christina-Bobina. It turned out great. I was so impressed with the texture and how it held together. My husband isn't vegan, nor is he a big fan of corn bread, but he truly enjoyed this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      This recipe is awesome! It was easy to make and tastes delicious! We can't wait to make this for our non-vegan friends and family :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      Very delicious; however, mine did not hold together as well as I'd have liked. So the second time I made it, I used the batter as a base for a vegan tamale pie (using "faux beef" soy crumbles) and that turned out wonderfully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2011

      You know its good when your 8 yr. old said"Mommy can we have this vegan cornbread instead of the other kind!?" Other kind meaning your usual boxed version that calls for egg, oil, and milk. This made a very moist and delicious cornbread. The 2 things I did differently was that I used Almond milk (vanilla flavored) just because I like almond milk better than soymilk and I used organic unbleached all purpose flour. Next time I will try it with Agave nectar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      Really great! Made it as is. Even my super picky boys ate it up and couldn't get enough :) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      Wow! This cornbread was amazing! and to think an 11 yr old developed the recipe! This turned out quite surprisingly nice considering...no eggs, no dairy. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      Delicious! I mixed the cold water with the flax seeds (as you do in many vegan recipes that call for flax seeds as egg substitute) and just let it sit a bit before adding. I used half regular, half whole wheat flour. I used about 1/8 cup sugar which was sweet enough. I had to add about 1/2 cup extra soy milk to get it to the right consistency and only baked it for about 15 min. (but maybe b/c I used a circular pie pan?)
      Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 198.5
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    35%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 374.7 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    27%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes