17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am in love with this dressing! Just to help out others making it for the first time - I found that 20 blanched almonds is more or less 2 tablespoons ground. Thanks for sharing!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keee July 31, 2012

This was nearly perfect. I added 1 tablespoon of agave, about a half cup of reconstituted arame (seaweed, commonly used in vegan caesar dressing to replace the anchovies for fishiness), and THEN it was perfect. Thank you for the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maddie. October 31, 2009

Mmmm mmmm - loved it! Whether or not you want to call it "Caesar", it is a delicious dressing that can hold it's own with romaine in the same fashion. Would make a great dip too if you cut back on the water. I love how little oil is in this, but still rich from the almonds. I need a dressing to inspire me to make salad sometimes (lazy me), and this absolutely did. I followed your suggestion and ground up the almonds first, then threw the rest of the ingredients in - easy peasy. Thanks for posting!! (Update...used this for a pasta salad - so good, I had people asking for the recipe. Just let it come to room temperature or dress right before serving).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner November 03, 2010

I used raw almond butter because I didn't have time to blanch and grind almonds, and I don't know how that changed it but it turned out very good.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hanna Louise December 26, 2009

Also agreed with the other 5-star reviews. This is a great dressing. I like to blend a couple tablespoons of capers in too to add a bit of extra zing, but it's excellent as is.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heavyfoot April 06, 2009

Agreed-- the perfect Caesar salad dressing is right here! Didn't change it a bit, except for adding a little more water. Since, personally, I can't comprehend the idea of too much garlic (too much- what?! Too MUCH??) three cloves was divine. Thanks so much for posting this, it'll be a regular for me!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
White Rose Child August 31, 2008

I've made this twice in the past week and it's great! I added a splash of red wine vinegar and 1/4 t. of white miso to mine. It's a really strongly-flavored dressing, especially right after it's made, so definitely taste it before serving. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bekbek January 08, 2006

DH really enjoyed this dressing! He did say it was a bit mustardy (he isn't a huge mustard fan so the flavor probably really stuck out for him) so I added a bit of agave to cut the sharp mustard flavor and he loved it. Now if only I wasn't too lazy to make some croutons he could have a decent caesar salad ;) Thanks a lot Cookgirl!! Made for Veg*n Swap 26!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindelicious September 07, 2010

I agree, it is a great dressing! Although 3 cloves of garlic was a bit too much for us, but its just our personal taste! ;o) Thanks for the recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kata #2 August 18, 2008

After letting it sit a while, I have to give it one more star. This ones a keeper for me. Also, I didn't have white pepper and fresh ground black pepper worked fine

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aquamaryne September 15, 2013
Vegan Caesar Salad Dressing