Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan Carrot Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Carrot Cake

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2010

      I loved this recipe! I substituted the applesauce for crushed pineapple and I added extra cinnamon. I also added a little nutmeg and cloves. Everyone raved about it, they couldn't believe it was vegan. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      Best carrot cake ever. I don't normally like to use Ener-G but it was definitely worth it in this. I can't get tofutti cream cheese where I live so I used the buttercream frosting recipe from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World and it complemented the cake very well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Really REALLY good! I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and cut the regular sugar down to 1/4 cup. The only change I will make next time is in the frosting. 1 1/2 cups sugar was too sweet but that is just personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      AMAZING cake! i make this all the time. those who are fearful when they hear the word "vegan" have never been able to tell the difference!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      I used this recipe for cupcakes yesterday and it turned out great! I substituted apple sauce for a small can of crushed pineapple and sprinkled in some ground cloves and nutmeg. I am skeptical of vegan baked goods but these really won me over (as well as 4 of my non-vegan coworkers!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      It was really yummy! It is by far the nicest vegan carrot cake I have come across in my 25 years as a vegan. My husband & friends loved it too & wanted the recipe. The only change I made to the recipe was to add 1 tablespoon each of soy flour & water for each egg substitute as we can't get Ener-G here in Cyprus where I live. I left out the nuts & used less powdered sugar in the frosting. It was simply marvellous. Couldn't get enough of it, it disappeared so quickly!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      This carrot cake is amazing! My fiance ate over half of it in one sitting. To fix the runny frosting, I added a little corn starch and refrigerated just the frosting for about an hour or so before putting it on the cake. Worked perfect and came out beautiful!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      My son said this cake was better than anything he'd ever had at Whole Foods. The only difference between this cake and a non-vegan cake is the frosting--Tofutti Cream Cheese does not make as firm an icing as regular cream cheese. My son asked for a vegan carrot cake for his b'day. I made a layer cake. There was plenty of batter for 2 8" layers. I increased the cream cheese and powdered sugar to 8-oz. and 3-1/2 cups to have enough to fill and frost the cake. The icing was too soft and ran down the sides, but it tasted great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      this is an excellent recipe! everyone who tried it loved it, and couldn't believe it was vegan. i made it exactly as posted, and it was wonderful. i have created a slightly healthier version and posted as Healthy Carrot Cake. thanks so much for posting carol!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      This was delicious...It is definitely my favorite vegan cake that I've made!! Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      I had to do a wedding cake for a vegan couple and I didn't have all the odd things other recipes called for! This was excellent, they loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      To replace 1 egg and applesauce: I used 1 banana and a peeled pear, cut and microwaved, then mashed together. then to replace the other eggs, i used 2tbs cornstarch + 2 tbs soy powder + 4 tbs hot water and whisked together. i got a recipe for vegan cream cheese online and made it myself. cake turned out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2001

      This is the most luscious carrot cake ever! It is so easy to make, esp if you have a food processor to shred the carrots. Bravo Carol!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2012

      I used the recipe, but I altered a few things. Instead of egg substitute which my store did not have, I used 2 tbs of soy flour and 1 tbs cornstarch mixed with about 3 tbs of hot water (maybe a little more, depending on consistency (you don't want it pasty, but not too runny either). I also eyeballed how much powdered sugar I used in the frosting based on how thick I wanted it. I probably used around a cup or a little more. I refrigerated the frosting over night and let the cupcakes cool overnight also and then frosted them this morning. I added raisins instead of nuts and a little pumpkin pie spice in addition to the cinnamon. Ps...food processors make shredding the carrots AWESOME. Since I did cupcakes instead of cake, I baked on 325 for about 30 minutes. So moist and yummy! Not missing the dairy one bit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2012

      I felt the taste was a little plain but the texture was spot on. I think next time i might add more cinnamon or sugar. I made them into cupcakes instead of a cake. I kept the temp at 325, and baked for 21 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      Loved the taste of the cake but after baking it for 1 hr and 20 minutes the cake remained pudding like and never became cake. i baked it in an 8x8 square pan and increased the temp to 350. could it have been the pineapple chunks i added? my oven is just fine too. i just baked cupcakes and they baked for 16 minutes and cake out nicely. can someone tell me if this is the way the cake is supposed to be? i brought it to an event and it was somewhat embarrassing to slice raw cake to people. i heard people whispering 'it's not baked enough' :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      This basic recipe is consistently fabulous and forgiving of substitutions. I agree with the person who made the recipe similar to this that organic carrots make a positive difference. Other subs: Two med organic apples, pulsed = applesauce and 1.5 Cups of Sucanat = total sugars. I have made this recipe many times recently using (freerange) eggs or Ener-G egg substitutes and they are both great (true eggless being best). Also, Tofutti makes a wonderful product, but some of my clients wanted real cream cheese. In that case, I split it half and half and it's a dream. DO TRY this recipe and discover vegan recipes are really delicious and not scary at all. Thanks, Carol. (The pic on my website is of the whole frosted cake and so I didn't submit it>> next batch for sure!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      This carrot cake was the best one I've ever tasted. And I love carrot cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      Excellent cake. Im not a vegan but like the fact that the recipe is low fat. I used 1 cup of egg product (egg beaters) instead of the Ener-G, and stick to rest of the recipe. The cake was very moist and my husband loved it. Thanks Carol for such a wonderful recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Fabulous carrot cake. Made it for a friends birthday. Totally recommend it. I used raisins instead of nuts- and that worked out just as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Carrot Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (132 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 400.6
     
    Calories from Fat 159
    39%
    Total Fat 17.7 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 403.3 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.0 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 37.7 g
    151%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    egg substitute

    Better Than Cream Cheese cream cheese substitute

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites