Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Brownies

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on February 22, 2002

      I made these this evening, and they're fantastic!! Gooey, sweet, and so chocolatey! I had all the ingredients at home, and the fact the recipe was egg-free made it all the better! I used only 1/4 cup of oil (no reason, just a genuine error on my part), and the end mixture was reallllly sticky and kinda hard to spread on the pan, but in the end, it turned out great! Thanks pollen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      I tried this and the Brownies were very dry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2007

      I used Earth balance Vegan "butter" instead of oil, but otherwise followed the recipe....in the end, they looked good, but they tasted like flour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2004

      I love to bake and although I'm not vegan, or even vegetarian(sorry!)I love this recipe! It's fast and easy to make. I made it for a potluck dinner and everyone raved about them! I forgot the baking powder the first time, but they still turned out fabulous, and I think I even prefer them without. And to make them more 'ready-to-serve' I make them in cupcake form, which makes them a whole lot handier to eat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2003

      Now, these are definitely not the best brownies I've ever had... however, I'm giving them the full 5 stars because they are the best vegan brownies I've ever had. They were pretty easy to make, except that I messed up and didn't read the first step well enough and went ahead and mixed all the flour and water. Had to throw that out....yuck. I think I overcooked mine a bit (my oven is wacky) but they're still great- especially with ice cream (or I guess soy ice cream for you vegans). I added a combination of toasted hazelnuts and walnuts because that's what I had in the leftovers department. I am rather embarassed to say that I have been eating these with icecream for the past couple days... eek.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2012

      we doubled the recipe, it tasted great, and we all love it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      Best ever!!!! Just perfect every time I made them! Thanks! :^)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2011

      These were good, not the best and not the worst brownies. They were not as flavorful (chocolatey) as I'd like and they certainly weren't fudge-like and dense either. They were on the gooey side, which I don't particularly like. I ended up throwing them in the freezer in order to eat them otherwise the gooey-ness was just too messy. I'd suggest adding more cocoa powder because it needed it. The picture I took is of the brownies straight out of the freezer so they look very dense but at room temperature they get goopy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      Excellent tasting brownies. The key to smoother brownies is when boiling the water and flour mixture... sift the flour first and then gradually add in the water. Its much smother that way =) And I added in about a half of cup of water in addition to the oil to make the batter a bit more smooth. It actually tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      Good recipe overall, I think the better the chocolate you use the better the results. I have made two batches, the second I used my kitchen-aid and got a more consistent texture than the hand mixed batch. Also, I put a little extra baking powder (1/2 t.) the second time around and liked the results, slightly fuller brownies. I used soy milk instead of the water and also added 2 teaspoons of instant coffee and added a bit more cocoa, I think it really made the flavor pop. I think this is a very solid recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      This is the all-time best brownie recipe. Anyone with poor flavor results should try again with a better quality oil and/or cocoa. If brownies come out dry and crumbly or very uneven, try a cast iron skillet in place of cheap aluminum pan and also err on the side of under cooking -no eggs to worry about salmonella! I cool half an hour before cutting and they lift out easily while chips are still melty.

      These are good days later when other recipe brownies are cardboard

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      I saw the one review where they substituted apple sauce for the oil. I tried pumkin puree and later added 2 tbs oil when I discovered the batter didn't taste like brownies. This did not turn out as I expected, but it's probably my own fault for using pumpkin. The chocolate flavor does not completely overtake the taste of the wheat flour and the texture is not typical of brownies, it's more spongy. So don't use pumpkin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      These were awful! I must have done SOMETHING wrong, because these were tasteless cocoa lumps. Oh, well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      Incredible! I made them for my vegan son's birthday and took them to his army base. He loved them! I substituted vegetable shortening for the oil, put them in a muffin tin, and cooked them for only 22 minutes...and they were great! Thanks so much for sharing them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      i can't even tell you how wonderful these brownies were. no one could tell they were vegan. i make these in a 9x13 pan because i don't have the given size. it seems to work just as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      YUMMY SCRUMMY!!!! Tried it, loved it, will do it again and again!!! This was so easy to make & delicious, so delicious that all the brownies were gone the same day!!! Thank you very much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      I needed a no egg recipe for my two year old, this was the best recipe I have tried so far. I did substitute butter flavored Crisco for the oil. these brownies turned out GREAT. I did find that they were better the next day for what ever reason.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      Amazing - better than real brownies. My friend was put on a vegan diet and she has not been able to eat dessert in forever (college dining halls don´t accommodate vegans). She was in heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2006

      Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2005

      you can tell that you replaced butter with oil but no vegan recipe is perfect..and it was nice because my parents think vegan stuff tastes like crap but they actually throughly enjoyed them...thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (77 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 303.6
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    29%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 216.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.7 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 34.6 g
    138%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites