Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    80 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 80

    Sort by:

    • on August 25, 2011

      This is the best vegan cornbread recipe I've found (and I been on a quest to find one for 5 years). I have a few tips for the other cooks out there. (1) Add one tablespoon of vital wheat gluten flour to help with the binding. (2) Let the batter sit for about 10 to 15 minutes before baking, in order to let it become more glutenous so it won't crumble when done baking. (3) Bake it in a cast iron skillet: First, preheat the cast iron skillet in the oven. When the oven is done preheating, it's time to add the batter. Take out the cast iron skillet with pot holders (It's hot!) add a tablespoon or 2 of oil, and roll it around greasing the bottom and sides. Then add the batter, and pop it back into the oven. Baking in the cast iron skillet give the cornbread nice crispy edges. I only needed to bake mine for 18 minutes. (4) 2 Variation ideas are adding a little vanilla extract, or some maple syrup with a can of drained chopped green chilis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      Really enjoyed this recipe! Recently, I've tried several to see if I can match Bob's prepackaged gluten free cornbread and this is very close! I am always substituting, so I thought I'd list...

      ****substitutions*****
      1 cup all-purpose flour = 1/2 cup gluten free all-purpose 1/4 cup brown rice flour 1/4 cup corn flour

      1/4 cup sugar = 3 tbsp agave and 8 drops of liquid stevia

      1/4 cup oil = 1/4 cup applesauce

      Hint~ I find that setting flax mixture on top of stove as it preheats works to help bind!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Quite a nice, corny cornbread. I ground flaxseed in a coffee grinder. I did skip steps 3 and 4 and just added the flax meal to the whole mixture. It baked up just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2013

      This recipe was great the first day. But if as it ages you taste and smell the baking powder. After 3 days this bread is no longer edible.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      Great Vegan Recipe! I followed one reviewers tip and did not boil the water. Flaxseed and room temperature filtered water worked just fine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      I followed the recipe as written with one substitution: I used rice milk instead of soy milk. The cornbread turned out just as good as a recipe containing egg and regular milk. This recipe surpasses all other vegan versions I have tried. I really think it's the flax meal that makes it. Thank you for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      Great recipe. I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose flour, the crumb was still very light and moist.. The flavor was terrific and the sweetness was just right.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      I loved this and could have eaten the entire thing myself. I replaced the oil with applesauce and used plain soy milk. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Wow. Surprised that I was able to finally make a vegan food item that turned out and turned out so great! Followed the recipe, which was insanely simple (i am a horrible baker) except I used all organic ingredients and I did have to sub whole wheat flour for the all purpose flour because we only bake with whole wheat and we are snowed in so that is all i had to use. The texture still came out great; soft and fluffy but with a slight heaviness to it (just enough to give it some depth. I liked that it was not overly sweet but not lacking in flavor at all. I had never made anything with the flax subbing the egg and butter and wasnt sure how it would turn out but it was easy to do and worked great (i used flax meal) my 4 yr old daughter loved them. i am not persoanlly vegan but my sister is so i will share this with her and make these again as it saves me on buying organic butter which is very expensive for me. thanks so much for sharing this great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      This cornbread is great. my whole family loved it. I've even stolen the flax seed-water combination and used it to replace the egg in my applesauce muffins, with great success. since the combine flax and water has the consistency of an egg I figured that I could use it as such

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      Very, very good! Sweet and tender. This is NOT a substandard vegan substitute for 'regular' cornbread! Given its taste and texture, as well as the nutritional benefits inherent in the flax seed and soy milk, I don't think I can ever justify making 'traditional' cornbread again. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2005

      I am happy with this cornbread recipe, but not ecstatic. I followed the recipe exactly as written. My husband and I love flax, and we liked the slight flaxxy taste. The texture of this bread is outstanding: moist, not too light, not too dense, and not crumbly. The bread tasted even better the day after I made it. I prefer a slightly sweeter cornbread (this bread hardly had any sweetness to it), so I will increase the sugar to 1/2 cup the next time I make it. I may increase my rating to 5 stars after making it with more sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      I've tried a lot of vegan cornbread recipes and this is the best one. I used chia seeds instead of flax because I like them better but that's the only tweak I made to the recipe. This one is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

      we loved this. 425 degrees was too hot. we used almond milk instead of soy and a cast iron pan along with 2 T vital wheat gluten to make it bind better per another review. We used a cast iron skillet too. I am a Southern girl and I have to say, this was a great recipe. crispy on the outside, soft on the inside. Will definitely make again and figure out what went wrong when removing from skillet. But have to note, the crispy parts were fabulous and the soft parts were amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2013

      Great Cornbread! Bread is great to eat warm out of the oven. Might eat the entire thing in a single day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2013

      This is gorgeous! Very light and fluffy. Delicious! Thanks for the best cornbread recipe, ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2013

      Awesome recipe! I bookmarked this and will definitely be making this again, very soon:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2013

      Great cornbread recipe! This is the first vegan cornbread recipe that I have tried, and I loved it! I followed the advice of another review and added the tbsp of whole wheat flour. I also let the batter rest for about 15 minutes. I also added in a can of corn kernels and baked the cornbread in a cast iron skillet. The crust on this bread was beautiful! The texture was moist and a little crumbly. My husband loved it so much he ate three helpings! I have also double the recipe with great success. You just need to adjust the baking time to about 55 minutes in a 10-inch cast iron skillet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      I too found that cooking the flaxseed mixture was unnecessary, just use warm tap water, works perfectly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      Do yourself a favor and avoid this recipe. 4 teaspoons baking powder is an insanely high amount that renders this cornbread inedible. I tried it, despite some reservations, because I have been surprised before with some vegan baking recipes, where things that don't seem to "work" if you've been used to conventional baking, do indeed work. Bad idea in this case. Looked pretty, but absolutely inedible, had to throw it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 198.5
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    35%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 374.7 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    27%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes